← Back to home

Metropolitan Community CollegeHigher Education

EIN: 430813703

UEI: TSPWUFKLTNF8

Audited by: Forvis Mazars LLP

Oversight agency: 84 [Department of Education]

View federal awards & risk assessment →

Data as of September 2, 2026

Metropolitan Community College10 audit years5 findings2 repeat
10
Audit Years
5
Total Findings
2
Repeat Findings
$39.7M
Federal Awards Expended (FY 2025)

FY 2025-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$39,719,468 federal awards expended

Management decision deadline — for entities that funded this organization

The FAC accepted this audit on January 27, 2026. Under 2 CFR 200.521(d), a pass-through entity that provided federal funds to this organization for this audit period must issue a management decision on these findings by July 27, 2026 (39 days ago).

What is a management decision? →
2025-001
Special Tests & Provisions
SIGNIFICANT DEFICIENCYREPEAT OF 2024-001OTHER MATTERS

Student Financial Assistance Cluster U.S. Department of Education 84.268 - Federal Direct Student Loans - Award Year 2024/2025 84.063 - Federal Pell Grant Program - Award Year 2024/2025 Criteria or Specific Requirement – Special Tests & Provisions: Enrollment Reporting Pell 34 CFR Section 690.83(b)(2); FDL, 34 CFR Section 685.309. Federal regulations state that enrollment information must be reported to the NSLDS website within 30 days of whenever attendance changes for students, unless a complete roster will be submitted within 60 days. These changes include reductions or increases in attendance levels, withdrawals, graduations or approved leave of absence. Institutions are responsible for timely reporting, whether they report directly or via a third-party servicer. Condition – Enrollment information was not submitted within the required timeframe by the College. Cause – Lack of oversight by management. Effect or potential effect – Notification of student changes was not reported in a timely manner. Questioned Costs – None noted. Context – Out of a population of 333 student enrollment status changes, a sample of 40 student status changes was selected for testing. Out of the 40 selected for testing, 13 students that had status changes were not communicated to NSLDS on a timely basis. The sample was not, and was not intended to be, a statistically valid sample. Identification as a Repeat Finding – Yes, see 2024-001 Recommendation – The College should improve monitoring policies and procedures to ensure student status changes are reported timely to NSLDS. Views of Responsible Officials and Planned Corrective Actions – Management agrees with the stated finding and has implemented a corrective action plan.

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

Student Financial Assistance Cluster U.S. Department of Education 84.268 - Federal Direct Student Loans - Award Year 2024/2025 84.063 - Federal Pell Grant Program - Award Year 2024/2025 Criteria or Specific Requirement – Special Tests & Provisions: Enrollment Reporting Pell 34 CFR Section 690.83(b)(2); FDL, 34 CFR Section 685.309. Federal regulations state that enrollment information must be reported to the NSLDS website within 30 days of whenever attendance changes for students, unless a complete roster will be submitted within 60 days. These changes include reductions or increases in attendance levels, withdrawals, graduations or approved leave of absence. Institutions are responsible for timely reporting, whether they report directly or via a third-party servicer. Condition – Enrollment information was not submitted within the required timeframe by the College. Cause – Lack of oversight by management. Effect or potential effect – Notification of student changes was not reported in a timely manner. Questioned Costs – None noted. Context – Out of a population of 333 student enrollment status changes, a sample of 40 student status changes was selected for testing. Out of the 40 selected for testing, 13 students that had status changes were not communicated to NSLDS on a timely basis. The sample was not, and was not intended to be, a statistically valid sample. Identification as a Repeat Finding – Yes, see 2024-001 Recommendation – The College should improve monitoring policies and procedures to ensure student status changes are reported timely to NSLDS. Views of Responsible Officials and Planned Corrective Actions – Management agrees with the stated finding and has implemented a corrective action plan.

Corrective Action Plan

Enrollment information was not submitted within the required timeframe by the College. Personnel Responsible for Corrective Action: Dena Norris, Associate Vice Chancellor of Student Financial Services, and Tara Dettmer, Director of Financial Aid – Fiscal Operations Anticipated Completion Date: Corrective action plan will be implemented by June 30, 2026. Views of Responsible Officials and Planned Corrective Action Plan: Despite best efforts by the College to correct the errors in enrollment reporting, the College experienced turnover among staff, and as a result, was unable to shift staffing resources or quickly hire replacement staff to correct the finding. Metropolitan Community College (MCC) is in the process of hiring additional staff dedicated to enrollment and compliance reporting. MCC will make a random selection of 10-15 students each month to verify data was correctly transmitted to National Student Clearinghouse (NSC). A secondary check of these students will be done to ensure the data is also transmitted to the National Student Loan Data System (NSLDS). MCC will also ensure error reports and other data issues are resolved in a timely manner to ensure reporting of students is completed within the regulatory timeframe. Due to the implementation of a new Enterprise Resource Planning system MCC is also validating and correcting any submission errors.

Prior Finding References

2024-001

About Special Tests and Provisions →

FY 2024-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$32,950,330 federal awards expended

FAC accepted this audit on December 17, 2024 — management decision was due June 17, 2025.

