← Back to home

Hinds Community College DistrictHigher Education

EIN: 646000453

UEI: MR6DMEM9SLH1

Audited by: Forvis Mazars LLP

Cognizant agency: 84 [Department of Education]

View federal awards & risk assessment →

Data as of August 31, 2026

Hinds Community College District10 audit years11 findings3 repeat
10
Audit Years
11
Total Findings
3
Repeat Findings
$68.4M
Federal Awards Expended (FY 2025)

FY 2025-06-30

$68,391,028 federal awards expended

Management decision deadline — for entities that funded this organization

The FAC accepted this audit on June 4, 2026. Under 2 CFR 200.521(d), a pass-through entity that provided federal funds to this organization for this audit period must issue a management decision on these findings by December 4, 2026 (93 days from today).

What is a management decision? →
2025-002
Special Tests & Provisions
SIGNIFICANT DEFICIENCYOTHER MATTERS

Student Financial Assistance Cluster Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grants, ALN 84.007; Federal Work-Student Program, ALN 84.033; Federal Pell Grant Program, ALN 84.063; FederalDirect Student Loans, ALN 84.268 U. S. Department of Education, Program Year 2024-2025 Type of Finding – Significant Deficiency in Internal Control Over Compliance Criteria or Specific Requirement – Special Tests and Provisions – Verification [34 CFR 688.51 through 668.61]. Condition – The District did not properly update student verification status in common origination and disbursement (COD). Cause – The District’s internal controls related to verification did not ensure verification status was properly updated in COD. Effect or Potential Effect – Student financial aid could be disbursed to a student who was not eligible. Questioned Costs – None. Context – Out of a population of 47 students who were selected for verification during the 2024-2025 award year, a sample of 5 students was selected for testing. Our sample was not, and was not intended to be, statistically valid. Of the 5 students tested, 1 student’s verification status was not correctly recorded in COD. Identification as a Repeat Finding, if Applicable – N/A Recommendation – The District should update internal controls to ensure verification status is updated correctly in COD. Views of Responsible Officials and Planned Corrective Actions – There is no disagreement with the audit finding. See corrective action plan.

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

Student Financial Assistance Cluster Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grants, ALN 84.007; Federal Work-Student Program, ALN 84.033; Federal Pell Grant Program, ALN 84.063; FederalDirect Student Loans, ALN 84.268 U. S. Department of Education, Program Year 2024-2025 Type of Finding – Significant Deficiency in Internal Control Over Compliance Criteria or Specific Requirement – Special Tests and Provisions – Verification [34 CFR 688.51 through 668.61]. Condition – The District did not properly update student verification status in common origination and disbursement (COD). Cause – The District’s internal controls related to verification did not ensure verification status was properly updated in COD. Effect or Potential Effect – Student financial aid could be disbursed to a student who was not eligible. Questioned Costs – None. Context – Out of a population of 47 students who were selected for verification during the 2024-2025 award year, a sample of 5 students was selected for testing. Our sample was not, and was not intended to be, statistically valid. Of the 5 students tested, 1 student’s verification status was not correctly recorded in COD. Identification as a Repeat Finding, if Applicable – N/A Recommendation – The District should update internal controls to ensure verification status is updated correctly in COD. Views of Responsible Officials and Planned Corrective Actions – There is no disagreement with the audit finding. See corrective action plan.

Corrective Action Plan

a. Administrator: V.P. Finance/ CFO ................... Victor Parker 601-857-3961 b. Administrator: V.P. Student Services ....... Jennifer Scott-Gilmore 601-857-3250 Student Financial Assistance Cluster: The District did not properly update the student verification process in COD and the District's internal controls related to verification did not ensure verification status was properly updated in COD. Corrective Action Planned: The Management has reviewed the District process of verifying student status in COD by evaluating student status information in both the District Student Information System (SIS) and COD concurrently. Reporting allows these functions to be compared, flagged, and corrected for any variation of student status information. The correction was implemented August 2025 and will be validated June 2026.

