← Back to home

Woodbury UniversityHigher Education

EIN: 952786163

UEI: KE1KF8PUSB29

Single Audit filed under EIN: 951643389

That audit also covers 2 related EINs: 330423448, 943185612 · unlinked EINs have no separate FAC filing

Audited by: Moss Adams LLP

Oversight agency: 84 [Department of Education]

View federal awards & risk assessment →

Data as of September 2, 2026

Woodbury University9 audit years5 findings1 repeat
9
Audit Years
5
Total Findings
1
Repeat Findings
$13.7M
Federal Awards Expended (FY 2024)

FY 2024-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$13,694,503 federal awards expended

Management decision deadline — for entities that funded this organization

The FAC accepted this audit on December 9, 2024. Under 2 CFR 200.521(d), a pass-through entity that provided federal funds to this organization for this audit period must issue a management decision on these findings by June 9, 2025 (455 days ago).

What is a management decision? →
2024-002
Special Tests & Provisions
MATERIAL WEAKNESSREPEAT OF 2023-002

Finding 2024-002 – Special Tests and Provisions – Enrollment Reporting – Material Weakness in Internal Control Over Compliance (See SFQC - Section III - Federal Award Findings and Questioned Costs - Finding 2024-002 for table included) Criteria: The National Student Loan Data System (NSLDS) is the Department of Education’s (ED) centralized database for students’ enrollment information. It is Woodbury University’s responsibility to update this information timely and accurately when the enrollment status of a student that has received federal aid changes. Woodbury University is ultimately responsible for the timeliness and accuracy of this information even when a third-party servicer is used as an intermediary to report on the University’s behalf. Woodbury University currently contracts with a third-party servicer and has elected to receive an Enrollment Reporting roster file every 30 days from NSLDS. At a minimum, institutions must certify the enrollment status of all students included on the roster file within 15 days of receiving the roster file. If errors are identified, the University has 10 days to resubmit a corrected response. Unless the school expects to complete its next roster file within 60 days, the school must notify the secretary within 30 days, if it discovers that a student who received a loan under Title IV of the Act either did not enroll or ceased to be enrolled on at least a half-time basis (34 CFR section 685.309). Condition/context: From a system generated population of 119 students who received federal aid and either graduated, withdrew, or changed their permanent address during the year ended June 30, 2024, we selected a sample of 17 students who received direct loans. We find this sample representative to the population. The enrollment information and withdrawal or graduation date per the Woodbury University’s records were compared to the information reported to NSLDS in order to determine if status changes were reported accurately and within the required timeframes. Of the 17 students selected for testing, 17 were not reported to the NSLDS within the required timeframe and had an incorrect status reported to the NSLDS. Questioned Costs: No questioned costs were identified as part of this finding. Effect: The NSLDS database did not include all accurate information in the timeframe required by ED. This information is utilized by ED, the Direct Loan program, lenders, and other institutions to determine inschool status, deferment, and grace periods of student loans. Incorrect information could result in incorrect deferment, grace periods, billing, and repayment of student loans. Cause: The lack of timely reporting was caused by turnover in the Registrar’s office. Repeat finding: Yes, see 2023-002. Recommendation: Woodbury University should develop additional procedures and controls to monitor the accuracy of information provided to its third-party servicer and to NSLDS. One additional monitoring control could be to review a sample of students within NSLDS after each roster file response to ensure that the enrollment status is accurate. Each institution has access to manually correct information directly within NSLDS at any time. Views of responsible officials and planned corrective actions: Management agrees with the finding and recommendation and plans to implement additional controls.

