← Back to home

POINT PARK UNIVERSITYHigher Education

EIN: 251094922

UEI: ZMPHH84J4NN4

Audited by: Baker Tilly US, LLP

Oversight agency: 84 [Department of Education]

View federal awards & risk assessment →

Data as of September 2, 2026

POINT PARK UNIVERSITY10 audit years9 findings4 repeat
10
Audit Years
9
Total Findings
4
Repeat Findings
$39.3M
Federal Awards Expended (FY 2025)

FY 2025-08-31

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$39,270,652 federal awards expended

Management decision deadline — for entities that funded this organization

The FAC accepted this audit on May 29, 2026. Under 2 CFR 200.521(d), a pass-through entity that provided federal funds to this organization for this audit period must issue a management decision on these findings by November 29, 2026 (87 days from today).

What is a management decision? →
2025-001
Special Tests & Provisions
OTHER MATTERS

Federal Program: Student Financial Assistance Cluster - Federal Direct Student Loans Federal Agency: U.S. Department of Education Pass-Through Entity: Not applicable Assistance Listing Number: 84.268 Federal Award Year: August 31, 2025 Criterion: Title IV regulations (34 CFR 668.22) requires that when a recipient of Title IV grant or loan assistance withdraws from an institution during a payment period or period of enrollment in which the recipient began attendance, the institution must determine the amount of Title IV grant or loan assistance that the student earned as of the student's withdrawal date in accordance with Federal regulations and return the unearned portion of the grant or loan funds to the Title IV programs as soon as possible but no later than 45 days after the withdrawal date. Condition and Context: The return of Title IV funding for one student, out of seven selected for testing, was not returned within 45 days of withdrawal. The sample was not statistically valid. Questioned Costs: None Cause: The University did not properly calculate the number of days following the students withdrawal due to a reporting error. Effect: The University returned the correct amount after the 45 day requirement. Recommendation: The University should reevaluate the existing process and related control to ensure that the Title IV funds are returned timely. Management Response: Management agrees with the finding. The Director of Financial Aid will ensure the implementation of procedures and controls in fiscal 2026 to ensure timely return of Title IV funds.

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

Federal Program: Student Financial Assistance Cluster - Federal Direct Student Loans Federal Agency: U.S. Department of Education Pass-Through Entity: Not applicable Assistance Listing Number: 84.268 Federal Award Year: August 31, 2025 Criterion: Title IV regulations (34 CFR 668.22) requires that when a recipient of Title IV grant or loan assistance withdraws from an institution during a payment period or period of enrollment in which the recipient began attendance, the institution must determine the amount of Title IV grant or loan assistance that the student earned as of the student's withdrawal date in accordance with Federal regulations and return the unearned portion of the grant or loan funds to the Title IV programs as soon as possible but no later than 45 days after the withdrawal date. Condition and Context: The return of Title IV funding for one student, out of seven selected for testing, was not returned within 45 days of withdrawal. The sample was not statistically valid. Questioned Costs: None Cause: The University did not properly calculate the number of days following the students withdrawal due to a reporting error. Effect: The University returned the correct amount after the 45 day requirement. Recommendation: The University should reevaluate the existing process and related control to ensure that the Title IV funds are returned timely. Management Response: Management agrees with the finding. The Director of Financial Aid will ensure the implementation of procedures and controls in fiscal 2026 to ensure timely return of Title IV funds.

Corrective Action Plan

Point Park University respectively submits the following corrective action plans for the year ended August 31, 2025. Finding 2025-001 - Return of Title IV Funds Criterion: Title IV regulations (34 CFR 668.22) requires that when a recipient of Title IV grant or loan assistance withdraws from an institution during a payment period or period of enrollment in which the recipient began attendance, the institution must determine the amount of Title IV grant or loan assistance that the student earned as of the student's withdrawal date in accordance with Federal regulations and return the unearned portion of the grant or loan funds to the Title IV programs as soon as possible but no later than 45 days after the withdrawal date. Condition and Context: The return of Title IV funding for one student, out of seven selected for testing, was not returned within 45 days of withdrawal. Corrective Action Plan: The University is implementing additional procedures to include secondary reviews, by the financial aid office and registrar’s office, of the current period withdrawals to ensure timely return of Title IV funds. Anticipated Completion Date: June 30, 2026 Name of Responsible Person: Scott Spencer, University Registrar Office (412) 392-3876 sspencer@pointpark.edu

About Special Tests and Provisions →
2025-002
Special Tests & Provisions
SIGNIFICANT DEFICIENCYREPEAT OF 2024-001

