← Back to home

Frontier Nursing University, Inc.Higher Education

EIN: 611124267

UEI: UHKJSPE98GK1

Audited by: Blue & Co., LLC

Cognizant agency: 84 [Department of Education]

View federal awards & risk assessment →

Data as of August 31, 2026

Frontier Nursing University, Inc.10 audit years2 findings
10
Audit Years
2
Total Findings
0
Repeat Findings
$51.5M
Federal Awards Expended (FY 2025)

FY 2025-04-30

MATERIAL NONCOMPLIANCE DISCLOSEDLOW-RISK AUDITEE$51,531,942 federal awards expended

Management decision deadline — for entities that funded this organization

The FAC accepted this audit on September 5, 2025. Under 2 CFR 200.521(d), a pass-through entity that provided federal funds to this organization for this audit period must issue a management decision on these findings by March 5, 2026 (180 days ago).

What is a management decision? →
2025-001
Reporting
SIGNIFICANT DEFICIENCY

For all students who went on a Regular Academic Hiatus, 202 students in total, withdrawal status was reported as the day the student officially withdrew, instead of the date the student began the Regular Academic Hiatus. A Regular Academic Hiatus is a leave of absence that does not meet the requirements of 34 CRF 668.22(d). Questioned Cost: $-0- Cause: The University did not have the proper internal controls in place to ensure that the students who took a Regular Academic Hiatus were reported as withdrawn to National Loan Student Database System. Effect: The enrollment status for students who took a Regular Academic Hiatus were incorrect during the time of their hiatus. Recommendation: We recommend the University update their reporting procedures for students who take a Regular Academic Hiatus to ensure that accurate withdrawal dates are properly reported to the National Loan Student Database System. Views of responsible officials and planned corrective actions: The University concurs with this finding and will implement oversight procedures to ensure the enrollment status for students taking a Regular Academic Hiatus are reported timely to the National Loan Student Database System.

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

Information on the Federal Program: Federal Direct Student Loan Program, AL Number 84.268 (Student Financial Aid Cluster) – U.S. Department of Education Criteria: Per 34 CRF 668.22(c)(1)(vi), if a student takes a leave of absence that does not meet the requirements of 34 CRF 668.22(d), the date that the student began the leave of absence is their withdrawal date. Per 34 CFR 685.309(b)(2)(i), unless the school expects to submit its next enrollment report within 60 days, the school must notify the lender or the guaranty agency within 30 days if it discovers that a student who received a loan either did not enroll or ceased to be enrolled on at least a half-time basis. Condition: For all students who went on a Regular Academic Hiatus, 202 students in total, withdrawal status was reported as the day the student officially withdrew, instead of the date the student began the Regular Academic Hiatus. A Regular Academic Hiatus is a leave of absence that does not meet the requirements of 34 CRF 668.22(d). Questioned Cost: $-0- Cause: The University did not have the proper internal controls in place to ensure that the students who took a Regular Academic Hiatus were reported as withdrawn to National Loan Student Database System. Effect: The enrollment status for students who took a Regular Academic Hiatus were incorrect during the time of their hiatus. Recommendation: We recommend the University update their reporting procedures for students who take a Regular Academic Hiatus to ensure that accurate withdrawal dates are properly reported to the National Loan Student Database System. Views of responsible officials and planned corrective actions: The University concurs with this finding and will implement oversight procedures to ensure the enrollment status for students taking a Regular Academic Hiatus are reported timely to the National Loan Student Database System.

Corrective Action Plan

Finding: The enrollment statuses in the National Student Loan Data System for students who took a Regular Academic Hiatus were incorrect during the time of their hiatus. Corrective Actions Taken or Planned: FNU will change the reported enrollment status of all students on a regular Academic Hiatus (AH) from “Enrolled” to “Leave of Absence (LOA)” in the National Student Clearinghouse (NSC). Note that both status types indicate an enrolled status per NSC. To support this change, FNU will revise its internal procedures to ensure that students on a regular AH are coded as “Leave” in the Student Learning Management System. This status accurately reflects a temporary interruption in their program of study and aligns with enrollment reporting requirements. We will strengthen training for all staff involved in enrollment status reporting to ensure consistent understanding and proper implementation of the updated procedures. We believe these steps are important for improving the accuracy of our reporting and staying in compliance with federal student aid requirements. Estimated Completion Date: September 30, 2025 Responsible Personnel: Janice Ponstein, Director of Academic Records & Registrar

About Reporting →

FY 2024-04-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$49,721,600 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on October 24, 2024 — management decision was due April 24, 2025.

FY 2023-04-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$45,896,719 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on October 10, 2023 — management decision was due April 10, 2024.

FY 2022-04-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$46,107,319 federal awards expended

FAC accepted this audit on October 9, 2022 — management decision was due April 9, 2023.

