← Back to home

ERIE COMMUNITY UNIT SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 1Local Government

EIN: 362655687

UEI: JDKABLJV4BK5

Audited by: Gorenz and Associates, Ltd.

Oversight agency: 84 [Department of Education]

View federal awards & risk assessment →

Data as of September 2, 2026

ERIE COMMUNITY UNIT SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 12 audit years1 findings
2
Audit Years
1
Total Findings
0
Repeat Findings
$834.2K
Federal Awards Expended (FY 2024)

FY 2024-06-30

NON-GAAP BASIS$834,199 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

Management decision deadline — for entities that funded this organization

The FAC accepted this audit on March 17, 2025. Under 2 CFR 200.521(d), a pass-through entity that provided federal funds to this organization for this audit period must issue a management decision on these findings by September 17, 2025 (354 days ago).

What is a management decision? →

FY 2022-06-30

ADVERSE OPINION, NON-GAAP BASIS$1,032,527 federal awards expended

FAC accepted this audit on March 27, 2023 — management decision was due September 27, 2023.

2022-003
Reporting
SIGNIFICANT DEFICIENCY

1. FINDING NUMBER: 2022- 003 4. THIS FINDING IS: X New Repeat from Prior year? 2. FINDING TYPE: Internal Control Year originally reported? 3. DEFICIENCY TYPE: Significant Deficiency COVID-19 - Elementary and Secondary School Emergency Relief - E2 3. Federal Program Name and Year: 4. Project No.: 21-4998-E2 5. AL No.: 84.425D 6. Passed Through: Illinois State Board of Education 7. Federal Agency: U.S. Department of Education 8. Criteria or specific requirement (including statutory, regulatory, or other citation) The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) Title 2, part 200.305(b)(3) states that non-federal entities must disburse funds for program purposes before requesting payment from the federal awarding agency or pass-through entity. 9. Condition The District's expenditure report filed for June 30, 2022 included expenditures paid in July and August 2022. These amounts were not reported as committed or obligated. 10. Questioned Costs None 11. Context The District received federal reimbursement before expenditures were paid and did not label the expenditures as committed or obligated. 12. Effect The June 30, 2022 expenditure report was filed overstating cash basis expenditures. The expenditure report did not include the July and August 2022 paid expenditures as committed or obligated. These expenditures were later liquidated and the final expenditure claim is correct. 13. Cause Grant expenditures reported on the final June 30, 2022 expenditure report included $8,747 that should have been reported as obligated and not included with cash basis expenditures. 14. Recommendation Grant expenditure reports should be prepared on the cash basis and obligations reported. The liquidation of the obligations should be reported on subsequent liquidation reports. 15. Management's response There is no disagreement with this finding and management will monitor all future federal reimbursement requests. Committed and obligated expenditures will be reported appropriately, and will be paid within 90 days after project completion.

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

1. FINDING NUMBER: 2022- 003 4. THIS FINDING IS: X New Repeat from Prior year? 2. FINDING TYPE: Internal Control Year originally reported? 3. DEFICIENCY TYPE: Significant Deficiency COVID-19 - Elementary and Secondary School Emergency Relief - E2 3. Federal Program Name and Year: 4. Project No.: 21-4998-E2 5. AL No.: 84.425D 6. Passed Through: Illinois State Board of Education 7. Federal Agency: U.S. Department of Education 8. Criteria or specific requirement (including statutory, regulatory, or other citation) The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) Title 2, part 200.305(b)(3) states that non-federal entities must disburse funds for program purposes before requesting payment from the federal awarding agency or pass-through entity. 9. Condition The District's expenditure report filed for June 30, 2022 included expenditures paid in July and August 2022. These amounts were not reported as committed or obligated. 10. Questioned Costs None 11. Context The District received federal reimbursement before expenditures were paid and did not label the expenditures as committed or obligated. 12. Effect The June 30, 2022 expenditure report was filed overstating cash basis expenditures. The expenditure report did not include the July and August 2022 paid expenditures as committed or obligated. These expenditures were later liquidated and the final expenditure claim is correct. 13. Cause Grant expenditures reported on the final June 30, 2022 expenditure report included $8,747 that should have been reported as obligated and not included with cash basis expenditures. 14. Recommendation Grant expenditure reports should be prepared on the cash basis and obligations reported. The liquidation of the obligations should be reported on subsequent liquidation reports. 15. Management's response There is no disagreement with this finding and management will monitor all future federal reimbursement requests. Committed and obligated expenditures will be reported appropriately, and will be paid within 90 days after project completion.

Corrective Action Plan

Finding No.: 2022-003 Condition: The District's expenditure report filed for June 30, 2022 included expenditures paid in July and August 2022. These amounts were not reported as committed or obligated. Plan: Grant expenditure reports should be prepared on the cash basis and obligations reported. The liquidation of the obligations should be reported on subsequent liquidation reports. Anticipated Date of Completion: August 31, 2022 Name of Contact Person: Chuck Milem, Superintendent Management Response: There is no disagreement with this finding and management will monitor all future federal reimbursement requests. Committed and obligated expenditures will be reported appropriately, and will be paid within 90 days after project completion.

About Reporting →

Data source: This information comes from the Federal Audit Clearinghouse, the official repository of Single Audit data. All data is public domain. Verify this organization's audit history at fac.gov.

Browse other Single Audit organizations in Illinois

Are you this organization?

Track your findings and corrective action plans across audit cycles.

Start tracking findings →

Do you fund this organization?

Add it to a monitored group and get alerted when a new audit, finding, repeat finding, or management-decision deadline shows up — instead of checking back.

Checking several at once? Portfolio view →

Product

Resources

Legal

Single Audit Intelligence is an independent tool powered by Federal Audit Clearinghouse data. Not affiliated with GSA, OMB, or any federal agency.

© 2026 Single Audit Intelligence. All data is public domain.