About Special Tests and Provisions →
2025-003
Special Tests & Provisions
MATERIAL WEAKNESSREPEAT OF 2024-002OTHER MATTERS

Student Financial Assistance Cluster Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grants, ALN 84.007; Federal Work- Student Program, ALN 84.033; Federal Pell Grant Program, ALN 84.063; Federal Direct Student Loans, ALN 84.268 U. S. Department of Education, Program Year 2024-2025 Type of Finding – Material Weakness in Internal Control Over Compliance Criteria or Specific Requirement – Special Tests and Provisions – Enrollment Reporting (34 CFR 690.93(b)(2); 34 CFR 682.610; 34 CFR 685.309. Institutions are required to report enrollment information. Condition – The District did not report timely and accurate student status information to the National Student Loan Data System (NSLDS). Cause – The District’s internal controls related to NSLDS reporting did not ensure status changes were reported timely and accurately. Effect or Potential Effect – Incorrect enrollment information was reported to NSLDS, and some of the information was not reported timely, leading to being not in compliance with requirements noted above. Questioned Costs – None. Context – Out of a population of 5,036 students who received Pell Grants or Federal Direct Loans during the 2024-2025 award year and also had an increase or decrease in enrollment, graduated, or withdrew, a sample of 40 students was selected for testing. Our sample was not, and was not intended to be, statistically valid. Of the 40 students tested, 16 students’ enrollment information was incorrectly reported to NSLDS or not reported timely. Identification as a Repeat Finding, if Applicable – Yes Recommendation – The District should update internal controls related to NSLDS reporting to ensure changes in students’ enrollment status are reported in a timely and accurate manner on a recurring basis. Views of Responsible Officials and Planned Corrective Actions – There is no disagreement with the audit finding. See corrective action plan.

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

Student Financial Assistance Cluster Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grants, ALN 84.007; Federal Work- Student Program, ALN 84.033; Federal Pell Grant Program, ALN 84.063; Federal Direct Student Loans, ALN 84.268 U. S. Department of Education, Program Year 2024-2025 Type of Finding – Material Weakness in Internal Control Over Compliance Criteria or Specific Requirement – Special Tests and Provisions – Enrollment Reporting (34 CFR 690.93(b)(2); 34 CFR 682.610; 34 CFR 685.309. Institutions are required to report enrollment information. Condition – The District did not report timely and accurate student status information to the National Student Loan Data System (NSLDS). Cause – The District’s internal controls related to NSLDS reporting did not ensure status changes were reported timely and accurately. Effect or Potential Effect – Incorrect enrollment information was reported to NSLDS, and some of the information was not reported timely, leading to being not in compliance with requirements noted above. Questioned Costs – None. Context – Out of a population of 5,036 students who received Pell Grants or Federal Direct Loans during the 2024-2025 award year and also had an increase or decrease in enrollment, graduated, or withdrew, a sample of 40 students was selected for testing. Our sample was not, and was not intended to be, statistically valid. Of the 40 students tested, 16 students’ enrollment information was incorrectly reported to NSLDS or not reported timely. Identification as a Repeat Finding, if Applicable – Yes Recommendation – The District should update internal controls related to NSLDS reporting to ensure changes in students’ enrollment status are reported in a timely and accurate manner on a recurring basis. Views of Responsible Officials and Planned Corrective Actions – There is no disagreement with the audit finding. See corrective action plan.

Corrective Action Plan

a. Administrator: V.P. Finance/ CFO ................... Victor Parker 601-857-3961 b. Administrator: V.P. Student Services ....... Jennifer Scott-Gilmore 601-857-3250 Student Financial Assistance Cluster: The District did not report timely and accurate student status information to the National Student Loan Data System (NSLDS). The District did not ensure internal controls were in place to ensure timely and accurate reporting. Corrective Action Planned: The Management has implemented additional organizational and internal controls to ensure students' enrollment statuses are reported timely and accurately. In reviewing the causation of the finding, it was determined that it was a personnel error and as of June 2024, there is a new Registrar for Hinds Community College charged with compliance of this requirement. During the AY2024-25, the Registrar worked within the new student information system (SIS) to generate the required student data on a monthly cycle to be submitted to the National Clearinghouse which is then transmitted to NSLDS. This update in internal controls should satisfy future reviews. The correction date was July 2024. With the corrected action taking place July 2024, this will be a continuation into this FY2025 audit.