Federal Program: Student Financial Assistance Cluster - Federal Direct Student Loans Federal Agency: U.S. Department of Education Pass-Through Entity: Not applicable Assistance Listing Number: 84.268 Federal Award Year: August 31, 2025 Criterion: Title IV regulations (34 CFR 685.309(b)) require that upon receipt of an enrollment report from the Secretary of the Department of Education (Secretary), institutions must update all information included in the report and return the report to the Secretary: (i) in the manner and format prescribed by the Secretary; and (ii) within the timeframe prescribed by the Secretary. Unless the institution expects to submit its next updated enrollment report to the Secretary within the next 60 days, an institution must notify the Secretary within 30 days after the date the institution discovers that: (i) a loan under Title IV of the Act was made to or on behalf of a student who was enrolled or accepted for enrollment at the institution, and the student has ceased to be enrolled on at least a halftime basis or failed to enroll on at least a half-time basis for the period for which the loan was intended or (ii) a student who is enrolled at the institution and who received a loan under Title IV of the Act has changed his or her permanent address. Condition and Context: Exceptions were noted for 2 out of the 25 students tested. The exceptions are noted as follows:  For 1 student, the withdrawal date reported to the National Student Loan Data System (NSLDS) did not agree to University support.  For 1 student, an incorrect status was reported to NSLDS. The sample was not statistically valid. Cause: There was miscommunication between University departments that lead to the noted exceptions. Effect: The accuracy of the Title IV student loan records depends heavily on the accuracy of the enrollment information reported by schools. If an institution does not review, update, and verify student enrollment statuses, effective dates of the enrollment status, and the anticipated completion dates, then the Title IV student loan records will be inaccurate. Recommendation: The University should reevaluate the existing process and related control to ensure timely and accurate reporting of status changes. Management Response: Management agrees with the finding. The Director of Financial Aid will ensure the implementation of procedures and controls in fiscal 2026 to ensure timely and accurate reporting.

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

Federal Program: Student Financial Assistance Cluster - Federal Direct Student Loans Federal Agency: U.S. Department of Education Pass-Through Entity: Not applicable Assistance Listing Number: 84.268 Federal Award Year: August 31, 2025 Criterion: Title IV regulations (34 CFR 685.309(b)) require that upon receipt of an enrollment report from the Secretary of the Department of Education (Secretary), institutions must update all information included in the report and return the report to the Secretary: (i) in the manner and format prescribed by the Secretary; and (ii) within the timeframe prescribed by the Secretary. Unless the institution expects to submit its next updated enrollment report to the Secretary within the next 60 days, an institution must notify the Secretary within 30 days after the date the institution discovers that: (i) a loan under Title IV of the Act was made to or on behalf of a student who was enrolled or accepted for enrollment at the institution, and the student has ceased to be enrolled on at least a halftime basis or failed to enroll on at least a half-time basis for the period for which the loan was intended or (ii) a student who is enrolled at the institution and who received a loan under Title IV of the Act has changed his or her permanent address. Condition and Context: Exceptions were noted for 2 out of the 25 students tested. The exceptions are noted as follows:  For 1 student, the withdrawal date reported to the National Student Loan Data System (NSLDS) did not agree to University support.  For 1 student, an incorrect status was reported to NSLDS. The sample was not statistically valid. Cause: There was miscommunication between University departments that lead to the noted exceptions. Effect: The accuracy of the Title IV student loan records depends heavily on the accuracy of the enrollment information reported by schools. If an institution does not review, update, and verify student enrollment statuses, effective dates of the enrollment status, and the anticipated completion dates, then the Title IV student loan records will be inaccurate. Recommendation: The University should reevaluate the existing process and related control to ensure timely and accurate reporting of status changes. Management Response: Management agrees with the finding. The Director of Financial Aid will ensure the implementation of procedures and controls in fiscal 2026 to ensure timely and accurate reporting.