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

Finding 2024-002 – Special Tests and Provisions – Enrollment Reporting – Material Weakness in Internal Control Over Compliance (See SFQC - Section III - Federal Award Findings and Questioned Costs - Finding 2024-002 for table included) Criteria: The National Student Loan Data System (NSLDS) is the Department of Education’s (ED) centralized database for students’ enrollment information. It is Woodbury University’s responsibility to update this information timely and accurately when the enrollment status of a student that has received federal aid changes. Woodbury University is ultimately responsible for the timeliness and accuracy of this information even when a third-party servicer is used as an intermediary to report on the University’s behalf. Woodbury University currently contracts with a third-party servicer and has elected to receive an Enrollment Reporting roster file every 30 days from NSLDS. At a minimum, institutions must certify the enrollment status of all students included on the roster file within 15 days of receiving the roster file. If errors are identified, the University has 10 days to resubmit a corrected response. Unless the school expects to complete its next roster file within 60 days, the school must notify the secretary within 30 days, if it discovers that a student who received a loan under Title IV of the Act either did not enroll or ceased to be enrolled on at least a half-time basis (34 CFR section 685.309). Condition/context: From a system generated population of 119 students who received federal aid and either graduated, withdrew, or changed their permanent address during the year ended June 30, 2024, we selected a sample of 17 students who received direct loans. We find this sample representative to the population. The enrollment information and withdrawal or graduation date per the Woodbury University’s records were compared to the information reported to NSLDS in order to determine if status changes were reported accurately and within the required timeframes. Of the 17 students selected for testing, 17 were not reported to the NSLDS within the required timeframe and had an incorrect status reported to the NSLDS. Questioned Costs: No questioned costs were identified as part of this finding. Effect: The NSLDS database did not include all accurate information in the timeframe required by ED. This information is utilized by ED, the Direct Loan program, lenders, and other institutions to determine inschool status, deferment, and grace periods of student loans. Incorrect information could result in incorrect deferment, grace periods, billing, and repayment of student loans. Cause: The lack of timely reporting was caused by turnover in the Registrar’s office. Repeat finding: Yes, see 2023-002. Recommendation: Woodbury University should develop additional procedures and controls to monitor the accuracy of information provided to its third-party servicer and to NSLDS. One additional monitoring control could be to review a sample of students within NSLDS after each roster file response to ensure that the enrollment status is accurate. Each institution has access to manually correct information directly within NSLDS at any time. Views of responsible officials and planned corrective actions: Management agrees with the finding and recommendation and plans to implement additional controls.

Corrective Action Plan

Woodbury University Corrective Action Plan For the Year Ended June 30, 2024 Agency: U.S. Department of Education Name of Federal Program or Cluster: Student financial assistance cluster Award Year: 2023-2024 Finding 2024-002 – Special Tests and Provisions – Enrollment Reporting – Material Weakness in Internal Control Over Compliance Conditions: From a system generated population of 119 students who received federal aid and either graduated, withdrew, or changed their permanent address during the year ended June 30, 2024, auditors selected a sample of 17 students who received direct loans. The enrollment information and withdrawal or graduation date per the Woodbury University’s records were compared to the information reported to NSLDS in order to determine if status changes were reported accurately and within the required timeframes. Of the 17 students selected for testing, 17 were not reported to the NSLDS within the required timeframe and had an incorrect status reported to the NSLDS. Corrective Action Plan: If the student is planning to leave the University. Students must withdraw from all classes before the withdraw date. Also, the students must circulate their form to the listed departments for a signature. The issue is something this was completed by email with several forms for the same student. We will work with Redlands to create a Soft Doc/ electronic withdraw form which can be completed by the student on line. This form will be accessible to the offices listed on the form paper. Also, this will aid in the Registrar's Office and Financial Aid to have more accurate record of the students who have completed the withdraw process. Name of Contact Person: Verletta Jackson, Registrar, (818) 252-5277 Projected Completion Date: Spring 2025

Prior Finding References

2023-002

About Special Tests and Provisions →

FY 2023-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$14,964,497 federal awards expended

FAC accepted this audit on February 22, 2024 — management decision was due August 22, 2024.

