← Back to home

Bridgewater CollegeHigher Education

EIN: 540506306

UEI: HKK3NDKGY4G3

Audited by: Brown, Edwards, and Company LLP

Oversight agency: 84 [Department of Education]

View federal awards & risk assessment →

Data as of September 2, 2026

Bridgewater College10 audit years1 findings
10
Audit Years
1
Total Findings
0
Repeat Findings
$11.9M
Federal Awards Expended (FY 2025)

FY 2025-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$11,870,249 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

Management decision deadline — for entities that funded this organization

The FAC accepted this audit on March 26, 2026. Under 2 CFR 200.521(d), a pass-through entity that provided federal funds to this organization for this audit period must issue a management decision on these findings by September 26, 2026 (22 days from today).

What is a management decision? →

FY 2024-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$11,626,015 federal awards expended

FAC accepted this audit on March 31, 2025 — management decision was due October 1, 2025.

2024-001
Special Tests & Provisions
SIGNIFICANT DEFICIENCYOTHER MATTERS

The College did not report student enrollment data to the National Student Clearinghouse within the minimum required timeframe. Criteria: Unless it expects to submit its next updated enrollment report to the Secretary within the next 60 days, a school must notify the Secretary within 30 days after the date the school discovers that a loan under Title IV of the Act was made to or on behalf of a student who was enrolled or accepted for enrollment at the school, and the student has ceased to be enrolled on at least a half-time basis or failed to enroll on at least a half-time basis for the period for which the loan was intended (34 CFR 685.309(b)(2)(i)). Cause: The College does not have adequate procedures in place to ensure students’ enrollment statuses are updated on NSLDS timely. Effect: Enrollment data was not reported timely or accurately to the Department of Education thus, the Department could not properly service the students’ loans. The accuracy of the Title IV student loan records depends heavily on the accuracy of the enrollment information reported by institutions. Context: From a population of 42 students that withdrew officially during a term, we tested 5 students and noted that all 5 were not reported timely. Recommendation: We recommend that the College put procedures in place to ensure that any changes in student enrollments are properly tracked and updated to the NSLDS. Management Response: When the Registrar’s Office is notified of a student’s withdrawal (official or unofficial), within 24 hours the student’s record in the National Student Clearinghouse will be manually flagged as withdrawn with their last date of attendance.

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

2024-001 Enrollment Reporting (Significant Deficiency) Department of Education, Student Financial Aid Cluster, Special Tests and Provisions Condition: The College did not report student enrollment data to the National Student Clearinghouse within the minimum required timeframe. Criteria: Unless it expects to submit its next updated enrollment report to the Secretary within the next 60 days, a school must notify the Secretary within 30 days after the date the school discovers that a loan under Title IV of the Act was made to or on behalf of a student who was enrolled or accepted for enrollment at the school, and the student has ceased to be enrolled on at least a half-time basis or failed to enroll on at least a half-time basis for the period for which the loan was intended (34 CFR 685.309(b)(2)(i)). Cause: The College does not have adequate procedures in place to ensure students’ enrollment statuses are updated on NSLDS timely. Effect: Enrollment data was not reported timely or accurately to the Department of Education thus, the Department could not properly service the students’ loans. The accuracy of the Title IV student loan records depends heavily on the accuracy of the enrollment information reported by institutions. Context: From a population of 42 students that withdrew officially during a term, we tested 5 students and noted that all 5 were not reported timely. Recommendation: We recommend that the College put procedures in place to ensure that any changes in student enrollments are properly tracked and updated to the NSLDS. Management Response: When the Registrar’s Office is notified of a student’s withdrawal (official or unofficial), within 24 hours the student’s record in the National Student Clearinghouse will be manually flagged as withdrawn with their last date of attendance.

Corrective Action Plan

2024-001 Enrollment Reporting (Significant Deficiency), Department of Education, Student Financial Aid Cluster, Special Tests and Provisions Condition: The College did not report student enrollment data to the National Student Clearinghouse within the minimum required timeframe. Criteria: Unless it expects to submit its next updated enrollment report to the Secretary within the next 60 days, a school must notify the Secretary within 30 days after the date the school discovers that a loan under Title IV of the Act was made to or on behalf of a student who was enrolled or accepted for enrollment at the school, and the student has ceased to be enrolled on at least a half-time basis or failed to enroll on at least a half-time basis for the period for which the loan was intended (34 CFR 685.309(b)(2)(i)). Cause: The College does not have adequate procedures in place to ensure students’ enrollment statuses are updated on NSLDS timely. Effect: Enrollment data was not reported timely or accurately to the Department of Education thus, the Department could not properly service the students’ loans. The accuracy of the Title IV student loan records depends heavily on the accuracy of the enrollment information reported by institutions. Context: From a population of 42 students that withdrew officially during a term, we tested 5 students and noted that all 5 were not reported timely. Recommendation: We recommend that the College put procedures in place to ensure that any changes in student enrollments are properly tracked and updated to the NSLDS. Management Response: When the Registrar’s Office is notified of a student’s withdrawal (official or unofficial), within 24 hours the student’s record in the National Student Clearinghouse will be manually flagged as withdrawn with their last date of attendance. Party responsible: Sherry A. Phelps Office phone: 540-828-5313 Email address: sphelps2@bridgewater.edu Expected date of correction: This problem was corrected on 6/27/2024 when it was brought to my attention and since that date the required information has been correctly reported directly into the National Student Clearinghouse within 24 hours of the date of determination of a student’s withdraw from the college.

About Special Tests and Provisions →

FY 2023-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$12,505,197 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on March 12, 2024 — management decision was due September 12, 2024.

FY 2022-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$17,146,678 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on February 15, 2023 — management decision was due August 15, 2023.

FY 2021-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$16,088,812 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on October 3, 2022 — management decision was due April 3, 2023.

FY 2020-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$19,098,458 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on September 28, 2021 — management decision was due March 28, 2022.

FY 2019-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$17,889,646 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on January 29, 2020 — management decision was due July 29, 2020.

FY 2018-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$35,983,438 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on February 6, 2019 — management decision was due August 6, 2019.

FY 2017-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$26,066,495 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on February 21, 2018 — management decision was due August 21, 2018.

FY 2016-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$47,785,868 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on January 30, 2017 — management decision was due July 30, 2017.

Data source: This information comes from the Federal Audit Clearinghouse, the official repository of Single Audit data. All data is public domain. Verify this organization's audit history at fac.gov.

Browse other Single Audit organizations in Virginia

Are you this organization?

Track your findings and corrective action plans across audit cycles.

Start tracking findings →

Do you fund this organization?

Add it to a monitored group and get alerted when a new audit, finding, repeat finding, or management-decision deadline shows up — instead of checking back.

Checking several at once? Portfolio view →

Product

Resources

Legal

Single Audit Intelligence is an independent tool powered by Federal Audit Clearinghouse data. Not affiliated with GSA, OMB, or any federal agency.

© 2026 Single Audit Intelligence. All data is public domain.