Corrective Action Plan

Finding 2025-002 - Enrollment Reporting - Significant Deficiency (Repeat of prior year finding 2024-001) Criterion: Title IV regulations (34 CFR 685.309(b)) require that upon receipt of an enrollment report from the Secretary of the Department of Education (Secretary), institutions must update all information included in the report and return the report to the Secretary: (i) in the manner and format prescribed by the Secretary; and (ii) within the timeframe prescribed by the Secretary. Unless the institution expects to submit its next updated enrollment report to the Secretary within the next 60 days, an institution must notify the Secretary within 30 days after the date the institution discovers that: (i) a loan under Title IV of the Act was made to or on behalf of a student who was enrolled or accepted for enrollment at the institution, and the student has ceased to be enrolled on at least a half-time basis or failed to enroll on at least a half-time basis for the period for which the loan was intended or (ii) a student who is enrolled at the institution and who received a loan under Title IV of the Act has changed his or her permanent address. Condition and Context: Exceptions were noted for 2 out of the 25 students tested. The exceptions are noted as follows:  For 1 student, the withdrawal date reported to the National Student Loan Data System (NSLDS) did not agree to University support.  For 1 student, an incorrect status was reported to NSLDS. Corrective Action Plan: The following procedures are in process of being implemented to ensure accurate reporting in the future. Occasionally there are students who are delayed in having their degree conferred. This has resulted in miscommunication between University departments causing a delay in reporting. Going forward, the associate registrar will notify the University registrar upon completion of all late conferrals. The associate registrar will provide the University registrar with the name and identification for each of these students. During the monthly enrollment submission (approximately the 15th of every month) the University Registrar will ensure that each identified student is properly reflected in the National Student Clearinghouse (NSC) and National Student Loan Data System (NSLDS) Anticipated Completion Date: June 30, 2026 Name of Responsible Person: Scott Spencer, University Registrar Office (412) 392-3876 sspencer@pointpark.edu

Prior Finding References

2024-001

About Special Tests and Provisions →

FY 2024-08-31

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$37,526,403 federal awards expended

FAC accepted this audit on May 28, 2025 — management decision was due November 28, 2025.

2024-001
Special Tests & Provisions
SIGNIFICANT DEFICIENCYREPEAT OF 2023-002

Federal Program: Student Financial Assistance Cluster – Federal Direct Student Loans Federal Agency: U.S. Department of Education Pass-Through Entity: Not applicable Assistance Listing Number: 84.268 Federal Award Year: August 31, 2024 Criterion: Title IV regulations (34 CFR 685.309(b)) require that upon receipt of an enrollment report from the Secretary of the Department of Education (Secretary), institutions must update all information included in the report and return the report to the Secretary: (i) in the manner and format prescribed by the Secretary; and (ii) within the timeframe prescribed by the Secretary. Unless the institution expects to submit its next updated enrollment report to the Secretary within the next 60 days, an institution must notify the Secretary within 30 days after the date the institution discovers that: (i) a loan under Title IV of the Act was made to or on behalf of a student who was enrolled or accepted for enrollment at the institution, and the student has ceased to be enrolled on at least a halftime basis or failed to enroll on at least a half-time basis for the period for which the loan was intended or (ii) a student who is enrolled at the institution and who received a loan under Title IV of the Act has changed his or her permanent address. Condition and Context: Exceptions were noted for 21 out of the 25 students tested. The exceptions are noted as follows:  For 18 students, their status was reported late to National Student Loan Data System (NSLDS) at the campus and/or program level.  For 15 students, incorrect statuses were reported to NSLDS at the campus and/or program level. The correct status was never reported.  For 2 students, no reporting was submitted to NSLDS at the campus or program level. Our sample was not statistically valid. Cause: The University uses the National Student Clearinghouse (NSC) to transmit enrollment information to NSLDS. The University transmitted enrollment information for the students identified in the first and second comments above to NSC, however the information was not in the proper format and, therefore, the status changes could not be properly recognized at NSLDS. The 2 students referred to above in the third comment were not reported due to an oversight in the Registrar’s office. The University’s process did not include a review of information reported back from NSLDS to identify the errors. Effect: The accuracy of the Title IV student loan records depends heavily on the accuracy of the enrollment information reported by schools. If an institution does not review, update, and verify student enrollment statuses, effective dates of the enrollment status, and the anticipated completion dates, then the Title IV student loan records will be inaccurate. Recommendation: The University should implement a process and related control to ensure accurate and timely reporting to NSLDS as well as working with NSC to proper formatting of reports. Management Response: Management agrees with the finding. The Director of Financial Aid and the Registrar will implement procedures and controls in fiscal 2025 to ensure accurate and timely updating of the enrollment reports to NSLDS.