2023-002
Special Tests & Provisions
SIGNIFICANT DEFICIENCY

Finding 2023-002 – Special Tests and Provisions – Enrollment Reporting – Significant Deficiency in Internal Control Over Compliance (See Section III - Federal Awards Findings - Finding 2023-002 for included table) Criteria: The National Student Loan Data System (NSLDS) is the Department of Education’s (ED) centralized database for students’ enrollment information. It is Woodbury University’s responsibility to update this information timely and accurately when the enrollment status of a student that has received federal aid changes. Woodbury University is ultimately responsible for the timeliness and accuracy of this information even when a third-party servicer is used as an intermediary to report on the University’s behalf. Woodbury University currently contracts with a third-party servicer and has elected to receive an Enrollment Reporting roster file every 30 days from NSLDS. At a minimum, institutions must certify the enrollment status of all students included on the roster file within 15 days of receiving the roster file. If errors are identified, the University has 10 days to resubmit a corrected response. Unless the school expects to complete its next roster within 60 days, the school must notify the lender or the guaranty agency within 30 days, if it discovers that a student who received federal aid either did not enroll or ceased to be enrolled on at least a half-time basis (34 CFR section 685.309). Condition/context: We selected a sample of students identified by Woodbury University as having received some federal assistance and who either withdrew, took a leave of absence (LOA), or graduated during the year ended June 30, 2023. Our sample consisted of 2 students out of a population of 3 that withdrew or took a LOA during the year and a sample of 13 students out of a population of approximately 122 that graduated during the year. We then compared the enrollment information and withdrawal, LOA, or graduation date per Woodbury University’s records to the information reported to NSLDS. We believe this to be a representative sample of the population. We noted exceptions with all Spring 2023 graduates, of which there were 11 in our sample, whose status change was not reported within the required time frame. Questioned Costs: No questioned costs were identified as part of this finding. Effect: Enrollment status is utilized by students, ED, the Direct Loan program, lenders, and other institutions to determine in-school status. NSLDS also uses the newly submitted enrollment data to recalculate a student’s 150% limit for direct subsidized loans to determine if loss or protection of the subsidy should occur. Therefore, this significant deficiency in enrollment reporting could result in incorrect future eligibility for undergraduate aid, as well as impact future subsidy loss or protection related to the 150% limit. Cause: The lack of timely reporting was caused by turnover in the Registrar’s office. Repeat finding: This is not a repeat finding. Recommendation: Woodbury University should develop additional procedures and controls to monitor the accuracy of information provided to its third-party servicer and to NSLDS. One additional monitoring control could be to review a sample of students within NSLDS after each roster file response to ensure that the enrollment status is accurate. Each institution has access to manually correct information directly within NSLDS at any time. Views of responsible officials and planned corrective actions: Management agrees with the finding and recommendation and plans to implement additional controls.