2024-001
Special Tests & Provisions
SIGNIFICANT DEFICIENCYOTHER MATTERS

Student Financial Assistance Cluster U.S. Department of Education 84.268 - Federal Direct Student Loans - Award Year 2023/2024 84.063 - Federal Pell Grant Program - Award Year 2023/2024 Criteria or Specific Requirement – Special Tests & Provisions: Enrollment Reporting Pell 34 CFR Section 690.83(b)(2); FDL, 34 CFR Section 685.309. Federal regulations state that enrollment information must be reported to the NSLDS website within 30 days of whenever attendance changes for students, unless a complete roster will be submitted within 60 days. These changes include reductions or increases in attendance levels, withdrawals, graduations or approved leave of absence. Institutions are responsible for timely reporting, whether they report directly or via a third-party servicer. Condition – Enrollment information was not submitted within the required timeframe by the College. Questioned Costs – None noted. Context – Out of a population of 398 student enrollment status changes, a sample of 40 student status changes was selected for testing. Out of the 40 selected for testing, two students that had status changes were not communicated to NSLDS on a timely basis. The sample was not, and was not intended to be, a statistically valid sample. Effect – Notification of student changes was not reported in a timely manner. Cause – Oversight by management. Identification as a Repeat Finding – No Recommendation – The College should improve monitoring policies and procedures to ensure student status changes are reported timely to NSLDS. Views of Responsible Officials and Planned Corrective Actions – Management agrees with the stated finding and has implemented a corrective action plan.

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

Student Financial Assistance Cluster U.S. Department of Education 84.268 - Federal Direct Student Loans - Award Year 2023/2024 84.063 - Federal Pell Grant Program - Award Year 2023/2024 Criteria or Specific Requirement – Special Tests & Provisions: Enrollment Reporting Pell 34 CFR Section 690.83(b)(2); FDL, 34 CFR Section 685.309. Federal regulations state that enrollment information must be reported to the NSLDS website within 30 days of whenever attendance changes for students, unless a complete roster will be submitted within 60 days. These changes include reductions or increases in attendance levels, withdrawals, graduations or approved leave of absence. Institutions are responsible for timely reporting, whether they report directly or via a third-party servicer. Condition – Enrollment information was not submitted within the required timeframe by the College. Questioned Costs – None noted. Context – Out of a population of 398 student enrollment status changes, a sample of 40 student status changes was selected for testing. Out of the 40 selected for testing, two students that had status changes were not communicated to NSLDS on a timely basis. The sample was not, and was not intended to be, a statistically valid sample. Effect – Notification of student changes was not reported in a timely manner. Cause – Oversight by management. Identification as a Repeat Finding – No Recommendation – The College should improve monitoring policies and procedures to ensure student status changes are reported timely to NSLDS. Views of Responsible Officials and Planned Corrective Actions – Management agrees with the stated finding and has implemented a corrective action plan.

Corrective Action Plan

Corrective Action Plan Enrollment information was not submitted within the required timeframe by the University. Personnel Responsible for Corrective Action: Dena Norris, Associate Vice Chancellor of Student Financial Services, and Tara Dettmer, Director of Financial Aid – Fiscal Operations Anticipated Completion Date: Corrective action plan will be implemented by June 30, 2025. Views of Responsible Officials and Planned Corrective Action Plan: Metropolitan Community College (MCC) will begin a new monitoring process for enrollment reporting to ensure compliance and timely reporting of all students. Enrollment status changes are reported every month to the National Student Clearinghouse (NSC), MCC will make a random selection of 10-15 students each month to verify data was correctly transmitted to NSC. A secondary check of these students will be done to ensure the data is also transmitted to the National Student Loan Data System (NSLDS). MCC will also ensure error reports and other data issues are resolved in a timely manner to ensure reporting of students is completed within the regulatory timeframe.

About Special Tests and Provisions →

FY 2023-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$33,297,677 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on December 15, 2023 — management decision was due June 15, 2024.

FY 2022-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$53,555,851 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on December 11, 2022 — management decision was due June 11, 2023.

FY 2021-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$60,365,084 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on December 2, 2021 — management decision was due June 2, 2022.

FY 2020-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$34,015,072 federal awards expended

FAC accepted this audit on March 3, 2021 — management decision was due September 3, 2021.

