← Back to home

Westminster CollegeHigher Education

EIN: 430652617

UEI: CPKMDKASYLJ3

Audited by: Williams-Keepers LLC

Oversight agency: 84 [Department of Education]

View federal awards & risk assessment →

Data as of August 31, 2026

Westminster College10 audit years4 findings
10
Audit Years
4
Total Findings
0
Repeat Findings
$7.6M
Federal Awards Expended (FY 2025)

FY 2025-06-30

MATERIAL NONCOMPLIANCE DISCLOSEDLOW-RISK AUDITEE$7,582,616 federal awards expended

Management decision deadline — for entities that funded this organization

The FAC accepted this audit on March 17, 2026. Under 2 CFR 200.521(d), a pass-through entity that provided federal funds to this organization for this audit period must issue a management decision on these findings by September 17, 2026 (16 days from today).

What is a management decision? →
2025-001
Cost Allowability
MATERIAL WEAKNESSMODIFIED OPINIONQUESTIONED COSTS

During our testing of expenditures applied to the Economic Adjustment Assistance Program, we identified that the College charged federal funds to a capital project that had previously been paid for with bond proceeds. The bond proceeds were restricted for use on the same project for which federal funds were awarded. Criteria: In accordance with 2 CFR 200.403(a), costs charged to a federal award must be necessary, reasonable, and allocable to the federal program. Additionally, 2 CFR 200.404(a) states that a cost is reasonable if the cost is generally recognized as ordinary and necessary for the recipient’s operation or the proper and efficient performance of the Federal award. Further, 2 CFR 200.405(a) notes that a cost is allocable to a Federal award or other cost objective if the cost is assignable to that Federal award or other cost objective in accordance with the relative benefits received. In addition, the cost must be incurred specifically for the Federal award. 2 CFR 200.406(a) states that applicable credits refer to transactions that offset or reduce direct costs allocable to a federal award. To the extent that such credits are received by the recipient relate to allowable costs, they must be credited to the federal award either as a cost reduction or cash refund, as appropriate. Effect of Condition: Federal funds were used to reimburse costs that had already been paid with bond proceeds, resulting in unallowable costs being charged to the federal program. Cause of Condition: The College did not have adequate controls in place to ensure that costs charged to the federal program had not already been funded by another source. Questioned Costs: The questioned costs total approximately $1,100,000, representing the federal funds used to pay for the capital project already funded by bond proceeds. Recommendation: We recommend that the College implement and enforce procedures to ensure that all costs charged to federal programs comply with the Cost Principles stated in Subpart E of 2 CFR 200.400.

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

Finding 2025-001: Questioned Costs – Allowable Costs/Costs Principles (material weakness) Statement of Condition: During our testing of expenditures applied to the Economic Adjustment Assistance Program, we identified that the College charged federal funds to a capital project that had previously been paid for with bond proceeds. The bond proceeds were restricted for use on the same project for which federal funds were awarded. Criteria: In accordance with 2 CFR 200.403(a), costs charged to a federal award must be necessary, reasonable, and allocable to the federal program. Additionally, 2 CFR 200.404(a) states that a cost is reasonable if the cost is generally recognized as ordinary and necessary for the recipient’s operation or the proper and efficient performance of the Federal award. Further, 2 CFR 200.405(a) notes that a cost is allocable to a Federal award or other cost objective if the cost is assignable to that Federal award or other cost objective in accordance with the relative benefits received. In addition, the cost must be incurred specifically for the Federal award. 2 CFR 200.406(a) states that applicable credits refer to transactions that offset or reduce direct costs allocable to a federal award. To the extent that such credits are received by the recipient relate to allowable costs, they must be credited to the federal award either as a cost reduction or cash refund, as appropriate. Effect of Condition: Federal funds were used to reimburse costs that had already been paid with bond proceeds, resulting in unallowable costs being charged to the federal program. Cause of Condition: The College did not have adequate controls in place to ensure that costs charged to the federal program had not already been funded by another source. Questioned Costs: The questioned costs total approximately $1,100,000, representing the federal funds used to pay for the capital project already funded by bond proceeds. Recommendation: We recommend that the College implement and enforce procedures to ensure that all costs charged to federal programs comply with the Cost Principles stated in Subpart E of 2 CFR 200.400.

