EIN: 270060517
UEI: KF8YVJPX1HF8
Single Audit filed under EIN: 010661737
231713677, 232086937, 232160277, 232172300, 232632825, 233098959, 236002830, 236002831, 236003016, 236003017, 236003018, 236003029, 236003058, 236003060, 236003062, 236003099, 236003102, 236003104, 236003105, 236003107, 236003112, 236003113, 236003115, 236003219, 236003240, 236005039, 251580842, 251644382, 251671669, 251723543, 251773197, 251898690, 251900008, 251901045, 800849780 · unlinked EINs have no separate FAC filing
Audited by: MAHER DUESSEL, CPAS
Oversight agency: 84 [Department of Education]
View federal awards & risk assessment →
Data as of August 28, 2026
Management decision deadline — for entities that funded this organization
The FAC accepted this audit on February 26, 2026. Under 2 CFR 200.521(d), a pass-through entity that provided federal funds to this organization for this audit period must issue a management decision on these findings by August 26, 2026 (6 days ago).
What is a management decision? →Our financial aid sample of 40 items tested yielded 31 students who received Direct Loan Funding. Of the 31 students who received Direct loan funding, we noted 1 instance where the student received the incorrect amount of Unsubsidized funding. Based on the students Student Aid Index, the student should have received $1,750 in Unsubsidized funding; however, they received $2,227 in Unsubsidized Direct Loan funding, resulting in an overpayment of Direct Loan funding of $477. Cause: The controls in place did not detect that the student had incorrectly been awarded assistance based on more than 30 credits when they actually had 25 credits. The additional 5 credits needed for the amount of the award were not earned until the following semester. Effect: Internal controls related to student financial assistance were not operating properly. Repeat Finding: This is not a repeat finding. Questioned costs: $477 Recommendation: We recommend the College develop systems that would detect credits posted but not earned to ensure proper student assistance is awarded. View of Responsible Officials and Planned Corrective Action: Management agrees. See Corrective Action Plan.
Show full finding ▾Hide full finding ▴Finding 2025-002: Student Financial Aid Cluster – Allowable Costs and Allowable Activities and Eligibility Federal Agency: U.S. Department of Education Program: Student Financial Assistance Cluster Criteria: The College is required to have controls in place to ensure students receive the proper amount of student financial assistance they are entitled to based on financial need. Condition: Our financial aid sample of 40 items tested yielded 31 students who received Direct Loan Funding. Of the 31 students who received Direct loan funding, we noted 1 instance where the student received the incorrect amount of Unsubsidized funding. Based on the students Student Aid Index, the student should have received $1,750 in Unsubsidized funding; however, they received $2,227 in Unsubsidized Direct Loan funding, resulting in an overpayment of Direct Loan funding of $477. Cause: The controls in place did not detect that the student had incorrectly been awarded assistance based on more than 30 credits when they actually had 25 credits. The additional 5 credits needed for the amount of the award were not earned until the following semester. Effect: Internal controls related to student financial assistance were not operating properly. Repeat Finding: This is not a repeat finding. Questioned costs: $477 Recommendation: We recommend the College develop systems that would detect credits posted but not earned to ensure proper student assistance is awarded. View of Responsible Officials and Planned Corrective Action: Management agrees. See Corrective Action Plan.
