← Back to home

Hagerstown Community CollegeHigher Education

EIN: 520945289

UEI: Q7K8PNLA8WP1

Audited by: CliftonLarsonAllen LLP

Oversight agency: 84 [Department of Education]

View federal awards & risk assessment →

Data as of September 2, 2026

Hagerstown Community College10 audit years4 findings
10
Audit Years
4
Total Findings
0
Repeat Findings
$16.3M
Federal Awards Expended (FY 2025)

FY 2025-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$16,277,621 federal awards expended

Management decision deadline — for entities that funded this organization

The FAC accepted this audit on January 20, 2026. Under 2 CFR 200.521(d), a pass-through entity that provided federal funds to this organization for this audit period must issue a management decision on these findings by July 20, 2026 (46 days ago).

What is a management decision? →
2025-001
Special Tests & Provisions
SIGNIFICANT DEFICIENCY

During our testing of enrollment status reporting, we noted the change in enrollment status was not reported within 60 days. Questioned Costs: None Context: The change in enrollment data was not reported timely for 1 out of 40 students. Cause: Hagerstown Community College did not have a process in place to ensure the students who changed status were reported timely and accurately. Effect: Student enrollment status changes was not reported timely to NSLDS. Repeat Finding: No Recommendation: We recommend Hagerstown Community College reevaluate their procedures and review policies surrounding reporting status changes to NSLDS to ensure timely and accurate reporting. Views of responsible officials: Management agrees with the finding and has a plan to correct the finding

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

Federal Agency: U.S. Department of Education Federal Program: Student Financial Aid Cluster ALN: 84.063, 84.268 Federal Award Identification Number: P063P241225 - 2025 ; P268K251553 - 2025 Award Period: July 1, 2024 – June 30, 2025 Type of Finding: Significant Deficiency in Internal Control over Compliance, Other Matters Criteria or specific requirement: Internal Control – Per 2 CFR section 200.303(a), a non-Federal entity must: Establish and maintain effective internal control over the Federal award that provides reasonable assurance that the non- Federal entity is managing the Federal award in compliance with Federal statutes, regulations, and the terms and conditions of the Federal award. These internal controls should be in compliance with guidance in “Standards for Internal Control in the Federal Government” issued by the Comptroller General of the United States or the “Internal Control Integrated Framework”, issued by the Committee of Sponsoring Organizations of the Treadway Commission (COSO). Compliance – The Code of Federal Regulations, 34 CFR 685.309 requires that enrollment status changes for students be reported to NSLDS within 30 days or within 60 days if the student with the status change will be reported on a scheduled transmission within 60 days of the change in status. Condition: During our testing of enrollment status reporting, we noted the change in enrollment status was not reported within 60 days. Questioned Costs: None Context: The change in enrollment data was not reported timely for 1 out of 40 students. Cause: Hagerstown Community College did not have a process in place to ensure the students who changed status were reported timely and accurately. Effect: Student enrollment status changes was not reported timely to NSLDS. Repeat Finding: No Recommendation: We recommend Hagerstown Community College reevaluate their procedures and review policies surrounding reporting status changes to NSLDS to ensure timely and accurate reporting. Views of responsible officials: Management agrees with the finding and has a plan to correct the finding