Prior Finding References

2024-002

About Special Tests and Provisions →
2025-004
Special Tests & Provisions
MATERIAL WEAKNESSREPEAT OF 2024-003QUESTIONED COSTSOTHER MATTERS

Student Financial Assistance Cluster Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grants, ALN 84.007; Federal Work- Student Program, ALN 84.033; Federal Pell Grant Program, ALN 84.063; Federal Direct Student Loans, ALN 84.268 U. S. Department of Education, Program Year 2024-2025 Type of Finding – Material Weakness in Internal Control Over Compliance Criteria or Specific Requirement – Special Tests and Provisions – Return of Title IV Funds [34 CFR 668.22(a)(1) through (a)(5)]. Condition – The District did not properly calculate the total amount disbursed or to be isbursed due to an incorrect term date, which led to incorrect calculations of funds to be returned. Additionally, the District did not return funds in the required 45 day window. Cause – The District’s internal controls did not ensure accurate information was inputted into the calculation of returns and did not ensure return was made within the required timeframe. Additionally, no detective controls for supervisory review and approval of the calculations were performed to detect errors. Effect or Potential Effect – Incorrect amounts were returned to the Department of Education or disbursed to students. Also, returns were not made within the 45 day required timeline. Questioned Costs – $2,880 – ALN 84.063 Context – Out of a population of 385 students who withdrew during the 2024-2025 award year, a sample of 40 students was selected for testing. Our sample was not, and was not intended to be, statistically valid. Of the 40 students tested, 4 students’ calculations were incorrect due to the use of incorrect term dates by the institution and 7 students were returned after the 45 day requirement. Additionally, $2,880 calculated to be returned to the Department of Education was not returned. Identification as a Repeat Finding, if Applicable – Yes Recommendation – The District should ensure its process and internal controls are updated to ensure total days in the semester are calculated correctly and disbursements are made timely. Additionally, the related calculations should be subject to review and approval as a best practice. Views of Responsible Officials and Planned Corrective Actions – There is no disagreement with the audit finding. See corrective action plan.

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

Student Financial Assistance Cluster Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grants, ALN 84.007; Federal Work- Student Program, ALN 84.033; Federal Pell Grant Program, ALN 84.063; Federal Direct Student Loans, ALN 84.268 U. S. Department of Education, Program Year 2024-2025 Type of Finding – Material Weakness in Internal Control Over Compliance Criteria or Specific Requirement – Special Tests and Provisions – Return of Title IV Funds [34 CFR 668.22(a)(1) through (a)(5)]. Condition – The District did not properly calculate the total amount disbursed or to be isbursed due to an incorrect term date, which led to incorrect calculations of funds to be returned. Additionally, the District did not return funds in the required 45 day window. Cause – The District’s internal controls did not ensure accurate information was inputted into the calculation of returns and did not ensure return was made within the required timeframe. Additionally, no detective controls for supervisory review and approval of the calculations were performed to detect errors. Effect or Potential Effect – Incorrect amounts were returned to the Department of Education or disbursed to students. Also, returns were not made within the 45 day required timeline. Questioned Costs – $2,880 – ALN 84.063 Context – Out of a population of 385 students who withdrew during the 2024-2025 award year, a sample of 40 students was selected for testing. Our sample was not, and was not intended to be, statistically valid. Of the 40 students tested, 4 students’ calculations were incorrect due to the use of incorrect term dates by the institution and 7 students were returned after the 45 day requirement. Additionally, $2,880 calculated to be returned to the Department of Education was not returned. Identification as a Repeat Finding, if Applicable – Yes Recommendation – The District should ensure its process and internal controls are updated to ensure total days in the semester are calculated correctly and disbursements are made timely. Additionally, the related calculations should be subject to review and approval as a best practice. Views of Responsible Officials and Planned Corrective Actions – There is no disagreement with the audit finding. See corrective action plan.

Corrective Action Plan

a. Administrator: V.P. Finance/ CFO ................... Victor Parker 601-857-3961 b. Administrator: V.P. Student Services ....... Jennifer Scott-Gilmore 601-857-3250 Student Financial Assistance Cluster: The District did not properly calculate the total amount disbursed or to be disbursed which lead to incorrect calculation of funds to be returned to Title IV. Additionally, the District did not provide evidence of date of determination used in calculation. Corrective Action Plan: The District is an attendance taking institutional and has reviewed its internal controls on how total days in the semester are calculated correctly and timely disbursements are made. The District understands that it should be using the Last Day of Attendance in the calculation of earned aid and made that modification Spring 2025 in collaboration with the U.S. Department of Education and outlined the calculation variables to align with that calculation change. Management has revised its Policy and Procedures accordingly and was submitted to the Hinds Board of Trustees for final approval December of 2025. The correction implementation date was June 2025 and finalized December 2025. With the corrected action initially taking place June 2025, this will be a continuation into this FY2025 audit. The correction implementation date was June 2025 and finalized December 2025. With the corrected action initially taking place June 2025, this will be a continuation into this FY2025 audit.