Finding 2025-002: Student Financial Aid Cluster – Allowable Costs and Allowable Activities and Eligibility Federal Agency: U.S. Department of Education Program: Student Financial Assistance Cluster Criteria: The College is required to have controls in place to ensure students receive the proper amount of student financial assistance they are entitled to based on financial need. Condition: Our financial aid sample of 40 items tested yielded 31 students who received Direct Loan Funding. Of the 31 students who received Direct loan funding, we noted 1 instance where the student received the incorrect amount of Unsubsidized funding. Based on the students Student Aid Index, the student should have received $1,750 in Unsubsidized funding; however, they received $2,227 in Unsubsidized Direct Loan funding, resulting in an overpayment of Direct Loan funding of $477. Cause: The controls in place did not detect that the student had incorrectly been awarded assistance based on more than 30 credits when they actually had 25 credits. The additional 5 credits needed for the amount of the award were not earned until the following semester. Effect: Internal controls related to student financial assistance were not operating properly. Repeat Finding: This is not a repeat finding. Questioned costs: $477 Recommendation: We recommend Thaddeus develop systems that would detect credits posted but not earned to ensure proper student assistance is awarded. View of Responsible Officials and Planned Corrective Action: Management agrees. See separate Corrective Action Plan. Corrective Action Plan: There is no disagreement with the audit finding. After reviewing the policy for Grade-Level Advancement for Direct Loan Consideration, it was determined that the student referenced in the funding did not meet the qualifications needed to be considered a sophomore level student for the Fall 2024 semester. The student became eligible for the increased loan amount in the Spring 2025 semester. The $500 that was incorrectly awarded to the student for the Fall 2024 semester has been corrected and reallocated to Spring 2025. The Office of Financial Aid has created a procedure to check student loan amounts during fall and spring semester to ensure accuracy. Additionally, an Assistant Director of Financial Aid was hired in February 2025 to strengthen financial aid administration within the department. Name(s) of the contact person(s) responsible for corrective action: Melissa Wisniewski, Dean of Enrollment Services at 717-391-7234. Planned completion date for corrective action plan: January 2026. If the Department of Education has questions regarding this plan, please call the Vice President of Finance and Administration, George Longridge at 717-391-6947.
The change in status for 4 of 40 students tested was not reported to the National Student Loan Data System (NSLDS) within 60 days of the change. Cause: Staffing changes during the year impacting the College’s internal control structure resulted in an administrative delay in reporting the changes to NSLDS. Effect: The effect of the condition described above was that the College was not in compliance with NSLDS reporting requirements. Repeat Finding: This is not a repeat finding. Questioned costs: There are no known questioned costs to report. Recommendation: We recommend that the College ensures sufficient staffing is available to report NSLDS requirements timely. View of Responsible Officials and Planned Corrective Action: Management agrees. See Corrective Action Plan.
Show full finding ▾Hide full finding ▴Finding 2025-003: Late Student Status Change Reporting Federal Agency: U.S. Department of Education Program: Student Financial Assistance Cluster Criteria: 34 CFR 668.32 requires that an organization reports student status changes within 60 days of graduation, withdrawal, or other roster status changes. Condition: The change in status for 4 of 40 students tested was not reported to the National Student Loan Data System (NSLDS) within 60 days of the change. Cause: Staffing changes during the year impacting the College’s internal control structure resulted in an administrative delay in reporting the changes to NSLDS. Effect: The effect of the condition described above was that the College was not in compliance with NSLDS reporting requirements. Repeat Finding: This is not a repeat finding. Questioned costs: There are no known questioned costs to report. Recommendation: We recommend that the College ensures sufficient staffing is available to report NSLDS requirements timely. View of Responsible Officials and Planned Corrective Action: Management agrees. See Corrective Action Plan.