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

Finding 2023-002 – Special Tests and Provisions – Enrollment Reporting – Significant Deficiency in Internal Control Over Compliance (See Section III - Federal Awards Findings - Finding 2023-002 for included table) Criteria: The National Student Loan Data System (NSLDS) is the Department of Education’s (ED) centralized database for students’ enrollment information. It is Woodbury University’s responsibility to update this information timely and accurately when the enrollment status of a student that has received federal aid changes. Woodbury University is ultimately responsible for the timeliness and accuracy of this information even when a third-party servicer is used as an intermediary to report on the University’s behalf. Woodbury University currently contracts with a third-party servicer and has elected to receive an Enrollment Reporting roster file every 30 days from NSLDS. At a minimum, institutions must certify the enrollment status of all students included on the roster file within 15 days of receiving the roster file. If errors are identified, the University has 10 days to resubmit a corrected response. Unless the school expects to complete its next roster within 60 days, the school must notify the lender or the guaranty agency within 30 days, if it discovers that a student who received federal aid either did not enroll or ceased to be enrolled on at least a half-time basis (34 CFR section 685.309). Condition/context: We selected a sample of students identified by Woodbury University as having received some federal assistance and who either withdrew, took a leave of absence (LOA), or graduated during the year ended June 30, 2023. Our sample consisted of 2 students out of a population of 3 that withdrew or took a LOA during the year and a sample of 13 students out of a population of approximately 122 that graduated during the year. We then compared the enrollment information and withdrawal, LOA, or graduation date per Woodbury University’s records to the information reported to NSLDS. We believe this to be a representative sample of the population. We noted exceptions with all Spring 2023 graduates, of which there were 11 in our sample, whose status change was not reported within the required time frame. Questioned Costs: No questioned costs were identified as part of this finding. Effect: Enrollment status is utilized by students, ED, the Direct Loan program, lenders, and other institutions to determine in-school status. NSLDS also uses the newly submitted enrollment data to recalculate a student’s 150% limit for direct subsidized loans to determine if loss or protection of the subsidy should occur. Therefore, this significant deficiency in enrollment reporting could result in incorrect future eligibility for undergraduate aid, as well as impact future subsidy loss or protection related to the 150% limit. Cause: The lack of timely reporting was caused by turnover in the Registrar’s office. Repeat finding: This is not a repeat finding. Recommendation: Woodbury University should develop additional procedures and controls to monitor the accuracy of information provided to its third-party servicer and to NSLDS. One additional monitoring control could be to review a sample of students within NSLDS after each roster file response to ensure that the enrollment status is accurate. Each institution has access to manually correct information directly within NSLDS at any time. Views of responsible officials and planned corrective actions: Management agrees with the finding and recommendation and plans to implement additional controls.

Corrective Action Plan

Date: November 11, 2023 From: Verletta Jackson, Registrar To: Moss Adams Subject: Finding 2023-002 Special Tests and Provisions Enrollment Reporting: Significant Deficiency in Internal Control Over Compliance Item: Finding 2023-002 Special Tests and Provisions Enrollment Reporting: Significant Deficiency In Internal Control Over Compliance. Corrective Action: The University has updated the status of all students in our latest batch send. That includes and is not limited to all students selected In the Single Audit. Steps/Policies Implemented to avert problem: The process for reporting information to NSLDS through the Clearinghouse works efficiently. The problem in this case, is that the University has always had two individuals with access to the upload data into the Clearinghouse. When one of the individuals responsible for uploading's position was eliminated, authorization was not given to anyone else as a backup. So, when the then Registrar resigned, no one on-site was authorized to upload the already prepared "send". That issue has been resolved and there will always be, once again, two individuals with access to upload. Although the process to resolve this Issue was extremely timely, permission to access the Clearinghouse site was eventually provided. Contact Person: The Registrar, Verletta Jackson is the responsible person. Her contact information is, Verletta Jackson, email Verletta.Jackson@woodbury.edu, phone 818 252 5277. Anticipated Completion Date: Completed as of 10.15.2023

About Special Tests and Provisions →

FY 2022-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$20,141,808 federal awards expended

FAC accepted this audit on March 30, 2023 — management decision was due September 30, 2023.

2022-002
Eligibility
SIGNIFICANT DEFICIENCYQUESTIONED COSTS

Finding: 2022-002 - Eligibility - Significant Deficiency in the Internal Control Over Compliance: SEE SCHEDULE OF FINDINGS AND QUESTION COSTS FOR CHART/TABLE - Criteria: 2021-2022 Federal Student Aid Handbook, volume 3, chapter7: Depending on individual circumstance, students may receive only need-based aid, non-need-based aid, or a combination of need-based and non-need-based aid. The total amount of need-based aid cannot exceed the student's financial need and the total amount of all aid cannot exceed the student's cost of attendance. - Condition/context: A sample of 48 federal aid recipient students were selected from system generated reports of 790 students who were disbursed federal student aid during the 2021-2022 academic year. The student's records were inspected. - Effect: An exception was noted whereby one student was awarded aid in excess of their cost of attendance which resulted in an over award of $5,550 of federal direct subsidized loans. - Cause: The student was over awarded due to a weakness in the University's manual packaging process. The standard packaging process is done automatically. When the packaging is performed automatically there are triggers in the process that prevent over awarding. In the case of this student, it was done manually, and those checks and balances were never activated, because of this there was not flag to stop the awarding. - Repeat finding: This is not a repeat finding. - Recommendation: We recommend the University amend procedures so in teh event that packaging is done manually, there are added reviews over the student's aid awarded. - View of responsible officials and planned corrective actions: We accept Moss Adams' recommendation and if a situation arises where we must manually package a student, the procedure will include an additional review by another individual, either the Director or a Counselor, to review the package for accuracy.