Prior Finding References

2024-003

About Special Tests and Provisions →

FY 2024-06-30

$70,061,270 federal awards expended

FAC accepted this audit on July 14, 2025 — management decision was due January 14, 2026.

2024-001
Special Tests & Provisions
SIGNIFICANT DEFICIENCYOTHER MATTERS

Student Financial Assistance Cluster Federal Supplemental Education Opportunity Grants, ALN 84.007; Federal Work-Student Program, ALN 84.033; Federal Pell Grant Program, ALN 84.063; Federal Direct Student Loans, ALN 84.268 U. S. Department of Education, Program Year 2023-2024 Type of Finding – Significant Deficiency in Internal Control Over Compliance Criteria or Specific Requirement – Special Tests and Provisions – Using a Servicer or Financial Institution to Deliver Title IV Credit Balances to a Card or Other Access Device [34 CFR 688.164(e) and (f)]. Condition – The District did not provide a URL for the contract to the Department of Education for publication in the Cash Management Contracts Database, and the District did not disclose conspicuously on its website the contract establishing the Tier One arrangement. Cause – The District’s internal controls related to compliance with Title IV requirements on use of a servicer did not ensure the required information was reported to the Department of Education and did not disclose contract on its website. Effect or Potential Effect – The District was not in compliance with the requirements noted above, and information required to be published or disclosed was not. Questioned Costs – None. Context – The District did not provide the URL or the contract for publication in the cash management contracts database, nor the link to the disclosure of contract on its website. Identification as a Repeat Finding, if Applicable – N/A Recommendation – The District should update internal controls to ensure requirements noted above for using a servicer are followed and the servicers are properly monitored. Additionally, the District should routinely review the related compliance requirements to ensure future compliance. Views of Responsible Officials and Planned Corrective Actions – There is no disagreement with the audit finding. See corrective action plan.

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

Student Financial Assistance Cluster Federal Supplemental Education Opportunity Grants, ALN 84.007; Federal Work-Student Program, ALN 84.033; Federal Pell Grant Program, ALN 84.063; Federal Direct Student Loans, ALN 84.268 U. S. Department of Education, Program Year 2023-2024 Type of Finding – Significant Deficiency in Internal Control Over Compliance Criteria or Specific Requirement – Special Tests and Provisions – Using a Servicer or Financial Institution to Deliver Title IV Credit Balances to a Card or Other Access Device [34 CFR 688.164(e) and (f)]. Condition – The District did not provide a URL for the contract to the Department of Education for publication in the Cash Management Contracts Database, and the District did not disclose conspicuously on its website the contract establishing the Tier One arrangement. Cause – The District’s internal controls related to compliance with Title IV requirements on use of a servicer did not ensure the required information was reported to the Department of Education and did not disclose contract on its website. Effect or Potential Effect – The District was not in compliance with the requirements noted above, and information required to be published or disclosed was not. Questioned Costs – None. Context – The District did not provide the URL or the contract for publication in the cash management contracts database, nor the link to the disclosure of contract on its website. Identification as a Repeat Finding, if Applicable – N/A Recommendation – The District should update internal controls to ensure requirements noted above for using a servicer are followed and the servicers are properly monitored. Additionally, the District should routinely review the related compliance requirements to ensure future compliance. Views of Responsible Officials and Planned Corrective Actions – There is no disagreement with the audit finding. See corrective action plan.

Corrective Action Plan

a. Administrator: V.P. Finance/ CFO ....... Victor Parker 601-857-3961 b. Administrator: V.P. Student Services ...... Jennifer Scott-Gilmore 601-857-3250 The District using a Servicer to Deliver Title IV Credit Balances to a card did not provide a URL for the contract to the Department of Education in the Cash Management Contracts Database and disclose the contract on the District's website. b. Corrective Action Planned: The Management has reviewed the District process of delivering Title IV credit balances to students. Management will disclose the third-party contractual agreement to its Servicer as well and provide the URL to the Department of Education via the Cash Management Contracts Database. The anticipated completion date is August 2025.