Finding 2025-003: Late Student Status Change Reporting Federal Agency: U.S. Department of Education Program: Student Financial Assistance Cluster Criteria: 34 CFR 668.32 requires that an organization reports student status changes within 60 days of graduation, withdrawal, or other roster status changes. Condition: The change in status for 4 of 40 students tested was not reported to the National Student Loan Data System (NSLDS) within 60 days of the change. Cause: Staffing changes during the year impacting the College’s internal control structure resulted in an administrative delay in reporting the changes to NSLDS. Effect: The effect of the condition described above was that the College was not in compliance with NSLDS reporting requirements. Repeat Finding: This is not a repeat finding. Questioned costs: There are no known questioned costs to report. Recommendation: We recommend that the College ensures sufficient staffing is available to report NSLDS requirements timely. View of Responsible Officials and Planned Corrective Action Corrective Action Plan: There is no disagreement with this audit finding. During the fall of 2024 the Registrar’s Office was downsized. This resulted in the delayed processing of the error report following the 10.25.2024 report. This resolution required contacting NSC for assistance in clearing two of the errors, which increased the processing time. Moving forward, the Registrar’s Office will continue to report to NSC on the predetermined schedule, process errors timely, and additionally, a quality control check will be implemented for the Financial Aid Office to compare NSLDS records following the NSC transmissions. Name(s) of the contact person(s) responsible for corrective action: Dr. Melissa Wisniewski, Dean of Enrollment Services at 717-391-7234. Planned completion date for corrective action plan: February 2026 If the Department of Education has questions regarding this plan, please call the Vice President of Finance and Administration, Mr. George Longridge at 717-391-6947.
FAC accepted this audit on January 9, 2025 — management decision was due July 9, 2025.
FAC accepted this audit on February 20, 2024 — management decision was due August 20, 2024.
The College reported 1,083 students who received student aid in the amount of $2,670,299 in the current year, however those students were reported correctly in the previous year. In the current year student aid was not disbursed. Also, the College reported calendar year 2021 lost revenue in the amount of $1,421,437 on the calendar year 2022 annual report, the lost revenue should have been reported on the Calendar year 2021 report. Criteria: The Federal Department of Education utilizing 34 CFR 75.720(b) requires an annual report for all institutional and student expenditures that were made in the preceding calendar year. Cause: There was not a review of the completed form before the College submitted the form to the federal reporting portal. Effect of the Condition: The annual report did not reflect the actual amount of student and institutional expenditures of the College. Recommendation: We recommend that the College review reporting that is submitted to the federal agency for accuracy before submission. Questioned Costs: There are no questioned costs associated with this finding. Repeat Finding: This is not considered a repeat finding. Views of Responsible Officials: See separate Corrective Action Plan.
Show full finding ▾Hide full finding ▴U.S. Department of Education - COVID-19 Education Stabilization Fund (ALN 84.425) Statement of Condition: The College reported 1,083 students who received student aid in the amount of $2,670,299 in the current year, however those students were reported correctly in the previous year. In the current year student aid was not disbursed. Also, the College reported calendar year 2021 lost revenue in the amount of $1,421,437 on the calendar year 2022 annual report, the lost revenue should have been reported on the Calendar year 2021 report. Criteria: The Federal Department of Education utilizing 34 CFR 75.720(b) requires an annual report for all institutional and student expenditures that were made in the preceding calendar year. Cause: There was not a review of the completed form before the College submitted the form to the federal reporting portal. Effect of the Condition: The annual report did not reflect the actual amount of student and institutional expenditures of the College. Recommendation: We recommend that the College review reporting that is submitted to the federal agency for accuracy before submission. Questioned Costs: There are no questioned costs associated with this finding. Repeat Finding: This is not considered a repeat finding. Views of Responsible Officials: See separate Corrective Action Plan.
Management will put a process in place to review and monitor changes in HEERF reporting requirements. As part of this revised process, all data will be subject to final review prior to submission of any HEERF information to ensure accuracy and consistency.
FAC accepted this audit on December 21, 2022 — management decision was due June 21, 2023.