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

Finding: 2022-002 - Eligibility - Significant Deficiency in the Internal Control Over Compliance: SEE SCHEDULE OF FINDINGS AND QUESTION COSTS FOR CHART/TABLE - Criteria: 2021-2022 Federal Student Aid Handbook, volume 3, chapter7: Depending on individual circumstance, students may receive only need-based aid, non-need-based aid, or a combination of need-based and non-need-based aid. The total amount of need-based aid cannot exceed the student's financial need and the total amount of all aid cannot exceed the student's cost of attendance. - Condition/context: A sample of 48 federal aid recipient students were selected from system generated reports of 790 students who were disbursed federal student aid during the 2021-2022 academic year. The student's records were inspected. - Effect: An exception was noted whereby one student was awarded aid in excess of their cost of attendance which resulted in an over award of $5,550 of federal direct subsidized loans. - Cause: The student was over awarded due to a weakness in the University's manual packaging process. The standard packaging process is done automatically. When the packaging is performed automatically there are triggers in the process that prevent over awarding. In the case of this student, it was done manually, and those checks and balances were never activated, because of this there was not flag to stop the awarding. - Repeat finding: This is not a repeat finding. - Recommendation: We recommend the University amend procedures so in teh event that packaging is done manually, there are added reviews over the student's aid awarded. - View of responsible officials and planned corrective actions: We accept Moss Adams' recommendation and if a situation arises where we must manually package a student, the procedure will include an additional review by another individual, either the Director or a Counselor, to review the package for accuracy.

Corrective Action Plan

Finding 2022-002 - Eligibility - Significant Deficiency in Internal Control Over Compliance - Recommendation: We recommend the University amend procedures so in the event that packaging is done manually, there are added reviews over the student's aid awarded. - Corrective Action Plan: We accept Moss Adams' recommendation and if a situation arises where we must manually package a student, the procedure will include an additional review by another individual, either the Director or a Counselor, to review the package for accuracy. An internal review of FY22 indicated this was an isolated incident. - Anticipated Completion Date: Management will complete the Corrective Action Plan by June 30, 2023. - Individual Responsible: Oscar Jones, Director of Financial Aid.

About Eligibility →

FY 2021-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$18,645,119 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on August 22, 2022 — management decision was due February 22, 2023.

FY 2020-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$18,474,536 federal awards expended

FAC accepted this audit on October 3, 2021 — management decision was due April 3, 2022.

2020-002
Reporting
SIGNIFICANT DEFICIENCY

Finding: 2020-002 ? Reporting ? Significant Deficiency in Internal Control Over Compliance (See Section III - Federal Award Findings and Questioned Costs for table) Criteria: 18004(a)(1) of the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security Act (CARES Act), Public Law 116?136, 134 Stat. 281 (March 27, 2020), to publicly post certain grant information on the University?s primary website no later than 30 days after receiving its award as part of the reporting requirements under Section 18004(e) of the CARES Act. Condition/context: The University received its initial allocation of the HEERF award on April 28, 2020 and made an initial post of the required grant information on its primary website on June 23, 2020 which was 46 days after the funding was received. Cause: At the onset of the award, management prioritized its focus on processing disbursements to students in need. Coordination of an individual responsible for gathering information required by the CARES Act and personnel that have access to post public information to the University?s website took longer than 30 days. Effect or potential effect: The initial public post was not made within required timeframe under the conditions of the grant. Identification of repeat finding: This not a repeat finding. Recommendation: We recommend that the University continue to review guidance provided by grant agreements and establish timetables and responsible parties to complete respective compliance requirements.

