← Back to home

City of Costa MesaLocal Government

EIN: 956005030

UEI: VLGSYJVFJ4M7

Audited by: Clifton Larson Allen LLP

Oversight agency: 21 [Department of the Treasury]

View federal awards & risk assessment →

Data as of September 7, 2026

City of Costa Mesa10 audit years3 findings1 repeat
10
Audit Years
3
Total Findings
1
Repeat Findings
$6.1M
Federal Awards Expended (FY 2025)

FY 2025-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$6,132,972 federal awards expended
2025-002
Cost Allowability
SIGNIFICANT DEFICIENCYREPEAT OF 2024-003

The City’s payroll system allocated vacation hours across various programs and needed further reconciliation to identify eligible costs per employee timesheets. Questioned Costs: None. Context: All vacation hours not directly identified in the employees timesheet are charged based on payroll systems preset allocations. Cause: When the employees are on vacation and time is not directly identified in the employees timesheet, the payroll system defaults to a preset allocation. Effect: Payroll costs charged to the program were greater than amounts supported by the documentation.

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

Federal Agency: U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development Federal Program Name: HOME Investment Partnership Program Assistance Listing Number: 14.239 Award Period: July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025 Type of Finding: Significant Deficiency in Internal Control over Compliance Criteria or Specific Requirement: 2 CFR 200.430(g), Standards for Documentation of Personnel Expenses, states: (1) Charges to Federal awards for salaries and wages must be based on records that accurately reflect the work performed. These records must: (vi) Support the distribution of the employee's salary or wages among specific activities or cost objectives if the employee works on more than one Federal award. Condition: The City’s payroll system allocated vacation hours across various programs and needed further reconciliation to identify eligible costs per employee timesheets. Questioned Costs: None. Context: All vacation hours not directly identified in the employees timesheet are charged based on payroll systems preset allocations. Cause: When the employees are on vacation and time is not directly identified in the employees timesheet, the payroll system defaults to a preset allocation. Effect: Payroll costs charged to the program were greater than amounts supported by the documentation.

Corrective Action Plan

The City is currently implementing measures to ensure the actual hours worked is correctly coded.

Prior Finding References

2024-003

About Allowable Costs / Cost Principles →

FY 2024-06-30

MATERIAL NONCOMPLIANCE DISCLOSEDLOW-RISK AUDITEE$5,759,943 federal awards expended

FAC accepted this audit on March 31, 2025 — management decision was due October 1, 2025.

2024-003
Cost Allowability
SIGNIFICANT DEFICIENCYQUESTIONED COSTS

The City’s payroll system allocated uncoded time across various programs and needed further reconciliation to identify eligible costs per employee timesheets.

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

The City’s payroll system allocated uncoded time across various programs and needed further reconciliation to identify eligible costs per employee timesheets.

Corrective Action Plan

City staff will reconcile the employee’s time records to ensure accurate reporting.

About Allowable Costs / Cost Principles →

FY 2023-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$7,676,846 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on April 1, 2024 — management decision was due October 1, 2024.

FY 2022-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$2,838,954 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on March 29, 2023 — management decision was due September 29, 2023.

FY 2021-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$21,544,675 federal awards expended

FAC accepted this audit on May 4, 2022 — management decision was due November 4, 2022.

2021-002
Reporting
OTHER MATTERS

Federal Agency: U.S. Department of Treasury CFDA No.: 21.027 Federal Program: Coronavirus State and Local Fiscal Recovery Funds Federal Award Year: 2021 Control Category: Reporting Questioned Costs: $0 Condition The City submitted their Interim Report of Coronavirus State and Local Fiscal Recovery Funds (?CSLFRF?) for the period March 3, 2021 through July 31, 2021. The City reported expenditures of $4,200,298. However, based on changes in the Treasury guidelines, the City subsequently modified the use of the funding adding additional costs of $8,913,547 in costs for the period March 3, 2021 through June 30, 2021. These additional costs were not reported on the Interim Report. Criteria 2 CFR 200.302, Financial Management, states, in part: ??(b) The financial management system of each non-Federal entity must provide for the following: (1) Identification, in its accounts, of all Federal awards received and expended and the Federal programs under which they were received. Federal program and Federal award identification must include, as applicable, the Assistance Listings title and number, Federal award identification number and year, name of the Federal agency, and name of the pass-through entity, if any (2) Accurate, current, and complete disclosure of the financial results of each Federal award or program in accordance with the reporting requirements set forth in ?? 200.328 and 200.329. If a Federal awarding agency requires reporting on an accrual basis from a recipient that maintains its records on other than an accrual basis, the recipient must not be required to establish an accrual accounting system. This recipient may develop accrual data for its reports on the basis of an analysis of the documentation on hand. Similarly, a pass-through entity must not require a subrecipient to establish an accrual accounting system and must allow the subrecipient to develop accrual data for its reports on the basis of an analysis of the documentation on hand. (3) Records that identify adequately the source and application of funds for federally-funded activities. These records must contain information pertaining to Federal awards, authorizations, financial obligations, unobligated balances, assets, expenditures, income and interest and be supported by source documentation?? Cause The City correctly applied eligible costs through July 31, 2021 and reported the amount in the Interim Report. Because the Treasury Department updated the CSLFRF compliance and reporting guidelines after the Interim Report due date, the City revised its application of the CSLFRF, and included additional eligible costs, resulting in under reporting eligible costs on the Interim Report. Effect The Interim Report, as it is currently stated, doesn?t represent the actual costs that the City used the funding on. Questioned Costs There were no questioned costs. Recommendation We recommend that the City reflect revised cost information on subsequent Project and Expenditure Reports.