Corrective Action Plan

Westminster College Corrective Action Plan (CAP) Federal Program: Economic Adjustment Assistance Program, Assistance Listing Number 11.307 Finding 2025-001: Questioned Costs – Allowable Costs/Costs Principles (material weakness) Name of Contact Person: Gerald J. Ganz, Jr., Vice President, CFO Specific Corrective Action: To prevent recurrence, the College is implementing the following measures: 1. Enhanced Funding Source Review Procedures: The College will develop and enforce a standardized review process requiring staff to verify and document the original funding source for any expenditure prior to charging it to a federal award. This process will include mandatory cross-checking between project accounting records, bond expenditures logs, and grant reimbursement requests. 2. Strengthened Internal Controls Over Capital Project Accounting: The College will implement additional controls within the accounting system to ensure expenditures tied to capital projects are flagged and reviews for potential dual funding before being charged to any federal program. 3. Training and Guidance for Staff: All personnel involved in grant management, accounting, and capital project administration will receive updated training on Cost Principles under 2 CFR 200.400-200.406, with emphasis on allocability, reasonableness, and the proper handling of applicable credits. 4. Ongoing Monitoring and Review: Quarterly internal compliance reviews will be conducted to confirm adherence to the new procedures, and corrective measures will be taken immediately if discrepancies are identified. The College is committed to ensuring full compliance with federal regulations and strengthening internal controls to safeguard all funding sources. We appreciate the opportunity to improve our processes and will implement the recommended procedures to ensure the integrity of future federal program expenditures. Anticipated Completion Date: June 30, 2026

About Allowable Costs / Cost Principles →
2025-002
Reporting
SIGNIFICANT DEFICIENCY

From our testing sample of ten (10) students, we found five (5) instances where changes in student status due to withdrawal were not reported timely. Criteria: In accordance with 34 CFR 668.22, Treatment of Title IV Funds When a Student Withdrawals, any changes to a student’s enrollment status are required to be reported within thirty (30) days, or within sixty (60) days if a roster file is expected within that time frame. Effect of Condition: We found five (5) instances where changes in student status due to withdrawal were not reported timely. Cause of Condition: The College experienced turnover in the Registrar’s Office during the year, which is the responsible party for initiating this reporting. Recommendation: We recommend the College develop policies and procedures to address this issue.

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

Finding 2025-002: Policies and Procedures Related to Withdrawals (significant deficiency) Statement of Condition: From our testing sample of ten (10) students, we found five (5) instances where changes in student status due to withdrawal were not reported timely. Criteria: In accordance with 34 CFR 668.22, Treatment of Title IV Funds When a Student Withdrawals, any changes to a student’s enrollment status are required to be reported within thirty (30) days, or within sixty (60) days if a roster file is expected within that time frame. Effect of Condition: We found five (5) instances where changes in student status due to withdrawal were not reported timely. Cause of Condition: The College experienced turnover in the Registrar’s Office during the year, which is the responsible party for initiating this reporting. Recommendation: We recommend the College develop policies and procedures to address this issue.

Corrective Action Plan

Westminster College Corrective Action Plan (CAP) Federal Program: SFA Cluster, Finding 2025-002: Policies and Procedures Related to Withdrawals (significant deficiency) In accordance with 34 CFR 668-22 Treatment of Title IV Funds When a Student Withdrawals, Westminster College has implemented the following Corrective Action Plan: Name of Contact Person: Dr. Annette Roberts, Assistant Dean of Institutional Research and Registrar Specific Corrective Action: Management has developed written policies and procedures to document the steps put in place to ensure that changes in student status are reported in a timely manner. A critical excerpt from that language is included below: After receiving post-notification from EIPC, the Registrar contacts faculty to confirm the student’s last date of attendance. Using this information, the Registrar determines the withdrawal date, exit date, and records these in Jenzabar. The Registrar then notifies Financial Aid, the Business Office, Institutional Research, Residence Life, Advancement, and IT/Help Desk. Institutional Research subsequently pulls the data from Jenzabar and cross references it with the notifications from these offices, once verified. Institutional Research submits the finalized data to the National Student Clearinghouse. Anticipated Completion Date: The Corrective Action Plan

About Reporting →

FY 2024-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$5,533,905 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on March 17, 2025 — management decision was due September 17, 2025.

FY 2023-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$6,151,791 federal awards expended

FAC accepted this audit on March 11, 2024 — management decision was due September 11, 2024.

2023-001
Procurement & Suspension/Debarment
SIGNIFICANT DEFICIENCYOTHER MATTERS

From our testing sample, we noted one instance where the College did not follow its procurement policy. Criteria: Under Title 2, U.S Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) Part 200, Uniform Administrative Requirements, Cost Principles, and Audit Requirements for Federal Awards (Uniform Guidance), 2 CFR Parts 200.317 through 200.327, the non-federal entity must have and use documented procurement procedures for the acquisition of property or services required under a federal award or subaward. Cause of Condition: The College entered into an agreement with a third-party prior to the College’s policy inception date of August 13, 2022. Effect of Condition: The College is not in compliance with the Uniform Guidance. Recommendation: We recommend the College ensures it follows its written procurement policy to comply with the requirements of the Uniform Guidance. Management's Response: Management agrees and has ensured all purchases as of the policy inception date are compliant with the College’s written procurement policy.

