← Back to home

Mercy Hospital Iowa City, IANon-Profit

EIN: 420680391

UEI: CB7ANBL9CFK5

Audit also covers EIN: 421241044 · unlinked EINs have no separate FAC filing

Audited by: Deloitte & Touche LLP

Oversight agency: 93 [Department of Health and Human Services]

View federal awards & risk assessment →

Data as of September 2, 2026

Mercy Hospital Iowa City, IA3 audit years2 findings1 repeat
3
Audit Years
2
Total Findings
1
Repeat Findings
$1.4M
Federal Awards Expended (FY 2023)

FY 2023-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$1,435,705 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

Management decision deadline — for entities that funded this organization

The FAC accepted this audit on February 1, 2024. Under 2 CFR 200.521(d), a pass-through entity that provided federal funds to this organization for this audit period must issue a management decision on these findings by August 1, 2024 (763 days ago).

What is a management decision? →

FY 2022-06-30

$10,463,434 federal awards expended

FAC accepted this audit on March 28, 2023 — management decision was due September 28, 2023.

2022-002
Activities Allowed or Unallowed / Reporting
SIGNIFICANT DEFICIENCYREPEAT OF 2021-001QUESTIONED COSTS

During the process of identifying expenses that were incurred to prevent, prepare for, or respond to the coronavirus pandemic, management included certain expense amounts that could not be substantiated as being incurred to prevent, prepare for, or respond to the coronavirus pandemic in the PRF submission. Cause: Management inadvertently included certain expenses as part of the Period 2 PRF Reporting Portal submission that could not be substantiated as being incurred to prevent, prepare for, or respond to the coronavirus pandemic as a result of an insufficient review of reported expenses. Effect: Management included expenses in the PRF Reporting Portal which were not allowable based on the terms and conditions of the PRF award. Questioned costs: Total questions costs amounted to $158,832 and were calculated based off expenses that were reported in the PRF Reporting Portal that could not be substantiated as being incurred to prevent, prepare for, or respond to the coronavirus pandemic. Context: During the audit, management identified costs related to two vendors in the amount of $41,805 and we identified one invoice out of 60 testing samples, of $117,027, that were reported in the PRF Reporting Portal submission and could not be substantiated as being incurred to prevent, prepare for, or respond to the coronavirus pandemic. Repeat finding: Yes Recommendation: We recommend that management continue to monitor and enhance its internal controls over federal award compliance to ensure that allowable costs included in the amount expended as reported in the PRF Reporting Portal are sufficiently reviewed to determine those expenses relate to those incurred to prevent, prepare for, or respond to the coronavirus pandemic. View of Responsible Official and Planned Corrective Action: Management agrees with the finding noted. However, Mercy also incurred and reported sufficient lost revenues in the PRF Reporting Portal that if the noted expenses were not to be reported, Mercy would have satisfactorily incurred eligible expenses and lost revenues in excess of the PRF funds received, including interest earned on such funds. See Corrective Action Plan.

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

Finding No. 2022-002 Allowable Activities and Reporting Significant Deficiency in Internal Controls over Compliance Federal Program: Federal Financial Assistance Listing #93.498 US Department of Health and Human Services COVID-19 Provider Relief Fund Criteria: The terms and conditions of the CARES Act Provider Relief Fund (PRF) require funds received to be used to prevent, prepare for, and respond to coronavirus and that the payment shall reimburse the recipient only for health care related expenses and lost revenues that are attributable to the coronavirus. Condition: During the process of identifying expenses that were incurred to prevent, prepare for, or respond to the coronavirus pandemic, management included certain expense amounts that could not be substantiated as being incurred to prevent, prepare for, or respond to the coronavirus pandemic in the PRF submission. Cause: Management inadvertently included certain expenses as part of the Period 2 PRF Reporting Portal submission that could not be substantiated as being incurred to prevent, prepare for, or respond to the coronavirus pandemic as a result of an insufficient review of reported expenses. Effect: Management included expenses in the PRF Reporting Portal which were not allowable based on the terms and conditions of the PRF award. Questioned costs: Total questions costs amounted to $158,832 and were calculated based off expenses that were reported in the PRF Reporting Portal that could not be substantiated as being incurred to prevent, prepare for, or respond to the coronavirus pandemic. Context: During the audit, management identified costs related to two vendors in the amount of $41,805 and we identified one invoice out of 60 testing samples, of $117,027, that were reported in the PRF Reporting Portal submission and could not be substantiated as being incurred to prevent, prepare for, or respond to the coronavirus pandemic. Repeat finding: Yes Recommendation: We recommend that management continue to monitor and enhance its internal controls over federal award compliance to ensure that allowable costs included in the amount expended as reported in the PRF Reporting Portal are sufficiently reviewed to determine those expenses relate to those incurred to prevent, prepare for, or respond to the coronavirus pandemic. View of Responsible Official and Planned Corrective Action: Management agrees with the finding noted. However, Mercy also incurred and reported sufficient lost revenues in the PRF Reporting Portal that if the noted expenses were not to be reported, Mercy would have satisfactorily incurred eligible expenses and lost revenues in excess of the PRF funds received, including interest earned on such funds. See Corrective Action Plan.