Corrective Action Plan

U.S. Department of Education 2025-001: Special Tests and Provisions – NSLDS Enrollment Reporting Student Financial Aid Cluster – Assistance Listing No. 84.063, 84.268 Condition: During our testing of enrollment status reporting, we noted the change in enrollment status was not reported within 60 days. Recommendation: We recommend Hagerstown Community College reevaluate their procedures and review policies surrounding reporting status changes to NSLDS to ensure timely and accurate reporting. Explanation of disagreement with audit finding: There is no disagreement with the audit finding. Action taken in response to finding: The Director of Financial Aid has contacted the National Student Clearinghouse (NSC) to assess whether any errors occurred during the file transmission process. As of the date of this submission, HCC has not received a response from NSC. Upon receipt of NSC’s findings, HCC will work collaboratively with NSC to identify the root cause of the error and implement corrective actions to prevent recurrence. HCC will continue to perform periodic spot checks of student records transmitted to NSC and subsequently reported to the National Student Loan Data System (NSLDS). Any discrepancies identified through these reviews will be addressed through coordinated corrective action by the Financial Aid, Registrar, and Institutional Effectiveness offices to ensure data accuracy and regulatory compliance. Name(s) of the contact person(s) responsible for corrective action: Dr. Charles M. Scheetz, Director of Financial Aid and W. Christopher Baer, Registrar Planned completion date for corrective action plan: June 30, 2026

About Special Tests and Provisions →

FY 2024-06-30

$14,674,387 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on January 23, 2025 — management decision was due July 23, 2025.

FY 2023-06-30

$11,951,326 federal awards expended

FAC accepted this audit on March 29, 2024 — management decision was due September 29, 2024.

2023-001
Special Tests & Provisions
SIGNIFICANT DEFICIENCYOTHER MATTERS

Reference Number: 2023-001 Federal Agency: U.S. Department of Education Federal Program: Student Financial Aid Assistance Listing Number: 84.063, 84.268 Award Number and Period: P063P221553 and P268K231553 (July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2023) Compliance Requirement: Special Tests – Enrollment Reporting Type of Finding: Significant Deficiency in Internal Controls over Compliance, Other Matters Criteria Internal Control - Per 2 CFR section 200.303(a), a non-Federal entity must: Establish and maintain effective internal control over the Federal award that provides reasonable assurance that the non- Federal entity is managing the Federal award in compliance with Federal statutes, regulations, and the terms and conditions of the Federal award. These internal controls should be in compliance with guidance in “Standards for Internal Control in the Federal Government” issued by the Comptroller General of the United States or the “Internal Control Integrated Framework”, issued by the Committee of Sponsoring Organizations of the Treadway Commission (COSO). Compliance – 1. The Code of Federal Regulations, 34 CFR 685.309(b), states that: • Colleges must have some arrangement to report student enrollment data to the National Student Loan Data System (NSLDS) through an enrollment roster file. The college is required to report changes in the student’s enrollment status, the effective date of the status, and an anticipated completion date. Also, the Code of Federal Regulations, 34 CFR 682.610, states that college must report accurately the enrollment status of all students regardless if they receive aid from the institution or not. • Colleges must have some arrangement to report student program enrollment effective date and status to NSLDS. Condition Incorrect enrollment status and effective dates were reported to NSLDS. Context The enrollment status was incorrectly reported for 1 out of 40 students. The effective date was incorrectly reported for 1 out of 40 students. Cause The College utilizes the National Student Clearinghouse (NSC) as a third-party provider in order to submit student information to the NSLDS. Student enrollment status and effective dates were uploaded to NSC timely, however, monitoring of the upload through success was inconsistent. No review was completed to ensure the upload was completed and accurate in NSLDS. Effect Student enrollment status and effective dates were not reported accurately to NSLDS. Repeat Finding No Questioned Costs None Recommendation The College should evaluate their procedures and policies related to reporting status changes to NSLDS and enhance as deemed necessary to ensure that accurate information is reported to NSLDS. Views of Responsible Officials There is no disagreement with the audit finding.