2020-001
Reporting
OTHER MATTERS

COVID-19 Education Stabalization Fund U.S. Department of Education COVID-19 - Education Stabalization Fund - Student Aid (CFDA No. 84.425E) Criteria or Specific Requirement - Reporting, Section 18004(a)(1) Condition - The College did not post the required documentation on its website until June 11, 2020. This is 6 days late, when considering the May 6, 2020 date of the EA. Questioned Costs - None Context - Section 18004(e) of the CARES Act requires each institution that received a 18004 (a)(1) Student Aid Portion award to submit a report to the Secretary of the U.S. Department of Education (the Department) ?at such time and in such manner as the Secretary may require.? This was later clarified through an Electronic Announcement (EA) from the Department on May 6, 2020, to require the IHEs publicly post specified information on their website no later than 30 days from the date of the institution?s Certification and Agreement with the Department. The OMB Compliance Supplement Addendum implies this requirement is effective beginning May 6, 2020. Effect - The College failed to comply with the reporting requirements of the HEERF program. Cause - At the time that the information was required to be posted, there was existing confusion as to when the various reports were due, including this initial report. Confusion existed at that time as to when the 30 days would begin and how quickly the initial information should be posted. Furthermore, the College did not have strong controls in place that would trigger the posting of the information within the required timing. These factors resulted in the College temporarily overlooking this requirement and posting the information past the required deadline. Identification as a Repeat Finding - N/A Recommendation - The College should strengthen the internal controls surrounding the HEERF reporting by establishing policies and procedures to ensure that reporting information is submitted timely. Views of Responsible Officials and Planned Corrective Actions - The College has established a process of running the report on a monthly basis to ensure that reporting information is compiled and ready for submission by the required quarterly reporting timeframes.

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

COVID-19 Education Stabalization Fund U.S. Department of Education COVID-19 - Education Stabalization Fund - Student Aid (CFDA No. 84.425E) Criteria or Specific Requirement - Reporting, Section 18004(a)(1) Condition - The College did not post the required documentation on its website until June 11, 2020. This is 6 days late, when considering the May 6, 2020 date of the EA. Questioned Costs - None Context - Section 18004(e) of the CARES Act requires each institution that received a 18004 (a)(1) Student Aid Portion award to submit a report to the Secretary of the U.S. Department of Education (the Department) ?at such time and in such manner as the Secretary may require.? This was later clarified through an Electronic Announcement (EA) from the Department on May 6, 2020, to require the IHEs publicly post specified information on their website no later than 30 days from the date of the institution?s Certification and Agreement with the Department. The OMB Compliance Supplement Addendum implies this requirement is effective beginning May 6, 2020. Effect - The College failed to comply with the reporting requirements of the HEERF program. Cause - At the time that the information was required to be posted, there was existing confusion as to when the various reports were due, including this initial report. Confusion existed at that time as to when the 30 days would begin and how quickly the initial information should be posted. Furthermore, the College did not have strong controls in place that would trigger the posting of the information within the required timing. These factors resulted in the College temporarily overlooking this requirement and posting the information past the required deadline. Identification as a Repeat Finding - N/A Recommendation - The College should strengthen the internal controls surrounding the HEERF reporting by establishing policies and procedures to ensure that reporting information is submitted timely. Views of Responsible Officials and Planned Corrective Actions - The College has established a process of running the report on a monthly basis to ensure that reporting information is compiled and ready for submission by the required quarterly reporting timeframes.

Corrective Action Plan

The College failed to comply with the reporting requirements of the HEERF program. Personnel Responsible for Corrective Action: Patricia Amick, Associate Vice Chancellor for Financial Services & Administrative Systems, and Dena Norris, Associate Vice Chancellor for Student Financial Services Anticipated Completion Date: The corrective action was implemented immediately. Corrective Action Plan: The College has established a process of running the report on a monthly basis to ensure that reporting information is compiled and ready for submission by the required quarterly reporting timeframes.

About Reporting →

FY 2019-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$34,514,254 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on November 19, 2019 — management decision was due May 19, 2020.

FY 2018-06-30

$42,441,023 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on November 18, 2018 — management decision was due May 18, 2019.

FY 2017-06-30

$44,565,063 federal awards expended

FAC accepted this audit on November 16, 2017 — management decision was due May 16, 2018.

2017-001
Special Tests & Provisions
SIGNIFICANT DEFICIENCYREPEAT OF 2016-001OTHER MATTERS

GSA_MIGRATION

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

GSA_MIGRATION

Corrective Action Plan

GSA_MIGRATION

Prior Finding References

2016-001

About Special Tests and Provisions →

FY 2016-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$45,519,926 federal awards expended

FAC accepted this audit on November 29, 2016 — management decision was due May 29, 2017.

2016-001
Special Tests & Provisions
MATERIAL WEAKNESSMODIFIED OPINION

GSA_MIGRATION

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

GSA_MIGRATION

Corrective Action Plan

GSA_MIGRATION

About Special Tests and Provisions →

Data source: This information comes from the Federal Audit Clearinghouse, the official repository of Single Audit data. All data is public domain. Verify this organization's audit history at fac.gov.

Browse other Single Audit organizations in Missouri

Are you this organization?

Track your findings and corrective action plans across audit cycles.

Start tracking findings →

Do you fund this organization?

Add it to a monitored group and get alerted when a new audit, finding, repeat finding, or management-decision deadline shows up — instead of checking back.

Checking several at once? Portfolio view →

Product

Resources

Legal

Single Audit Intelligence is an independent tool powered by Federal Audit Clearinghouse data. Not affiliated with GSA, OMB, or any federal agency.

© 2026 Single Audit Intelligence. All data is public domain.