← Back to home

Missouri State UniversityHigher Education

EIN: 446000308

UEI: CL7KJX2VFHS9

Audit also covers EIN: 431641443 · unlinked EINs have no separate FAC filing

Audited by: Forvis Mazars LLP

Cognizant agency: 84 [Department of Education]

View federal awards & risk assessment →

Data as of September 7, 2026

Missouri State University10 audit years1 findings
10
Audit Years
1
Total Findings
0
Repeat Findings
$178.4M
Federal Awards Expended (FY 2025)

FY 2025-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$178,421,906 federal awards expended

Management decision deadline — for entities that funded this organization

The FAC accepted this audit on January 30, 2026. Under 2 CFR 200.521(d), a pass-through entity that provided federal funds to this organization for this audit period must issue a management decision on these findings by July 30, 2026 (43 days ago).

What is a management decision? →
Funder? Track this deadline →
2025-001
Special Tests & Provisions
SIGNIFICANT DEFICIENCYOTHER MATTERS

Student Financial Assistance Cluster, 84.379 Teacher Education Assistance for College and Higher Education Grants, 84.007 Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grants, 84.033 Federal Work-Study Program, 84.063 Federal Pell Grants, 84.268 Federal Direct Student Loans, U.S. Department of Education Program Year 2024-2025 Criteria or Specific Requirement - Special Tests: Enrollment Reporting 34 CFR 690.83(b)(2) and 34 CFR 685.309 Cause - The University did not appropriately report changes in enrollment status to NSLDS. Effect or Potential Effect - NSLDS was not notified of student enrollment status changes for Direct Loan and Pell Grant recipients in a timely or accurate manner. Condition - Enrollment changes were not reported to the National Student Loan Data System (NSLDS) on a timely and accurate basis. Questioned Costs - None Context - Out of a population of 19,276 student enrollment status changes requiring reporting to NSLDS, a sample of 25 student enrollment status changes were selected for testing. Our sample was not, and was not intended to be, statistically valid. For three student status changes selected, the status change was not timely reported to NSLDS. For one student status change selected, the student’s program length reported to NSLDS did not agree to the University course catalog. Identification as a Repeat Finding - N/A Recommendation - The University should review and update controls in place to ensure accurate and timely enrollment reporting to NSLDS

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

Student Financial Assistance Cluster, 84.379 Teacher Education Assistance for College and Higher Education Grants, 84.007 Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grants, 84.033 Federal Work-Study Program, 84.063 Federal Pell Grants, 84.268 Federal Direct Student Loans, U.S. Department of Education Program Year 2024-2025 Criteria or Specific Requirement - Special Tests: Enrollment Reporting 34 CFR 690.83(b)(2) and 34 CFR 685.309 Cause - The University did not appropriately report changes in enrollment status to NSLDS. Effect or Potential Effect - NSLDS was not notified of student enrollment status changes for Direct Loan and Pell Grant recipients in a timely or accurate manner. Condition - Enrollment changes were not reported to the National Student Loan Data System (NSLDS) on a timely and accurate basis. Questioned Costs - None Context - Out of a population of 19,276 student enrollment status changes requiring reporting to NSLDS, a sample of 25 student enrollment status changes were selected for testing. Our sample was not, and was not intended to be, statistically valid. For three student status changes selected, the status change was not timely reported to NSLDS. For one student status change selected, the student’s program length reported to NSLDS did not agree to the University course catalog. Identification as a Repeat Finding - N/A Recommendation - The University should review and update controls in place to ensure accurate and timely enrollment reporting to NSLDS

Corrective Action Plan

Views of Responsible Officials and Planned Corrective Actions -The University’s Office of Student Financial Aid agrees with the recommendation and will enact the following procedure changes: 1. Formal Interdepartmental Oversight • Establish a documented coordination process between the Office of the Registrar (OOR) and the Office of Student Financial Aid (OSFA) to jointly oversee enrollment reporting for Title IV purposes. • Define clear roles and responsibilities for monitoring, review, and escalation of enrollment reporting issues. 2. Transmission Monitoring and Reconciliation • Implement a recurring reconciliation process to verify that enrollment status changes submitted to NSC are successfully transmitted to NSLDS. a. OSFA designee (Associate Director) will review sample populations each reporting cycle to ensure data transfer to NSLDS. • Develop exception process to resolve delayed, rejected, or missing enrollment updates and ensure timely resolution. a. OSFA designee will coordinate with OOR designee (Associate Registrar) to alert of potential issues and work to resolve. 3. Issue Escalation and Resolution Protocol • Establish a formal escalation process with NSC for unresolved transmission issues, including defined timelines for follow-up and resolution. • Maintain documentation of identified issues, corrective actions taken, and final resolution. 4. Ongoing Monitoring • Incorporate enrollment reporting compliance into routine Title IV compliance monitoring activities. • Conduct periodic internal reviews to ensure controls remain effective and reporting continues to meet federal timeliness and accuracy requirements. Implementation of the above listed procedure changes will take place immediately with a completion date no later than June 30, 2026. Responsible Offices and University Officials • Office of the Registrar a. Registrar b. Associate Registrar • Office of Student Financial Aid a. Director of Financial Aid b. Associate Director for Financial Aid Compliance

About Special Tests and Provisions →

FY 2024-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$163,778,226 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on January 2, 2025 — management decision was due July 2, 2025.

FY 2023-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$130,293,730 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on December 29, 2023 — management decision was due June 29, 2024.

FY 2022-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$141,400,525 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on December 19, 2022 — management decision was due June 19, 2023.

FY 2021-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$167,906,152 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on December 14, 2021 — management decision was due June 14, 2022.

FY 2020-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$143,750,209 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on May 18, 2021 — management decision was due November 18, 2021.

FY 2019-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$136,313,641 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on November 19, 2019 — management decision was due May 19, 2020.

FY 2018-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$143,798,290 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on December 17, 2018 — management decision was due June 17, 2019.

FY 2017-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$141,364,322 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on December 13, 2017 — management decision was due June 13, 2018.

FY 2016-06-30

$143,383,748 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on December 1, 2016 — management decision was due June 1, 2017.

Browse other Single Audit organizations in Missouri

Start tracking findings →

Do you fund this organization?

Add it to a monitored group and get alerted when a new audit, finding, repeat finding, or management-decision deadline shows up — instead of checking back.

Checking several at once? Portfolio view →

Product

Resources

Legal

Single Audit Intelligence is an independent tool powered by Federal Audit Clearinghouse data. Not affiliated with GSA, OMB, or any federal agency.

© 2026 Single Audit Intelligence. All data is public domain.