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

Reference Number: 2023-001 Federal Agency: U.S. Department of Education Federal Program: Student Financial Aid Assistance Listing Number: 84.063, 84.268 Award Number and Period: P063P221553 and P268K231553 (July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2023) Compliance Requirement: Special Tests – Enrollment Reporting Type of Finding: Significant Deficiency in Internal Controls over Compliance, Other Matters Criteria Internal Control - Per 2 CFR section 200.303(a), a non-Federal entity must: Establish and maintain effective internal control over the Federal award that provides reasonable assurance that the non- Federal entity is managing the Federal award in compliance with Federal statutes, regulations, and the terms and conditions of the Federal award. These internal controls should be in compliance with guidance in “Standards for Internal Control in the Federal Government” issued by the Comptroller General of the United States or the “Internal Control Integrated Framework”, issued by the Committee of Sponsoring Organizations of the Treadway Commission (COSO). Compliance – 1. The Code of Federal Regulations, 34 CFR 685.309(b), states that: • Colleges must have some arrangement to report student enrollment data to the National Student Loan Data System (NSLDS) through an enrollment roster file. The college is required to report changes in the student’s enrollment status, the effective date of the status, and an anticipated completion date. Also, the Code of Federal Regulations, 34 CFR 682.610, states that college must report accurately the enrollment status of all students regardless if they receive aid from the institution or not. • Colleges must have some arrangement to report student program enrollment effective date and status to NSLDS. Condition Incorrect enrollment status and effective dates were reported to NSLDS. Context The enrollment status was incorrectly reported for 1 out of 40 students. The effective date was incorrectly reported for 1 out of 40 students. Cause The College utilizes the National Student Clearinghouse (NSC) as a third-party provider in order to submit student information to the NSLDS. Student enrollment status and effective dates were uploaded to NSC timely, however, monitoring of the upload through success was inconsistent. No review was completed to ensure the upload was completed and accurate in NSLDS. Effect Student enrollment status and effective dates were not reported accurately to NSLDS. Repeat Finding No Questioned Costs None Recommendation The College should evaluate their procedures and policies related to reporting status changes to NSLDS and enhance as deemed necessary to ensure that accurate information is reported to NSLDS. Views of Responsible Officials There is no disagreement with the audit finding.

Corrective Action Plan

Hagerstown Community College respectfully submits the following corrective action plan for the year ended June 30, 2023. Audit period: July 1, 2022 - June 30, 2023 The findings from the schedule of findings and questioned costs are discussed below. The findings are numbered consistently with the numbers assigned in the schedule. FINDINGS- FEDERAL AWARD PROGRAMS AUDITS U.S. Department of Education 2023-001 NSLDS Enrollment Reporting Student Financial Aid Cluster-Assistance Listing No. 84.063, 84.268 Condition: During testing of enrollment status reporting, we noted that the incorrect enrollment status and effective date was reported to NSLDS. Recommendation: The College should evaluate their procedures and policies related to reporting status changes to NSLDS and enhance as deemed necessary to ensure that accurate information is reported to NSLDS. Explanation of disagreement with audit finding: There is no disagreement with the audit finding. Cause-Enrollment Status Reporting: Hagerstown Community College utilizes the National Student Clearinghouse (NSC) as a third-party provider in order to submit student information to the NSLDS. Student enrollment status corrections were uploaded to NSC timely and correctly; however, monitoring of the upload through success was inconsistent, resulting in error reports preventing the accurate and timely update to the enrollment statuses in NSLDS. No review was completed to ensure the upload was completed in NSLDS. Cause for Effective Date Reporting - Hagerstown Community College utilizes the National Student Clearinghouse (NSC) as a third-party provider in order to submit student information to the NSLDS. Student effective date corrections were uploaded to NSC correctly; however, monitoring of the upload through success was inconsistent, resulting in error reports preventing the accurate update of the status effective date NSLDS. No review was completed to ensure the upload was completed in NSLDS. The following actions have been implemented to resolve the deficiencies: The Director of Financial Aid has reached out to NSC to determine the errors in the file transmissions. NSC responded back with the issues that need to be research by HCC's Student Financial Aid Office and Registrar's office. Both offices will collaborate to identify the error and develop procedures to minimize the error from happening again. HCC plans to review the reporting procedures for withdrawn and graduating students. NSC sent HCC a detailed explanation of what needs to be reviewed to make sure the correct information is transmitted. Name(s) of the contact person(s) responsible for corrective action: Dr. Charles M. Scheetz, Director of Financial Aid and W. Christopher Baer, Registrar Planned completion date for corrective action plan: Summer 2024

About Special Tests and Provisions →

FY 2022-06-30

$21,808,914 federal awards expended

FAC accepted this audit on January 5, 2023 — management decision was due July 5, 2023.