The College drew down all Higher Educational Emergency Relief Funding (HEERF) 1 and 2 money and maintained an excess cash balance (funds drew down were greater than expenditures claimed on previous SEFAs). In the current year the College drew down the correct amount of HEERF money. Criteria: Per 48 CFR section 53.216.7(b) and the Certification Agreements for the Educational Stabilization Fund, any cash drawn down should occur after or shortly before the expenditure is paid. For student aid related payments, the funds drawn down should be disbursed within 15 calendar days to students and for the institutional aid portion the funds should be disbursed within 3 calendar days from the drawn down date in the G5 system. Cause: The College drew down all HEERF money made available to them to expend and only began to draw down money as needed during fiscal year 2022. All money withdrawn in previous years were not expended in full before additional draws were made. Effect of the Condition: The College has drawn down monies in excess of expenditures in the amount of $421,437. Recommendation: We recommend that the College review their excess cash and utilize that cash before drawing additional funds from the HEERF funding to ensure that there is not any additional excess cash on hand. In addition, we recommend that the College implements a procedures or additional procedure to ensure that cash draw downs only occur shortly before or after eligible expenses are paid. Repeat Finding: This is not considered a repeat finding. Views of Responsible Officials: Management agrees with the Finding. Management will put a process in place to review and monitor changes in HEERF reporting requirements. As part of this revised process, all data will be subject to final review prior to submission of any HEERF information to ensure accuracy and consistency.
Show full finding ▾Hide full finding ▴Finding 2022-001: Cash Management U.S. Department of Education- COVID-19 Education Stabilization Fund (ALN 84.425) Statement of Condition: The College drew down all Higher Educational Emergency Relief Funding (HEERF) 1 and 2 money and maintained an excess cash balance (funds drew down were greater than expenditures claimed on previous SEFAs). In the current year the College drew down the correct amount of HEERF money. Criteria: Per 48 CFR section 53.216.7(b) and the Certification Agreements for the Educational Stabilization Fund, any cash drawn down should occur after or shortly before the expenditure is paid. For student aid related payments, the funds drawn down should be disbursed within 15 calendar days to students and for the institutional aid portion the funds should be disbursed within 3 calendar days from the drawn down date in the G5 system. Cause: The College drew down all HEERF money made available to them to expend and only began to draw down money as needed during fiscal year 2022. All money withdrawn in previous years were not expended in full before additional draws were made. Effect of the Condition: The College has drawn down monies in excess of expenditures in the amount of $421,437. Recommendation: We recommend that the College review their excess cash and utilize that cash before drawing additional funds from the HEERF funding to ensure that there is not any additional excess cash on hand. In addition, we recommend that the College implements a procedures or additional procedure to ensure that cash draw downs only occur shortly before or after eligible expenses are paid. Repeat Finding: This is not considered a repeat finding. Views of Responsible Officials: Management agrees with the Finding. Management will put a process in place to review and monitor changes in HEERF reporting requirements. As part of this revised process, all data will be subject to final review prior to submission of any HEERF information to ensure accuracy and consistency.
Finding 2022-001: Cash Management Condition: The College drew down all Higher Educational Emergency Relief Funding (HEERF) 1 and 2 money and maintained an excess cash balance (funds drawn down were greater than expenditures claimed on previous SEFAs). In the current year the College drew down the correct amount of HEERF money. Criteria: Per 48 CFR section 53.216.7(b) and the Certification Agreements for the Educational Stabilization fund, any cash draw down should occur after or shortly before the expenditure is paid. For student aid related payments, the funds drawn down should be disbursed within 15 calendar days to students and for the institutional aid portion the funds should be disbursed within 3 calendar days from the drawn down in the G5 system. Cause: The College drew down all HEERF money made available to them to expend and only began to draw down money as needed during fiscal year 2022. All money withdrawn in previous years were not expended in full before additional draws were made. Effect of the Condition: The College drew down monies in excess of expenditures in the amount of $421,437. Action Taken: Management will put a process in place to review and monitor changes in HEERF reporting requirements. As part of this revised process, all data will be subject to final review prior to submission of any HEERF information to ensure accuracy and consistency. If the Pennsylvania Office of the Budget has questions regarding this plan, please call George Longridge, Vice President of Finance and Administration at (717) 391-6947.
FAC accepted this audit on March 17, 2022 — management decision was due September 17, 2022.
FAC accepted this audit on June 27, 2021 — management decision was due December 27, 2021.