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

Federal Program: Student Financial Assistance Cluster – Federal Direct Student Loans Federal Agency: U.S. Department of Education Pass-Through Entity: Not applicable Assistance Listing Number: 84.268 Federal Award Year: August 31, 2024 Criterion: Title IV regulations (34 CFR 685.309(b)) require that upon receipt of an enrollment report from the Secretary of the Department of Education (Secretary), institutions must update all information included in the report and return the report to the Secretary: (i) in the manner and format prescribed by the Secretary; and (ii) within the timeframe prescribed by the Secretary. Unless the institution expects to submit its next updated enrollment report to the Secretary within the next 60 days, an institution must notify the Secretary within 30 days after the date the institution discovers that: (i) a loan under Title IV of the Act was made to or on behalf of a student who was enrolled or accepted for enrollment at the institution, and the student has ceased to be enrolled on at least a halftime basis or failed to enroll on at least a half-time basis for the period for which the loan was intended or (ii) a student who is enrolled at the institution and who received a loan under Title IV of the Act has changed his or her permanent address. Condition and Context: Exceptions were noted for 21 out of the 25 students tested. The exceptions are noted as follows:  For 18 students, their status was reported late to National Student Loan Data System (NSLDS) at the campus and/or program level.  For 15 students, incorrect statuses were reported to NSLDS at the campus and/or program level. The correct status was never reported.  For 2 students, no reporting was submitted to NSLDS at the campus or program level. Our sample was not statistically valid. Cause: The University uses the National Student Clearinghouse (NSC) to transmit enrollment information to NSLDS. The University transmitted enrollment information for the students identified in the first and second comments above to NSC, however the information was not in the proper format and, therefore, the status changes could not be properly recognized at NSLDS. The 2 students referred to above in the third comment were not reported due to an oversight in the Registrar’s office. The University’s process did not include a review of information reported back from NSLDS to identify the errors. Effect: The accuracy of the Title IV student loan records depends heavily on the accuracy of the enrollment information reported by schools. If an institution does not review, update, and verify student enrollment statuses, effective dates of the enrollment status, and the anticipated completion dates, then the Title IV student loan records will be inaccurate. Recommendation: The University should implement a process and related control to ensure accurate and timely reporting to NSLDS as well as working with NSC to proper formatting of reports. Management Response: Management agrees with the finding. The Director of Financial Aid and the Registrar will implement procedures and controls in fiscal 2025 to ensure accurate and timely updating of the enrollment reports to NSLDS.

Corrective Action Plan

Point Park University submits the following corrective action plan for the year ended August 31, 2024. Finding 2024-001 - Enrollment Reporting Management Response: Management concurs with the finding Views of Responsible Officials and Corrective Action Plan: Point Park University uses the National Student Clearinghouse (NSC) to transmit enrollment information to the National Student Loan Data System (NSLDS). The University determined that students reported with incorrect status’s, students reported late, and students not reported; were due to incorrect formatting on an internally generated system report causing the status information to be incorrect. In addition, a final review of the information submitted to the NSC and the NSLDS did not take place. The following procedures have been implemented to ensure accurate reporting in the future. The internally generated report submitted to the NSC was modified to properly include all students enrolled and to correct all formatting errors which affected the student enrollment status. Once the report is submitted to the NSC, the Registrar will verify the total required enrolled students agrees with the total number of students received by the NSC. The Registrar will then correct any errors the NSC reports back to Point Park before submission to the NSLDS. After every submission, the Registrar performs a sample audit from Point Park’s system information and compares it to both the final information submitted to both the NSC and the NSLDS to make any final necessary corrections. The audit procedure is verified by management. Anticipated Completion Date: April 15, 2025 Name of Responsible Person: George Santucci, Director of Financial Aid

Prior Finding References

2023-002

About Special Tests and Provisions →

FY 2023-08-31

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$35,579,914 federal awards expended

FAC accepted this audit on May 8, 2024 — management decision was due November 8, 2024.

2023-001
Special Tests & Provisions
OTHER MATTERS

Federal Program: Student Financial Assistance Cluster - Federal Direct Student Loans Federal Agency: U.S. Department of Education Pass-Through Entity: Not applicable Assistance Listing Number: 84.268 Federal Award Year: June 30, 2023 Criterion: 34 CFR 668.22 requires that when a recipient of Title IV grant or loan assistance withdraws from an institution during a payment period or period of enrollment in which the recipient began attendance, the institution must determine the amount of Title IV grant or loan assistance that the student earned as of the student's withdrawal date in accordance with Federal regulations and return the unearned portion of the grant or loan funds to the Title IV programs as soon as possible but no later than 45 days after the withdrawal date. Condition and Context: The return of Title IV funding amount for one student, out of thirteen selected for testing, was not correctly calculated and an incorrect amount was returned within 45 days after the withdrawal date. Our sample was not statistically valid. Cause: The University did not properly calculate the number of days in a term by excluding the total number of days during the spring break, which resulted in an incorrect percentage of attendance to be used in the refund calculation. Effect: The University returned an incorrect amount based on the student’s percentage of completion in the semester. Recommendation: The University should reevaluate the existing process and related control to ensure that the Title IV funds are accurately calculated and returned to the Department of Education. Management Response: Management agrees with the finding. The Director of Financial Aid will ensure the implementation of procedures and controls in fiscal 2024 to ensure accurate calculation for return of Title IV funds.