2022-002
Cost Allowability
SIGNIFICANT DEFICIENCYQUESTIONED COSTSOTHER MATTERS

The College used HEERF grant funds to pay 3 executives a special payment for working in person through the pandemic.Context:As part of the review of HEERF grant funds paid to employees, CLA identified 3 executives that received a special payment.Cause:The College did not have controls in place to ensure payments made to senior administrator or executives were not funded with grants funds. Management was not aware of the specific requirement for senior administrator or executive compensation.Effect:The College made payments to executives that were not eligible to receive grant funds.Repeat Finding: NoQuestioned Costs:$23,016Recommendation:We recommend the College review current procedures to ensure all grant regulations are being followed prior to payments.Views of Responsible Officials:Management agrees with the finding.

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

Reference Number: 2022-002Federal Agency: U.S. Department of EducationFederal Program: Education Stabilization FundAssistance Listing Number: 84.425F, 84.425E, 84.425MAward Number and Period: P425M200011, May 5, 2020 ? June 30, 2023; P425F200021,May 4, 2020 ? June 30, 2023; P425E200504, April 22, 2020 ?May 11, 2022Compliance Requirement: Allowable Costs/Cost PrinciplesType of Finding: Significant Deficiency in Internal Controls over Compliance, Other MattersCriteria or specific requirement:Per HEERF III, FAQ Question 22 (Issued May 11, 2021), Higher Education Emergency Relief Funds (HEERF) grant funds must not be used for senior administrator or executive salaries, benefits, bonuses, contracts, incentives, stock buybacks, shareholder dividends, capital distributions, and stock options, or any other cash or other benefit for a senior administrator or executive.Condition:The College used HEERF grant funds to pay 3 executives a special payment for working in person through the pandemic.Context:As part of the review of HEERF grant funds paid to employees, CLA identified 3 executives that received a special payment.Cause:The College did not have controls in place to ensure payments made to senior administrator or executives were not funded with grants funds. Management was not aware of the specific requirement for senior administrator or executive compensation.Effect:The College made payments to executives that were not eligible to receive grant funds.Repeat Finding: NoQuestioned Costs:$23,016Recommendation:We recommend the College review current procedures to ensure all grant regulations are being followed prior to payments.Views of Responsible Officials:Management agrees with the finding.

Corrective Action Plan

2022-002 Education Stabilization Fund ? Assistance Listing No. 84.425FCondition: The College used HEERF grant funds to pay 3 executives a special payment for working in person through the pandemic.Recommendation: We recommend that the College review current procedures to ensure all grant regulations are being followed prior to payments.Explanation of disagreement with audit finding: There is no disagreement with the audit finding.Action taken in response to finding: In fiscal year 2023, the college will repurpose the $23,016 to other allowable costs under the grant.Name(s) of the contact person(s) responsible for corrective action: Dr. Heike Soeffker-Culicerto, Vice President of Administration and Finance, 240-500-2235Planned completion date for corrective action plan: March 31, 2023

About Allowable Costs / Cost Principles →
2022-003
Reporting
SIGNIFICANT DEFICIENCYOTHER MATTERS

The College was unable to provide supporting documentation that agreed to the quarterly and annual reports submitted for the grant.Context:As part of the testing of the reporting requirement, CLA identified 2 errors in the quarterly reports out of the 4 tested, and an error in the annual report.Cause:The College did not have appropriate controls to ensure documentation for the quarterly and annual reporting was properly maintained.Effect:The College annual reporting may not be accurate and supported.Repeat Finding: NoQuestioned Costs:NoneRecommendation:We recommend the College review current procedures to ensure documentation is maintained to support the amounts submitted on quarterly and annual reports.Views of Responsible Officials:Management agrees with the finding.