About Special Tests and Provisions →
2024-002
Special Tests & Provisions
MATERIAL WEAKNESSOTHER MATTERS

Student Financial Assistance Cluster Federal Supplemental Education Opportunity Grants, ALN 84.007; Federal Work-Student Program, ALN 84.033; Federal Pell Grant Program, ALN 84.063; Federal Direct Student Loans, ALN 84.268 U. S. Department of Education, Program Year 2023-2024 Type of Finding – Material Weakness in Internal Control Over Compliance Criteria or Specific Requirement – Special Tests and Provisions – Enrollment Reporting (34 CFR 690.93(b)(2); 34 CFR 682.610; 34 CFR 685.309. Institutions are required to report enrollment information. Condition – The District did not report timely and accurate student status information to the National Student Loan Data System (NSLDS). Cause – The District’s internal controls related to NSLDS reporting did not ensure status changes were reported timely and accurately. Effect or Potential Effect – Incorrect enrollment information was reported to NSLDS, and some of the information was not reported timely. Questioned Costs – None. Context – Out of a population of 3,106 students who received Pell Grants or Federal Direct Loans during the 2023-2024 award year and also had an increase or decrease in enrollment, graduated, or withdrew, a sample of 40 students was selected for testing. Our sample was not, and was not intended to be, statistically valid. Of the 40 students tested, 37 students’ enrollment information was incorrectly reported to NSLDS or not reported timely. Identification as a Repeat Finding, if Applicable – N/A Recommendation – The District should update internal controls related to NSLDS reporting to ensure changes in students’ enrollment status are reported in a timely and accurate manner on a recurring basis. Views of Responsible Officials and Planned Corrective Actions – There is no disagreement with the audit finding. See corrective action plan.

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

Student Financial Assistance Cluster Federal Supplemental Education Opportunity Grants, ALN 84.007; Federal Work-Student Program, ALN 84.033; Federal Pell Grant Program, ALN 84.063; Federal Direct Student Loans, ALN 84.268 U. S. Department of Education, Program Year 2023-2024 Type of Finding – Material Weakness in Internal Control Over Compliance Criteria or Specific Requirement – Special Tests and Provisions – Enrollment Reporting (34 CFR 690.93(b)(2); 34 CFR 682.610; 34 CFR 685.309. Institutions are required to report enrollment information. Condition – The District did not report timely and accurate student status information to the National Student Loan Data System (NSLDS). Cause – The District’s internal controls related to NSLDS reporting did not ensure status changes were reported timely and accurately. Effect or Potential Effect – Incorrect enrollment information was reported to NSLDS, and some of the information was not reported timely. Questioned Costs – None. Context – Out of a population of 3,106 students who received Pell Grants or Federal Direct Loans during the 2023-2024 award year and also had an increase or decrease in enrollment, graduated, or withdrew, a sample of 40 students was selected for testing. Our sample was not, and was not intended to be, statistically valid. Of the 40 students tested, 37 students’ enrollment information was incorrectly reported to NSLDS or not reported timely. Identification as a Repeat Finding, if Applicable – N/A Recommendation – The District should update internal controls related to NSLDS reporting to ensure changes in students’ enrollment status are reported in a timely and accurate manner on a recurring basis. Views of Responsible Officials and Planned Corrective Actions – There is no disagreement with the audit finding. See corrective action plan.

Corrective Action Plan

a. Administrator: V.P. Finance/ CFO ....... Victor Parker 601-857-3961 b. Administrator: V.P. Student Services .... Jennifer Scott-Gilmore 601-857-3250 The District did not report timely and accurate student status information to the National Student Loan Data System (NSLDS). The District did not ensure internal controls were in place to ensure timely and accurate reporting. b. Corrective Action Planned: The Management has implemented additional organizational and internal controls to ensure students' enrollment statuses are reported timely and accurately. In reviewing the causation of the finding, it was determined that it was a personnel error and as of June 2024, there is a new Registrar for Hinds Community College charged with compliance of this requirement. During the AY2024-25, the Registrar worked within the new student information system (SIS) to generate the required student data on a monthly cycle to be submitted to the National Clearinghouse which is then transmitted to NSLDS. This update in internal controls should satisfy future reviews.