2022-001
Reporting
OTHER MATTERS

Timely reporting of withdrawn student to the National Student Loan Data System (NSLDS). Criteria: Per 34 CFR 685.309, unless the school expects to complete its next enrollment report within 60 days, the school must notify the lender or the guaranty agency within 30 days, if it discovers that a student who received a loan either did not enroll or ceased to be enrolled on at least a half-time basis. The school is responsible for timely reporting whether they report directly or via a third-party servicer. Cause: The University did not have a control in place to ensure that timely reporting of withdrawal status changes is occurring. Effect: Without notification, the NSLDS is not timely updated of change in status for students who have withdrawn or graduated. Timely notification allows the NSLDS to determine when a student enters repayment status. Context: Out of a sample of 37 students who had withdrawn, 1 student was not reported timely to the National Student Loan Data System (NSLDS). Recommendation: We recommend that internal controls be established to verify that students who have received a loan and ceased enrollment are reported to the guaranty agency within a timely manner. Views of the University and planned corrective action: The University agrees with this finding and summary. The University did not have sufficient control measures in place to ensure that every student?s change in enrollment status was reported to NSLDS in a timely manner. To improve the University?s Title IV regulatory compliance and to ensure that all changes in students? enrollment status are correctly reported to NSLDS in a timely manner, the Director of Enrollment Management and Financial Aid will continue to report a withdrawn student directly to NSLDS within 30 days of a student withdrawing from the University and the Associate Director of Financial Aid will review NSLDS once notification of a students? withdrawal has been received to ensure the withdrawn status has been reported timely. Responsible parties: Rainie Boggs, Director of Enrollment Management and Financial Aid and Andrew Dezarn, Associate Director of Financial Aid Estimated completion date: August 15, 2022

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

Condition: Timely reporting of withdrawn student to the National Student Loan Data System (NSLDS). Criteria: Per 34 CFR 685.309, unless the school expects to complete its next enrollment report within 60 days, the school must notify the lender or the guaranty agency within 30 days, if it discovers that a student who received a loan either did not enroll or ceased to be enrolled on at least a half-time basis. The school is responsible for timely reporting whether they report directly or via a third-party servicer. Cause: The University did not have a control in place to ensure that timely reporting of withdrawal status changes is occurring. Effect: Without notification, the NSLDS is not timely updated of change in status for students who have withdrawn or graduated. Timely notification allows the NSLDS to determine when a student enters repayment status. Context: Out of a sample of 37 students who had withdrawn, 1 student was not reported timely to the National Student Loan Data System (NSLDS). Recommendation: We recommend that internal controls be established to verify that students who have received a loan and ceased enrollment are reported to the guaranty agency within a timely manner. Views of the University and planned corrective action: The University agrees with this finding and summary. The University did not have sufficient control measures in place to ensure that every student?s change in enrollment status was reported to NSLDS in a timely manner. To improve the University?s Title IV regulatory compliance and to ensure that all changes in students? enrollment status are correctly reported to NSLDS in a timely manner, the Director of Enrollment Management and Financial Aid will continue to report a withdrawn student directly to NSLDS within 30 days of a student withdrawing from the University and the Associate Director of Financial Aid will review NSLDS once notification of a students? withdrawal has been received to ensure the withdrawn status has been reported timely. Responsible parties: Rainie Boggs, Director of Enrollment Management and Financial Aid and Andrew Dezarn, Associate Director of Financial Aid Estimated completion date: August 15, 2022

Corrective Action Plan

2022-001 Finding Frontier Nursing University (the University) did not report 1 student who withdrew to National Student Loan Data System (NSLDS) in a timely manner. Summary The University does not have a control in place to ensure students who withdrew from the University are reported timely to NSLDS. Views of the University and Planned Corrective Action The University agrees with this finding and summary. The University did not have sufficient control measures in place to ensure that every student?s change in enrollment status was reported to NSLDS in a timely manner. To improve the University?s Title IV regulatory compliance and to ensure that all changes in students? enrollment status are correctly reported to NSLDS in a timely manner, the Director of Enrollment Management and Financial Aid will continue to report a withdrawn student directly to NSLDS within 30 days of a student withdrawing from the University and the Associate Director of Financial Aid will review NSLDS once notification of a students? withdrawal has been received to ensure the withdrawn status has been reported timely. Responsible Parties: Rainie Boggs, Director of Enrollment Management and Financial Aid and Andrew Dezarn, Associate Director of Financial Aid Estimated Completion Date: August 15, 2022.

About Reporting →

FY 2021-04-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$48,194,486 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on August 8, 2021 — management decision was due February 8, 2022.

FY 2020-04-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$47,119,022 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on September 16, 2020 — management decision was due March 16, 2021.

FY 2019-04-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$45,710,721 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on August 15, 2019 — management decision was due February 15, 2020.

FY 2018-04-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$43,703,843 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on August 22, 2018 — management decision was due February 22, 2019.

FY 2017-04-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$38,051,286 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on August 30, 2017 — management decision was due March 2, 2018.

FY 2016-04-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$31,668,104 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on August 31, 2016 — management decision was due March 3, 2017.

Data source: This information comes from the Federal Audit Clearinghouse, the official repository of Single Audit data. All data is public domain. Verify this organization's audit history at fac.gov.

Browse other Single Audit organizations in Kentucky

Are you this organization?

Track your findings and corrective action plans across audit cycles.

Start tracking findings →

Do you fund this organization?

Monitor subrecipient audit findings and filing records.

Start monitoring →

Product

Resources

Legal

Single Audit Intelligence is an independent tool powered by Federal Audit Clearinghouse data. Not affiliated with GSA, OMB, or any federal agency.

© 2026 Single Audit Intelligence. All data is public domain.