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

Reference Number: 2022-003Federal Agency: U.S. Department of EducationFederal Program: Education Stabilization FundAssistance Listing Number: 84.425FAward Number and Period: P425F200021; May 4, 2020 ? June 30, 2023Compliance Requirement: ReportingType of Finding: Significant Deficiency in Internal Controls over Compliance, Other MattersCriteria or specific requirement:2 CFR, Part 200, Section 200.328 requires that unless otherwise approved by OMB, the Federal awarding agency must solicit only the OMB-approved governmentwide data elements for collection of financial information (at time of publication the Federal Financial Report or such future, OMB-approved, governmentwide data elements available from the OMB-designated standards lead. This information must be collected with the frequency required by the terms and conditions of the Federal award, but no less frequently than annually nor more frequently than quarterly except in unusual circumstances, for example where more frequent reporting is necessary for the effective monitoring of the Federal award or could significantly affect program outcomes, and preferably in coordination with performance reporting. The Federal awarding agency must use OMB-approved common information collections, as applicable, when providing financial and performance reporting information.Condition:The College was unable to provide supporting documentation that agreed to the quarterly and annual reports submitted for the grant.Context:As part of the testing of the reporting requirement, CLA identified 2 errors in the quarterly reports out of the 4 tested, and an error in the annual report.Cause:The College did not have appropriate controls to ensure documentation for the quarterly and annual reporting was properly maintained.Effect:The College annual reporting may not be accurate and supported.Repeat Finding: NoQuestioned Costs:NoneRecommendation:We recommend the College review current procedures to ensure documentation is maintained to support the amounts submitted on quarterly and annual reports.Views of Responsible Officials:Management agrees with the finding.

Corrective Action Plan

2022-003 Education Stabilization Fund ? Assistance Listing No. 84.425FCondition: The College was unable to provide supporting documentation that agreed to the quarterly and annual reports submitted for the grant.Recommendation: We recommend the College review current procedures to ensure documentation is maintained to support the amounts submitted on quarterly and annual reports.Explanation of disagreement with audit finding: There is no disagreement with the audit finding.Action taken in response to finding: Management has reviewed their current procedures and has included additional controls to ensure the supporting documents are maintain with a copy of the submitted quarterly and annual reports.Name(s) of the contact person(s) responsible for corrective action: Dr. Heike Soeffker-Culicerto, Vice President of Administration and Finance, 240-500-2235Planned completion date for corrective action plan: March 31, 2023

About Reporting →

FY 2021-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$16,336,465 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on March 21, 2022 — management decision was due September 21, 2022.

FY 2020-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$13,308,658 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on June 20, 2021 — management decision was due December 20, 2021.

FY 2019-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$13,436,095 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on March 15, 2020 — management decision was due September 15, 2020.

FY 2018-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$14,348,890 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on December 12, 2018 — management decision was due June 12, 2019.

FY 2017-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$13,723,591 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on January 15, 2018 — management decision was due July 15, 2018.

FY 2016-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$13,703,144 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on November 15, 2016 — management decision was due May 15, 2017.

Data source: This information comes from the Federal Audit Clearinghouse, the official repository of Single Audit data. All data is public domain. Verify this organization's audit history at fac.gov.

Browse other Single Audit organizations in Maryland

Are you this organization?

Track your findings and corrective action plans across audit cycles.

Start tracking findings →

Do you fund this organization?

Monitor subrecipient audit findings and filing records.

Start monitoring →

Product

Resources

Legal

Single Audit Intelligence is an independent tool powered by Federal Audit Clearinghouse data. Not affiliated with GSA, OMB, or any federal agency.

© 2026 Single Audit Intelligence. All data is public domain.