About Special Tests and Provisions →
2024-003
Special Tests & Provisions
MATERIAL WEAKNESSQUESTIONED COSTSOTHER MATTERS

Student Financial Assistance Cluster Federal Supplemental Education Opportunity Grants, ALN 84.007; Federal Work-Student Program, ALN 84.033; Federal Pell Grant Program, ALN 84.063; Federal Direct Student Loans, ALN 84.268 U. S. Department of Education, Program Year 2023-2024 Type of Finding – Material Weakness in Internal Control Over Compliance Criteria or Specific Requirement – Special Tests and Provisions – Return of Title IV Funds [34 CFR 668.22(a)(1) through (a)(5)]. Condition – The District did not properly calculate the total amount disbursed or to be disbursed, which led to incorrect calculations of funds to be returned. Additionally, the District did not provide evidence of date of determination used in calculation. Cause – The District’s internal controls did not ensure accurate information was inputted into the calculation of returns. Additionally, no detective controls for supervisory review and approval of the calculations were performed to detect errors. Effect or Potential Effect – Incorrect amounts were returned to the Department of Education or disbursed to student. Questioned Costs – $5,946 – ALN 84.063; $3,557 – ALN 84.268. Total projected questioned costs were $36,916. Context – Out of a population of 491 students who withdrew during the 2023-2024 award year, a sample of 40 students was selected for testing. Our sample was not, and was not intended to be, statistically valid. Of the 40 students tested, 14 students’ calculations were incorrect. Additionally, $9,503 calculated to be returned to the Department of Education was not returned. Identification as a Repeat Finding, if Applicable – N/A Recommendation – The District should ensure its process and internal controls are updated to ensure total days in the semester are calculated correctly and disbursements are made timely. Additionally, the related calculations should be subject to review and approval as a best practice. Views of Responsible Officials and Planned Corrective Actions – There is no disagreement with the audit finding. See corrective action plan.

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

Student Financial Assistance Cluster Federal Supplemental Education Opportunity Grants, ALN 84.007; Federal Work-Student Program, ALN 84.033; Federal Pell Grant Program, ALN 84.063; Federal Direct Student Loans, ALN 84.268 U. S. Department of Education, Program Year 2023-2024 Type of Finding – Material Weakness in Internal Control Over Compliance Criteria or Specific Requirement – Special Tests and Provisions – Return of Title IV Funds [34 CFR 668.22(a)(1) through (a)(5)]. Condition – The District did not properly calculate the total amount disbursed or to be disbursed, which led to incorrect calculations of funds to be returned. Additionally, the District did not provide evidence of date of determination used in calculation. Cause – The District’s internal controls did not ensure accurate information was inputted into the calculation of returns. Additionally, no detective controls for supervisory review and approval of the calculations were performed to detect errors. Effect or Potential Effect – Incorrect amounts were returned to the Department of Education or disbursed to student. Questioned Costs – $5,946 – ALN 84.063; $3,557 – ALN 84.268. Total projected questioned costs were $36,916. Context – Out of a population of 491 students who withdrew during the 2023-2024 award year, a sample of 40 students was selected for testing. Our sample was not, and was not intended to be, statistically valid. Of the 40 students tested, 14 students’ calculations were incorrect. Additionally, $9,503 calculated to be returned to the Department of Education was not returned. Identification as a Repeat Finding, if Applicable – N/A Recommendation – The District should ensure its process and internal controls are updated to ensure total days in the semester are calculated correctly and disbursements are made timely. Additionally, the related calculations should be subject to review and approval as a best practice. Views of Responsible Officials and Planned Corrective Actions – There is no disagreement with the audit finding. See corrective action plan.

Corrective Action Plan

a. Administrator: V.P. Finance/ CFO ....... Victor Parker 601-857-3961 b. Administrator: V.P. Student Services ...... Jennifer Scott-Gilmore 601-857-3250 The District did not properly calculate the total amount disbursed or to be disbursed which lead to incorrect calculation of funds to be returned to Title IV. Additionally, the District did not provide evidence of date of determination used in calculation. b. Corrective Action Plan: The District is an attendance taking institutional and has reviewed its internal controls on how total days in the semester are calculated correctly and timely disbursements are made. The District understands that it should be using the Last Day of Attendance in the calculation of earned aid and made that modification Spring 2025 in collaboration with the U.S. Department of Education and outlined the calculation variables to align with that calculation change. Management has revised its Policy and Procedures accordingly and will submit to the Hinds Board of Trustees for final approval December of 2025. The correction implementation date was June 2025 to be finalized December 2025.

About Special Tests and Provisions →

FY 2023-06-30

$79,448,944 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on April 30, 2024 — management decision was due October 30, 2024.

FY 2022-06-30

$107,593,121 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on September 4, 2023 — management decision was due March 4, 2024.