Students were not being reported to NSLDS in a timely manner. Questioned Costs: None Context: For 4 of the 40 students selected for testing, it was noted that their change in enrollment status was not timely reported by the College to the NSLDS. Cause: The College?s policies/procedures failed to ensure that enrollment status changes were timely reported to the NSLDS for Pell and Direct Loan recipient students. Effect: The College did not timely report enrollment status changes to the NSLDS for Pell and Direct Loan recipient students. Repeat Finding: Yes, 2019-001. Recommendation: We recommend that the College review its policies/procedures to ensure that all enrollment statuses are timely and accurately reported to the NSLDS for Pell and Direct Loan recipient students. Views of Responsible Officials: There is no disagreement with the audit finding.
Show full finding ▾Hide full finding ▴2020-001 ? National Student Loan Data System (NSLDS) Reporting Federal Agency: Department of Education Federal Program Title: Student Financial Assistance Cluster CFDA Numbers: 84.063 ? Federal Pell Grant Program 84.268 ? Federal Direct Student Loans Award Period: July 1, 2019 to June 30, 2020 Type of Finding: Significant Deficiency in Internal Control Over Compliance; Other Matters Criteria or Specific Requirement: The Code of Federal Regulations, 34 CFR 685.309 requires that enrollment status changes for students be reported to National Student Loan Database System (NSLDS) within 30 days or within 60 days if the student with the status change will be reported on a scheduled transmission within 60 days of the change in status. Regulations require the status include an accurate effective date. In addition, regulations require that an institution make necessary corrections and return the records within 10 days for any roster files that don?t pass the NSLDS enrollment reporting edits. Condition: Students were not being reported to NSLDS in a timely manner. Questioned Costs: None Context: For 4 of the 40 students selected for testing, it was noted that their change in enrollment status was not timely reported by the College to the NSLDS. Cause: The College?s policies/procedures failed to ensure that enrollment status changes were timely reported to the NSLDS for Pell and Direct Loan recipient students. Effect: The College did not timely report enrollment status changes to the NSLDS for Pell and Direct Loan recipient students. Repeat Finding: Yes, 2019-001. Recommendation: We recommend that the College review its policies/procedures to ensure that all enrollment statuses are timely and accurately reported to the NSLDS for Pell and Direct Loan recipient students. Views of Responsible Officials: There is no disagreement with the audit finding.
U.S. Department of Education 2020-001 National Student Loan Data System (NSLDS) Reporting Recommendation: We recommend that the College review its policies/procedures to ensure that all enrollment statuses are timely and accurately reported to the NSLDS for Pell and Direct Loan recipient students. Explanation of disagreement with audit finding: There is no disagreement with the audit finding. Action taken in response to finding: The students in question for this finding are students who withdrew from the college before the census date. These students were not included in the official enrollment for the College, and thus not updating correctly on the National Student Clearinghouse (NSC) report. These students were not reported as enrolled, therefore not able to be updated as withdrawn. During the fall of 2020 and spring 2021, these updates were made manually to NSC. Using guidance from the National Student Clearinghouse (NSC), procedures for reviewing and submitting the first of term report were altered for Fall 2020. Students that are not appearing on the system generated report are manually entered and withdrawn as needed. Name(s) of the contact person(s) responsible for corrective action: Melissa Wisniewski, Dean of Enrollment Services at 717-391-7234. Planned completion date for corrective action plan: August 2020
2019-001
Certain students? enrollment information was not reported accurately to the NSLDS. Questioned Costs: None Context: During our testing, we noted the following: ? 2 of 40 students were reported to NSLDS with an incorrect enrollment effective date. ? 4 of 40 students were not reported twice to NSLDS for the withdrawal status. Cause: The College?s policies/procedures failed to ensure that student?s effective dates were reported accurately, and student?s statuses were reported to NSLDS every 60 days throughout the semester or at least twice for graduates and withdrawals for Pell and Direct Loan recipient students. Effect: Incorrect reporting to NSLDS can result in students entering repayment periods or affect their interest rates. Repeat Finding: No Recommendation: We recommend the College review procedures around sending correct information to NSLDS. In addition, we recommend the College develop a process to help better oversee the submissions completed by the third-party servicer. Views of Responsible Officials: There is no disagreement with the audit finding.