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

Federal Program: Student Financial Assistance Cluster - Federal Direct Student Loans Federal Agency: U.S. Department of Education Pass-Through Entity: Not applicable Assistance Listing Number: 84.268 Federal Award Year: June 30, 2023 Criterion: 34 CFR 668.22 requires that when a recipient of Title IV grant or loan assistance withdraws from an institution during a payment period or period of enrollment in which the recipient began attendance, the institution must determine the amount of Title IV grant or loan assistance that the student earned as of the student's withdrawal date in accordance with Federal regulations and return the unearned portion of the grant or loan funds to the Title IV programs as soon as possible but no later than 45 days after the withdrawal date. Condition and Context: The return of Title IV funding amount for one student, out of thirteen selected for testing, was not correctly calculated and an incorrect amount was returned within 45 days after the withdrawal date. Our sample was not statistically valid. Cause: The University did not properly calculate the number of days in a term by excluding the total number of days during the spring break, which resulted in an incorrect percentage of attendance to be used in the refund calculation. Effect: The University returned an incorrect amount based on the student’s percentage of completion in the semester. Recommendation: The University should reevaluate the existing process and related control to ensure that the Title IV funds are accurately calculated and returned to the Department of Education. Management Response: Management agrees with the finding. The Director of Financial Aid will ensure the implementation of procedures and controls in fiscal 2024 to ensure accurate calculation for return of Title IV funds.

Corrective Action Plan

Finding 2023-001 - Return of Title IV Funds Management Response: Management concurs with the finding Views of Responsible Officials and Corrective Action Plan: Point Park University uses PowerFAIDS software to complete the Federal Return of Title IV calculation. The University reviewed the Return of Title IV process within PowerFAIDS and found that the days completed were not properly updated to exclude the days of the University's spring break from the numerator of the calculation. This resulted in an incorrect amount being returned. The University is in the process of returning the underpayment of $454 for the 2022-2023 academic year. The University is implementing an additional procedure to review each Return of Title IV calculation from PowerFAIDS prior to the issuance of the refund. A spreadsheet has been created to independently check each calculation based upon withdrawal dates, number of days in the semester, number of davs completed and factoring in break days as applicable. Anticipated Completion Date: April 30, 2024 Name of Responsible Person: George Santucci, Director of Financial Aid (412) 392-3498 gsantucci@pointpark.edu

About Special Tests and Provisions →
2023-002
Special Tests & Provisions
SIGNIFICANT DEFICIENCYOTHER MATTERS

Federal Program: Student Financial Assistance Cluster – Federal Pell Grant Program, Federal Direct Student Loans Federal Agency: U.S. Department of Education Pass-Through Entity: Not applicable Assistance Listing Number: 84.063, 84.268 Federal Award Year: June 30, 2023 Criterion: Title IV regulations (34 CFR 685.309(b)) require that upon receipt of an enrollment report from the Secretary of the Department of Education (Secretary), institutions must update all information included in the report and return the report to the Secretary: (i) in the manner and format prescribed by the Secretary; and (ii) within the timeframe prescribed by the Secretary. Unless the institution expects to submit its next updated enrollment report to the Secretary within the next 60 days, an institution must notify the Secretary within 30 days after the date the institution discovers that: (i) a loan under Title IV of the Act was made to or on behalf of a student who was enrolled or accepted for enrollment at the institution, and the student has ceased to be enrolled on at least a half-time basis or failed to enroll on at least a half-time basis for the period for which the loan was intended or (ii) a student who is enrolled at the institution and who received a loan under Title IV of the Act has changed his or her permanent address. Condition and Context: Exceptions were noted for five out of the twenty-five students tested. The exceptions are noted as follows: • For two students, their status was reported late to National Student Loan Data System (NSLDS) at the campus and program level. • For two students, incorrect statuses were reported to NSLDS at the campus and program level. The correct status was never reported. • For one student, no reporting was submitted to NSLDS at the campus or program level. Our sample was not statistically valid. Cause: The University uses the National Student Clearinghouse (NSC) to transmit enrollment information to NSLDS. The University transmitted correct enrollment information for the students identified above to NSC, yet the campus level and program level information was not correct in NSLDS. The University’s process did not ensure accurate reporting to NSLDS. Effect: The accuracy of the Title IV student loan records depends heavily on the accuracy of the enrollment information reported by schools. If an institution does not review, update, and verify student enrollment statuses, effective dates of the enrollment status, and the anticipated completion dates, then the Title IV student loan records will be inaccurate. Recommendation: The University should implement a process and related control to ensure accurate and timely reporting to NSLDS as well as working with NSC to understand the discrepancy in reporting to NSLDS. Management Response: Management agrees with the finding. The Director of Financial Aid and the Registrar will ensure the implementation of procedures and controls in fiscal 2024 to ensure accurate and timely updating of the enrollment reports to NSLDS.