Corrective Action Plan

Finding No. 2022-002: Personnel Responsible for Corrective Action: Stuart Elkin, Vice President of Finance, Mercy Iowa City Anticipated Completion Date: Completed as of September 23, 2022 Corrective Action Plan: As it relates to the PRF Reporting Portal submissions, in addition to the review and approval of the Controller, the Vice President of Finance (Stuart Elkin) will also review and approve the submissions, to ensure all expenses submitted are appropriate and that expenses that do not relate to the prevention, preparation or response to the coronavirus are not included in future reporting. This corrective action plan was implemented as of September 23, 2022, prior to the Period 3 PRF reporting submission.

Prior Finding References

2021-001

About Activities Allowed or Unallowed, Reporting →

FY 2021-06-30

$5,329,368 federal awards expended

FAC accepted this audit on September 27, 2022 — management decision was due March 27, 2023.

2021-001
Activities Allowed or Unallowed / Reporting
SIGNIFICANT DEFICIENCYQUESTIONED COSTS

During the process of identifying expenses that were incurred to prevent, prepare for or respond to the coronavirus pandemic, management included certain expense amounts twice in the PRF submission. Cause: Due to the amount of detailed information that was required to be compiled by management in order to enter data into the PRF Reporting Portal, management inadvertently included certain expenses twice. Effect: Management included amounts in the PRF Reporting Portal which were not eligible based on the terms and conditions of the PRF award. Questioned costs: Total questions costs amounted to $87,548 and were calculated based off amounts that were reported twice in the PRF Reporting Portal. Context: During the audit, it was determined that certain costs were included in duplicate in the PRF Reporting Portal submission. Recommendation: We recommend that management continue to monitor and enhance its internal controls over federal award compliance to ensure that eligible costs included in the amount expended are not double counted within the PRF Reporting Portal. Views of Responsible Official and Planned Correction Action: Management agrees with the finding noted. However, Mercy also incurred and reported sufficient lost revenue in the PRF Reporting Portal that if the noted expenses were not to be reported, Mercy would have satisfactorily incurred eligible expenses and lost revenue in excess of the PRF funds received, including interest earned on such funds. Management will continue to refine processes to more diligently review PRF Reporting Portal submissions to ensure duplicate expenses are not reported in future reporting.

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

Finding No. 2021-001 Allowable Activities and Reporting Significant Deficiency in Internal Controls over Compliance Federal Program: Federal Financial Assistance Listing #93.498 US Department of Health and Human Services COVID-19 Provider Relief Fund Criteria: The terms and conditions of the CARES Act Provider Relief Fund (PRF) require funds received to be used to prevent, prepare for, and respond to coronavirus and that the payment shall reimburse the recipient only for health care related expenses and lost revenues that are attributable to the coronavirus. Condition: During the process of identifying expenses that were incurred to prevent, prepare for or respond to the coronavirus pandemic, management included certain expense amounts twice in the PRF submission. Cause: Due to the amount of detailed information that was required to be compiled by management in order to enter data into the PRF Reporting Portal, management inadvertently included certain expenses twice. Effect: Management included amounts in the PRF Reporting Portal which were not eligible based on the terms and conditions of the PRF award. Questioned costs: Total questions costs amounted to $87,548 and were calculated based off amounts that were reported twice in the PRF Reporting Portal. Context: During the audit, it was determined that certain costs were included in duplicate in the PRF Reporting Portal submission. Recommendation: We recommend that management continue to monitor and enhance its internal controls over federal award compliance to ensure that eligible costs included in the amount expended are not double counted within the PRF Reporting Portal. Views of Responsible Official and Planned Correction Action: Management agrees with the finding noted. However, Mercy also incurred and reported sufficient lost revenue in the PRF Reporting Portal that if the noted expenses were not to be reported, Mercy would have satisfactorily incurred eligible expenses and lost revenue in excess of the PRF funds received, including interest earned on such funds. Management will continue to refine processes to more diligently review PRF Reporting Portal submissions to ensure duplicate expenses are not reported in future reporting.

Corrective Action Plan

Finding No. 2021-001: Personnel Responsible for Corrective Action: Stuart Elkin, Vice President of Finance, Mercy Iowa City Anticipated Completion Date: September 30, 2022 Corrective Action Plan: As it relates to the PRF Reporting Portal submissions, in addition to the review and approval of the Controller, the Vice President of Finance (Stuart Elkin) will also review and approve the submissions, to ensure duplicate expenses are not reported in future reporting.

About Activities Allowed or Unallowed, Reporting →

Data source: This information comes from the Federal Audit Clearinghouse, the official repository of Single Audit data. All data is public domain. Verify this organization's audit history at fac.gov.

Browse other Single Audit organizations in Iowa

Are you this organization?

Track your findings and corrective action plans across audit cycles.

Start tracking findings →

Do you fund this organization?

Monitor subrecipient audit findings and filing records.

Start monitoring →

Product

Resources

Legal

Single Audit Intelligence is an independent tool powered by Federal Audit Clearinghouse data. Not affiliated with GSA, OMB, or any federal agency.

© 2026 Single Audit Intelligence. All data is public domain.