FY 2021-06-30

$85,066,460 federal awards expended

FAC accepted this audit on March 8, 2023 — management decision was due September 8, 2023.

2021-003
Eligibility
MATERIAL WEAKNESSMODIFIED OPINIONQUESTIONED COSTS

TRIO Cluster, Assistance Listing Numbers 84.042, 84.044 and 84.047 U.S. Department of Education Program Year 2020-2021 Criteria or specific requirement ? Eligibility ? 34 CFR Sections 645.3 and 645.6. Proper documentation should be retained to support eligibility. Condition ? The District did not retain sufficient documentation to support eligibility determinations for students. Questioned costs ? Assistance Listing Number 84.047 - $1,160 ? Questioned costs include sampled stipends paid to students for which no supporting eligibility document was provided Context ? Out of a population of 2,331 stipends paid to students during program year 2020-2021, a sample of 40 stipends were selected for underlying eligibility testing. Our sampling method was not intended to be statistically valid. There was no underlying eligibility documentation provided by the District for 8 of the 40 selected stipends. Effect ? The District was not able to support the eligibility determination of all student recipients, and, therefore, potentially provided stipends to ineligible student recipients. Cause ? The District?s processes did not ensure sufficient documentation was retained to support eligibility determinations of student recipients. Identification as a repeat finding ? N/A Recommendation ? The District should expand its processes to ensure eligibility documents are retained to support the eligibility determinations. Views of responsible officials and planned corrective actions - In address of the TRIO student documentation errors, Title III and Sponsored Grants Department and Assistant Director for Grant Initiatives supervising TRIO Project Directors will be retrained on the process of student documentation for each program activity, campus visit, cultural excursions, and visitation. Training and supervision will be continued with weekly and monthly meetings for verification of steps followed. The District has Blumen Software that is purchased by each TRIO Upward Bound Program. Requirements will be communicated, and training will be provided on the software to house TRIO projects and track services.

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

TRIO Cluster, Assistance Listing Numbers 84.042, 84.044 and 84.047 U.S. Department of Education Program Year 2020-2021 Criteria or specific requirement ? Eligibility ? 34 CFR Sections 645.3 and 645.6. Proper documentation should be retained to support eligibility. Condition ? The District did not retain sufficient documentation to support eligibility determinations for students. Questioned costs ? Assistance Listing Number 84.047 - $1,160 ? Questioned costs include sampled stipends paid to students for which no supporting eligibility document was provided Context ? Out of a population of 2,331 stipends paid to students during program year 2020-2021, a sample of 40 stipends were selected for underlying eligibility testing. Our sampling method was not intended to be statistically valid. There was no underlying eligibility documentation provided by the District for 8 of the 40 selected stipends. Effect ? The District was not able to support the eligibility determination of all student recipients, and, therefore, potentially provided stipends to ineligible student recipients. Cause ? The District?s processes did not ensure sufficient documentation was retained to support eligibility determinations of student recipients. Identification as a repeat finding ? N/A Recommendation ? The District should expand its processes to ensure eligibility documents are retained to support the eligibility determinations. Views of responsible officials and planned corrective actions - In address of the TRIO student documentation errors, Title III and Sponsored Grants Department and Assistant Director for Grant Initiatives supervising TRIO Project Directors will be retrained on the process of student documentation for each program activity, campus visit, cultural excursions, and visitation. Training and supervision will be continued with weekly and monthly meetings for verification of steps followed. The District has Blumen Software that is purchased by each TRIO Upward Bound Program. Requirements will be communicated, and training will be provided on the software to house TRIO projects and track services.

Corrective Action Plan

a. Administrator: V.P. Finance / CFO??. Victor Parker 601-857-3961 V.P. CTE Instruction / HBCU Initiatives ?. Sherry Bellmon 601-885-7002 b. Corrective Action Planned: In address of the TRIO student documentation errors, Title III and Sponsored Grants Department and Assistant Director for Grant Initiatives supervising TRIO Project Directors will be retrained on the process of student documentation for each program activity, campus visit, cultural excursions, and visitation. Training and supervision will be continued with weekly and monthly meetings for verification of steps followed. The Title III and Sponsored Grants Department has Blumen Software that is purchased by each TRIO Upward Bound Program. Requirements will be communicated, and training will be provided on the software to house TRIO projects and track services. The anticipated completion date is March 2023.