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

U.S. Department of Treasury Finding 2023-001: Written Procurement Policy (significant deficiency) Statement of Condition: From our testing sample, we noted one instance where the College did not follow its procurement policy. Criteria: Under Title 2, U.S Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) Part 200, Uniform Administrative Requirements, Cost Principles, and Audit Requirements for Federal Awards (Uniform Guidance), 2 CFR Parts 200.317 through 200.327, the non-federal entity must have and use documented procurement procedures for the acquisition of property or services required under a federal award or subaward. Cause of Condition: The College entered into an agreement with a third-party prior to the College’s policy inception date of August 13, 2022. Effect of Condition: The College is not in compliance with the Uniform Guidance. Recommendation: We recommend the College ensures it follows its written procurement policy to comply with the requirements of the Uniform Guidance. Management's Response: Management agrees and has ensured all purchases as of the policy inception date are compliant with the College’s written procurement policy.

Corrective Action Plan

Finding Reference Number: 2023-001 Description of Finding: Written Procurement Policy (significant deficiency) Statement of Concurrence: Management concurs with the finding and had implemented a written procurement policy that complies with the requirements of the Uniform Guidance. Corrective Action: Management has established a written procurement policy and implemented the documented procurement procedures as of August 13, 2022. Name of Contact Person: Steve Tyrell, Senior Vice President, CFO & COO, 518-366-1533, steve.tyrell@WCMO.edu Projected Completion Date: The College’s corrective action plan is completed and in effect at this time.

About Procurement and Suspension and Debarment →

FY 2022-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$8,141,736 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on March 16, 2023 — management decision was due September 16, 2023.

FY 2021-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$6,943,975 federal awards expended

FAC accepted this audit on March 20, 2022 — management decision was due September 20, 2022.

2021-001
Reporting
SIGNIFICANT DEFICIENCYOTHER MATTERS

Per the 2021 Compliance Supplement, the College is required to publicly post student and institutional reports for HEERF to their website in a timely manner. The College did not publicly post the reports for HEERF to their website in a timely manner. Criteria: The 2021 Compliance Supplement requires that institutions publicly post the required reports to the institution's website by the tenth day following the end of each calendar quarter, with the exception of the due date for Q1 2021, which was extended to June 30, 2021. Effect of Condition: As the College did not publicly post the reports for HEERF to their website in a timely manner, the College was not in compliance with the HEERF reporting requirements. Cause of Condition: The delays were due to a lack of clarity/uncertainty with the HEERF reporting requirements. Recommendation: We recommend that the College develop and implement procedures to ensure the reports are posted in a timely manner. Management's Response: Management agrees and has publicly posted the required reports for HEERF to their website.

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

U.S. Department of Education Finding 2021-001: Higher Education Emergency Relief Fund II (HEERF) Reporting (significant deficiency) Statement of Condition: Per the 2021 Compliance Supplement, the College is required to publicly post student and institutional reports for HEERF to their website in a timely manner. The College did not publicly post the reports for HEERF to their website in a timely manner. Criteria: The 2021 Compliance Supplement requires that institutions publicly post the required reports to the institution's website by the tenth day following the end of each calendar quarter, with the exception of the due date for Q1 2021, which was extended to June 30, 2021. Effect of Condition: As the College did not publicly post the reports for HEERF to their website in a timely manner, the College was not in compliance with the HEERF reporting requirements. Cause of Condition: The delays were due to a lack of clarity/uncertainty with the HEERF reporting requirements. Recommendation: We recommend that the College develop and implement procedures to ensure the reports are posted in a timely manner. Management's Response: Management agrees and has publicly posted the required reports for HEERF to their website.

Corrective Action Plan

Westminster College

About Reporting →

FY 2020-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$6,469,116 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on June 7, 2021 — management decision was due December 7, 2021.

FY 2019-06-30

$5,905,724 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on March 18, 2020 — management decision was due September 18, 2020.

FY 2018-06-30

$5,605,041 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on March 11, 2019 — management decision was due September 11, 2019.

FY 2017-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$6,654,293 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on March 26, 2018 — management decision was due September 26, 2018.

FY 2016-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$7,296,614 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on February 5, 2017 — management decision was due August 5, 2017.

Data source: This information comes from the Federal Audit Clearinghouse, the official repository of Single Audit data. All data is public domain. Verify this organization's audit history at fac.gov.

Browse other Single Audit organizations in Missouri

Are you this organization?

Track your findings and corrective action plans across audit cycles.

Start tracking findings →

Do you fund this organization?

Monitor subrecipient audit findings and filing records.

Start monitoring →

Product

Resources

Legal

Single Audit Intelligence is an independent tool powered by Federal Audit Clearinghouse data. Not affiliated with GSA, OMB, or any federal agency.

© 2026 Single Audit Intelligence. All data is public domain.