Show full finding ▾Hide full finding ▴2020-002 ? National Student Loan Data System (NSLDS) Reporting Federal Agency: Department of Education Federal Program Title: Student Financial Assistance Cluster CFDA Numbers: 84.063 ? Federal Pell Grant Program 84.268 ? Federal Direct Student Loans Award Period: July 1, 2019 to June 30, 2020 Type of Finding: Significant Deficiency in Internal Control Over Compliance; Other Matters Criteria or Specific Requirement: Per U.S. Department of Education (ED) regulations, all schools participating (or approved to participate) in the Federal Student Aid programs must have an arrangement to report student enrollment data to NSLDS through a roster file. The school is required to report enrollment status at both the school and program level. The school is required to report changes in the student?s enrollment status, the effective date of the status and an anticipated completion date. An academic program is defined as the combination of your school?s Office of Postsecondary Education Identification (OPEID) number and the program?s Classification of Instructional Program (CIP) code, credential level, and published program length. The Department of Education requires the College to report changes in enrollment status and indicate the date that the changes occurred (34 CFR 685.309). Condition: Certain students? enrollment information was not reported accurately to the NSLDS. Questioned Costs: None Context: During our testing, we noted the following: ? 2 of 40 students were reported to NSLDS with an incorrect enrollment effective date. ? 4 of 40 students were not reported twice to NSLDS for the withdrawal status. Cause: The College?s policies/procedures failed to ensure that student?s effective dates were reported accurately, and student?s statuses were reported to NSLDS every 60 days throughout the semester or at least twice for graduates and withdrawals for Pell and Direct Loan recipient students. Effect: Incorrect reporting to NSLDS can result in students entering repayment periods or affect their interest rates. Repeat Finding: No Recommendation: We recommend the College review procedures around sending correct information to NSLDS. In addition, we recommend the College develop a process to help better oversee the submissions completed by the third-party servicer. Views of Responsible Officials: There is no disagreement with the audit finding.
2020-002 National Student Loan Data System (NSLDS) Reporting Recommendation: We recommend the College review procedures around sending correct information to NSLDS. In addition, we recommend the College develop a process to help better oversee the submissions completed by the third-party servicer. Explanation of disagreement with audit finding: There is no disagreement with the audit finding. Action taken in response to finding: 2019-2020 was the first year that the College was utilizing an automatic import system to update a student status from Admitted to Enrolled Student. During the transfer of data, the date populated as the enrollment start date was the date of the transfer, and not the first day of the semester. Additional training has taken place with Jenzabar to ensure that the transfer of data processes are set up to correctly report the effective start date of each student and how to correct any problems before transmitting the report. The College?s IT staff also pull a report verify all dates are populated correctly on the NSC report, which is reviewed by the Registrar and any corrections needed are updated for the final report. Name(s) of the contact person(s) responsible for corrective action: Melissa Wisniewski, Dean of Enrollment Services at 717-391-7234. Planned completion date for corrective action plan: August 2020
Through our testing of 7 students whose accounts had a credit balance resulting from federal funds during the year, we noted that one student did not have the credit balance refunded within the 14 day period. Questioned Costs: None Context: Through our testing of 7 students whose accounts had a credit balance resulting from federal funds during the year, we noted that one student did not have the credit balance refunded within the 14 day period but was refunded to the student in 19 days. Cause: When refunds of room and board were applied to the student?s account, the College?s policies and procedures failed to identify credit balances from Title IV monies once these refunds were applied. Effect: The College did not refund students within 14 days for credit balances that arose from federal funds as required by DOE regulations. Repeat Finding: No Recommendation: We recommend that the College put a process in place to refund student credit balances that arose from federal funds within 14 days. Views of Responsible Officials: There is no disagreement with the audit finding.