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

Finding: 2020-002 ? Reporting ? Significant Deficiency in Internal Control Over Compliance (See Section III - Federal Award Findings and Questioned Costs for table) Criteria: 18004(a)(1) of the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security Act (CARES Act), Public Law 116?136, 134 Stat. 281 (March 27, 2020), to publicly post certain grant information on the University?s primary website no later than 30 days after receiving its award as part of the reporting requirements under Section 18004(e) of the CARES Act. Condition/context: The University received its initial allocation of the HEERF award on April 28, 2020 and made an initial post of the required grant information on its primary website on June 23, 2020 which was 46 days after the funding was received. Cause: At the onset of the award, management prioritized its focus on processing disbursements to students in need. Coordination of an individual responsible for gathering information required by the CARES Act and personnel that have access to post public information to the University?s website took longer than 30 days. Effect or potential effect: The initial public post was not made within required timeframe under the conditions of the grant. Identification of repeat finding: This not a repeat finding. Recommendation: We recommend that the University continue to review guidance provided by grant agreements and establish timetables and responsible parties to complete respective compliance requirements.

Corrective Action Plan

Finding 2020-002 ? Reporting ? Significant Deficiency in Internal Control Over Compliance Recommendation: We recommend that the University continue to review guidance provided by grant agreements and establish timetables and responsible parties to complete respective compliance requirements. Corrective Action Plan: Compliance with federal grant requirements is important to Woodbury University. The University?s HEERF grant oversight has been strengthened with the establishment of a grant oversight committee comprised of the following individuals that meet regularly to ensure compliance with the relevant guidance provided by grant agreements: 1. University President 2. Vice President, Administrative Services & Human Resource 3. Vice President, Finance & Accounting 4. Assistant Controller 5. Director of Financial Aid 6. HEERF State/Project Director This oversight committee meets regularly to review reporting timetables and ensure completion of compliance requirements, among other tasks. Anticipated Completion Date: Completed. Individual Responsible: Dr. David Steele, University President Sincerely, David Leung Vice President, Finance & Accounting Cc: Dr. David Steele, Woodbury University President

About Reporting →

FY 2019-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$16,410,841 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on November 19, 2019 — management decision was due May 19, 2020.

FY 2018-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$16,527,502 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on October 25, 2018 — management decision was due April 25, 2019.

FY 2017-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$16,639,584 federal awards expended

FAC accepted this audit on November 14, 2017 — management decision was due May 14, 2018.

2017-001
Special Tests & Provisions
SIGNIFICANT DEFICIENCY

GSA_MIGRATION

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

GSA_MIGRATION

Corrective Action Plan

GSA_MIGRATION

About Special Tests and Provisions →

FY 2016-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$18,073,255 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on November 6, 2016 — management decision was due May 6, 2017.

Data source: This information comes from the Federal Audit Clearinghouse, the official repository of Single Audit data. All data is public domain. Verify this organization's audit history at fac.gov.

Browse other Single Audit organizations in California

Are you this organization?

Track your findings and corrective action plans across audit cycles.

Start tracking findings →

Do you fund this organization?

Add it to a monitored group and get alerted when a new audit, finding, repeat finding, or management-decision deadline shows up — instead of checking back.

Checking several at once? Portfolio view →

Product

Resources

Legal

Single Audit Intelligence is an independent tool powered by Federal Audit Clearinghouse data. Not affiliated with GSA, OMB, or any federal agency.

© 2026 Single Audit Intelligence. All data is public domain.