About Eligibility →

FY 2020-06-30

$76,220,393 federal awards expended

FAC accepted this audit on September 13, 2021 — management decision was due March 13, 2022.

2020-001
Special Tests & Provisions
MATERIAL WEAKNESSREPEAT OF 2019-001

Controls are not in place to adequately protect the student?s information. Context: The District is in the process of fully evaluating these issues and assessing the related risks. Questioned Costs: None. Cause: Unknown. Effect: Until these risks are adequately assessed and procedures are implemented to address these issues, the District is potentially at risk of providing inadequate and/or incomplete protection of student financial aid information. Identification of a Repeat Finding: Yes. Whether Sampling was Statically Valid: No. Recommendation: The risk assessment process should be completed and controls put in place to adequately address identified risk so that student financial aid information is adequately protected.

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

Material Weakness Program: U.S. Department of Education Student Financial Assistance Programs Cluster CFDA #84.007, 84.033, 84.063 & 84.268 Compliance requirement: Special test and provisions - Gramm - Leach - Bliley Act - Student information security. Finding 2020-001 Criteria: The District must protect student financial aid information, with particular attention to information provided to institutions by the District or otherwise obtained in support of the administration of federal student financial aid programs. Condition: Controls are not in place to adequately protect the student?s information. Context: The District is in the process of fully evaluating these issues and assessing the related risks. Questioned Costs: None. Cause: Unknown. Effect: Until these risks are adequately assessed and procedures are implemented to address these issues, the District is potentially at risk of providing inadequate and/or incomplete protection of student financial aid information. Identification of a Repeat Finding: Yes. Whether Sampling was Statically Valid: No. Recommendation: The risk assessment process should be completed and controls put in place to adequately address identified risk so that student financial aid information is adequately protected.

Corrective Action Plan

a. Executive Director of Technology & CIO Name: Taylor Armstrong Phone Number: 601-857-3632 b. Corrective Action Planned: Due to changes in federal regulations, Hinds began a 3-year process/ partnership in November 2018 with BKD to evaluate and address any issues that would prevent us from being GLBA and NIST 800-171 compliant for our annual financial audit. Due to COVID-19, the FY20 completion timeline was impacted. Risk Assessment was completed and Hinds Community College Board of Trustee approved Information Security Policy on December 2, 2020. The Information Security, Data Governance Policy, Acceptable Use Policy were again reviewed, updated and approved at May 2021 Hinds Community College Board of Trustee meeting as an on-going assessment. Part of the BKD Risk Assessment agreement is an annual compliance assessment of GLBA & NIST standards. This agreement runs through November 2021 and will be renewed.

Prior Finding References

2019-001

About Special Tests and Provisions →

FY 2019-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$67,071,462 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on June 28, 2020 — management decision was due December 28, 2020.

FY 2018-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$66,961,918 federal awards expended

FAC accepted this audit on March 28, 2019 — management decision was due September 28, 2019.

2018-006
Other
SIGNIFICANT DEFICIENCY

GSA_MIGRATION

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

GSA_MIGRATION

Corrective Action Plan

GSA_MIGRATION

About Other →

FY 2017-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$66,015,077 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on March 28, 2018 — management decision was due September 28, 2018.

FY 2016-06-30

MATERIAL NONCOMPLIANCE DISCLOSEDLOW-RISK AUDITEE$58,561,273 federal awards expended

FAC accepted this audit on March 28, 2017 — management decision was due September 28, 2017.

2016-004
Cost Allowability
SIGNIFICANT DEFICIENCY

GSA_MIGRATION

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

GSA_MIGRATION

Corrective Action Plan

GSA_MIGRATION

About Allowable Costs / Cost Principles →
2016-005
Other
SIGNIFICANT DEFICIENCY

GSA_MIGRATION

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

GSA_MIGRATION

Corrective Action Plan

GSA_MIGRATION

About Other →

Data source: This information comes from the Federal Audit Clearinghouse, the official repository of Single Audit data. All data is public domain. Verify this organization's audit history at fac.gov.

Browse other Single Audit organizations in Mississippi

Are you this organization?

Track your findings and corrective action plans across audit cycles.

Start tracking findings →

Do you fund this organization?

Monitor subrecipient audit findings and filing records.

Start monitoring →

Product

Resources

Legal

Single Audit Intelligence is an independent tool powered by Federal Audit Clearinghouse data. Not affiliated with GSA, OMB, or any federal agency.

© 2026 Single Audit Intelligence. All data is public domain.