Show full finding ▾Hide full finding ▴2020-003 ? Credit Balance Refunds Federal Agency: Department of Education Federal Program Title: Student Financial Assistance Cluster CFDA Numbers: 84.007 ? Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grants 84.063 ? Federal Pell Grant Program 84.268 ? Federal Direct Student Loans Award Period: July 1, 2019 to June 30, 2020 Type of Finding: Significant Deficiency in Internal Control Over Compliance; Other Matters Criteria or Specific Requirement: The Code of Federal Regulations, 34 CFR 668.164(e) states, Whenever an institution disburses title IV, HEA program funds by crediting a student?s account and the total amount of all title IV, HEA program funds credited exceeds the amount of tuition and fees, room and board, and other authorized charges the institution assessed the student, the institution must pay the resulting credit balance directly to the student or parent as soon as possible but? (1) No later than 14 days after the balance occurred if the credit balance occurred after the first day of class of a payment period; or (2) No later than 14 days after the first day of class of a payment period if the credit balance occurred on or before the first day of class of that payment period. Condition: Through our testing of 7 students whose accounts had a credit balance resulting from federal funds during the year, we noted that one student did not have the credit balance refunded within the 14 day period. Questioned Costs: None Context: Through our testing of 7 students whose accounts had a credit balance resulting from federal funds during the year, we noted that one student did not have the credit balance refunded within the 14 day period but was refunded to the student in 19 days. Cause: When refunds of room and board were applied to the student?s account, the College?s policies and procedures failed to identify credit balances from Title IV monies once these refunds were applied. Effect: The College did not refund students within 14 days for credit balances that arose from federal funds as required by DOE regulations. Repeat Finding: No Recommendation: We recommend that the College put a process in place to refund student credit balances that arose from federal funds within 14 days. Views of Responsible Officials: There is no disagreement with the audit finding.
2020-003 Credit Balance Refunds Recommendation: We recommend that the College put a process in place to refund student credit balances that arose from federal funds within 14 days. Explanation of disagreement with audit finding: There is no disagreement with the audit finding. Action taken in response to finding: The pandemic created an unusually large number of refunds at a time when staff were not allowed into the office and had to work offsite. Since this is not a recurring finding normal processes should correct this. Name(s) of the contact person(s) responsible for corrective action: Robert Schoch, Interim Vice President of Finance and Administration Planned completion date for corrective action plan: July 1, 2021
FAC accepted this audit on February 4, 2020 — management decision was due August 4, 2020.
For 1 of the 40 students selected for testing, it was noted that their change in enrollment status was not timely reported by the College to the National Student Loan Database System (NSLDS). Questioned Costs: None Context: The above condition was noted for a student that was due to a social security number input error that was reported by the student on their FASFA. Based on the testing performed and discussions with management, it can be expected that this was an isolated incident. Cause: The College?s policies/procedures failed to ensure that enrollment status changes were timely reported to the NSLDS for Pell and Direct Loan recipient students. Effect: The College did not timely report enrollment status changes to the NSLDS for Pell and Direct Loan recipient students. Repeat Finding: No Recommendation: We recommend that the College review its policies/procedures to ensure that all enrollment statuses are timely and accurately reported to the NSLDS for Pell and Direct Loan recipient students. Views of Responsible Officials: There is no disagreement with the audit finding.