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

Federal Agency: U.S. Department of Treasury CFDA No.: 21.027 Federal Program: Coronavirus State and Local Fiscal Recovery Funds Federal Award Year: 2021 Control Category: Reporting Questioned Costs: $0 Condition The City submitted their Interim Report of Coronavirus State and Local Fiscal Recovery Funds (?CSLFRF?) for the period March 3, 2021 through July 31, 2021. The City reported expenditures of $4,200,298. However, based on changes in the Treasury guidelines, the City subsequently modified the use of the funding adding additional costs of $8,913,547 in costs for the period March 3, 2021 through June 30, 2021. These additional costs were not reported on the Interim Report. Criteria 2 CFR 200.302, Financial Management, states, in part: ??(b) The financial management system of each non-Federal entity must provide for the following: (1) Identification, in its accounts, of all Federal awards received and expended and the Federal programs under which they were received. Federal program and Federal award identification must include, as applicable, the Assistance Listings title and number, Federal award identification number and year, name of the Federal agency, and name of the pass-through entity, if any (2) Accurate, current, and complete disclosure of the financial results of each Federal award or program in accordance with the reporting requirements set forth in ?? 200.328 and 200.329. If a Federal awarding agency requires reporting on an accrual basis from a recipient that maintains its records on other than an accrual basis, the recipient must not be required to establish an accrual accounting system. This recipient may develop accrual data for its reports on the basis of an analysis of the documentation on hand. Similarly, a pass-through entity must not require a subrecipient to establish an accrual accounting system and must allow the subrecipient to develop accrual data for its reports on the basis of an analysis of the documentation on hand. (3) Records that identify adequately the source and application of funds for federally-funded activities. These records must contain information pertaining to Federal awards, authorizations, financial obligations, unobligated balances, assets, expenditures, income and interest and be supported by source documentation?? Cause The City correctly applied eligible costs through July 31, 2021 and reported the amount in the Interim Report. Because the Treasury Department updated the CSLFRF compliance and reporting guidelines after the Interim Report due date, the City revised its application of the CSLFRF, and included additional eligible costs, resulting in under reporting eligible costs on the Interim Report. Effect The Interim Report, as it is currently stated, doesn?t represent the actual costs that the City used the funding on. Questioned Costs There were no questioned costs. Recommendation We recommend that the City reflect revised cost information on subsequent Project and Expenditure Reports.

Corrective Action Plan

The ARPA Report due January 31, 2022 reflects revised cost information, which includes expenditures reported in the 2021 Annual Comprehensive Financial Report for the fiscal year ended June 30, 2021.

About Reporting →

FY 2020-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$2,192,169 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on March 17, 2021 — management decision was due September 17, 2021.

FY 2019-06-30

$2,313,658 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on January 7, 2020 — management decision was due July 7, 2020.

FY 2018-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$3,119,388 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on January 16, 2019 — management decision was due July 16, 2019.

FY 2017-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$3,430,664 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on February 12, 2018 — management decision was due August 12, 2018.

FY 2016-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$3,105,981 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on January 4, 2017 — management decision was due July 4, 2017.

Browse other Single Audit organizations in California

Start tracking findings →

Do you fund this organization?

Add it to a monitored group and get alerted when a new audit, finding, repeat finding, or management-decision deadline shows up — instead of checking back.

Checking several at once? Portfolio view →

Product

Resources

Legal

Single Audit Intelligence is an independent tool powered by Federal Audit Clearinghouse data. Not affiliated with GSA, OMB, or any federal agency.

© 2026 Single Audit Intelligence. All data is public domain.