Show full finding ▾Hide full finding ▴2019-001 Federal Agency: Department of Education Federal Program Title: Student Financial Assistance Cluster CFDA Numbers: 84.063 ? Federal Pell Grant Program 84.268 ? Federal Direct Student Loans Award Period: July 1, 2018 to June 30, 2019 Type of Finding: Significant Deficiency in Internal Control over Compliance; Other Matters Criteria or Specific Requirement: The Code of Federal Regulations, 34 CFR 685.309 requires that enrollment status changes for students be reported to NSLDS within 30 days or within 60 days if the student with the status change will be reported on a scheduled transmission within 60 days of the change in status. Regulations require the status include an accurate effective date. In addition, regulations require that an institution make necessary corrections and return the records within 10 days for any roster files that don?t pass the NSLDS enrollment reporting edits. Condition: For 1 of the 40 students selected for testing, it was noted that their change in enrollment status was not timely reported by the College to the National Student Loan Database System (NSLDS). Questioned Costs: None Context: The above condition was noted for a student that was due to a social security number input error that was reported by the student on their FASFA. Based on the testing performed and discussions with management, it can be expected that this was an isolated incident. Cause: The College?s policies/procedures failed to ensure that enrollment status changes were timely reported to the NSLDS for Pell and Direct Loan recipient students. Effect: The College did not timely report enrollment status changes to the NSLDS for Pell and Direct Loan recipient students. Repeat Finding: No Recommendation: We recommend that the College review its policies/procedures to ensure that all enrollment statuses are timely and accurately reported to the NSLDS for Pell and Direct Loan recipient students. Views of Responsible Officials: There is no disagreement with the audit finding.
U.S. Department of Education Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology (the College) respectfully submits the following corrective action plan for the year ended June 30, 2019. Audit period: July 01, 2018 through June 30, 2019 The findings from the schedule of findings and questioned costs are discussed below. The findings are numbered consistently with the numbers assigned in the schedule. FINDINGS-FEDERAL AWARD PROGRAMS AUDITS U.S. Department of Education- 2019-001 Student Financial Assistance Cluster - CFDA Numbers - 84.063 Federal Pell Grant Program and 84.268 Federal Direct Student Loans Recommendation: We recommend that the College review its policies/procedures to ensure that all enrollment statuses are timely and accurately reported to the NSLDS for Pell and Direct Loan recipient students. Explanation of disagreement with audit finding: There is no disagreement with the audit finding. Action taken in response to finding: The student in question had reported an incorrect SSN which caused his enrollment to not be reported correctly to NSLDS. Once this was discovered the enrollment was manually updated. Moving forward if any department would become aware of an incorrect SSN it must be shared with the Registrar's office. The Registrar's Office will then review the enrollment reporting and update immediately if necessary. Name(s) of the contact person(s) responsible for corrective action: Melissa Wisniewski, Dean of Enrollment Services Planned completion date for corrective action plan: Completed June, 2019 -If the Department of Education has questions regarding this plan, please call Emily Smoker at 717-391- 7206.
FAC accepted this audit on February 6, 2019 — management decision was due August 6, 2019.
GSA_MIGRATION
Show full finding ▾Hide full finding ▴GSA_MIGRATION
GSA_MIGRATION
FAC accepted this audit on March 27, 2018 — management decision was due September 27, 2018.
GSA_MIGRATION
Show full finding ▾Hide full finding ▴GSA_MIGRATION
Show full finding ▾Hide full finding ▴GSA_MIGRATION
GSA_MIGRATION
GSA_MIGRATION
Show full finding ▾Hide full finding ▴GSA_MIGRATION
GSA_MIGRATION
GSA_MIGRATION
Show full finding ▾Hide full finding ▴GSA_MIGRATION
GSA_MIGRATION
GSA_MIGRATION
Show full finding ▾Hide full finding ▴GSA_MIGRATION
GSA_MIGRATION
GSA_MIGRATION
Show full finding ▾Hide full finding ▴GSA_MIGRATION
GSA_MIGRATION
GSA_MIGRATION
Show full finding ▾Hide full finding ▴GSA_MIGRATION
GSA_MIGRATION
Data source: This information comes from the Federal Audit Clearinghouse, the official repository of Single Audit data. All data is public domain. Verify this organization's audit history at fac.gov.
Browse other Single Audit organizations in Pennsylvania →
Track your findings and corrective action plans across audit cycles.
Start tracking findings →Monitor subrecipient audit findings and filing records.
Start monitoring →© 2026 Single Audit Intelligence. All data is public domain.