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

Federal Program: Student Financial Assistance Cluster – Federal Pell Grant Program, Federal Direct Student Loans Federal Agency: U.S. Department of Education Pass-Through Entity: Not applicable Assistance Listing Number: 84.063, 84.268 Federal Award Year: June 30, 2023 Criterion: Title IV regulations (34 CFR 685.309(b)) require that upon receipt of an enrollment report from the Secretary of the Department of Education (Secretary), institutions must update all information included in the report and return the report to the Secretary: (i) in the manner and format prescribed by the Secretary; and (ii) within the timeframe prescribed by the Secretary. Unless the institution expects to submit its next updated enrollment report to the Secretary within the next 60 days, an institution must notify the Secretary within 30 days after the date the institution discovers that: (i) a loan under Title IV of the Act was made to or on behalf of a student who was enrolled or accepted for enrollment at the institution, and the student has ceased to be enrolled on at least a half-time basis or failed to enroll on at least a half-time basis for the period for which the loan was intended or (ii) a student who is enrolled at the institution and who received a loan under Title IV of the Act has changed his or her permanent address. Condition and Context: Exceptions were noted for five out of the twenty-five students tested. The exceptions are noted as follows: • For two students, their status was reported late to National Student Loan Data System (NSLDS) at the campus and program level. • For two students, incorrect statuses were reported to NSLDS at the campus and program level. The correct status was never reported. • For one student, no reporting was submitted to NSLDS at the campus or program level. Our sample was not statistically valid. Cause: The University uses the National Student Clearinghouse (NSC) to transmit enrollment information to NSLDS. The University transmitted correct enrollment information for the students identified above to NSC, yet the campus level and program level information was not correct in NSLDS. The University’s process did not ensure accurate reporting to NSLDS. Effect: The accuracy of the Title IV student loan records depends heavily on the accuracy of the enrollment information reported by schools. If an institution does not review, update, and verify student enrollment statuses, effective dates of the enrollment status, and the anticipated completion dates, then the Title IV student loan records will be inaccurate. Recommendation: The University should implement a process and related control to ensure accurate and timely reporting to NSLDS as well as working with NSC to understand the discrepancy in reporting to NSLDS. Management Response: Management agrees with the finding. The Director of Financial Aid and the Registrar will ensure the implementation of procedures and controls in fiscal 2024 to ensure accurate and timely updating of the enrollment reports to NSLDS.

Corrective Action Plan

Finding 2023-002 - Enrollment Reporting Management Response: Management concurs with the finding Views of Responsible Officials and Corrective Action Plan: Point Park University uses the National Student Clearinghouse (NSC) to transmit enrollment information to the National Student Loan Data System (NSLDS). The University has verified that the student status changes were correctly submitted to the NSC, however the campus and program level information was not properly reflected in NSLDS and did not appear on the error report. The University's Financial Aid Office in conjunction with Registrar's office will implement a 45-day report to verify that all student enrollment status changes are properly reported to NSLDS via the NSC. The discovery of any status changes did not reach NSLDS will be manually reported directly on the NSLDS platform. Anticipated Completion Date: May 31, 2024 Name of Responsible Person: George Santucci, Director of Financial Aid (412) 392-3498 gsantucci@pointpark.edu

About Special Tests and Provisions →

FY 2022-08-31

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$46,656,868 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on February 24, 2023 — management decision was due August 24, 2023.

FY 2021-08-31

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$46,065,673 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on May 30, 2022 — management decision was due November 30, 2022.

FY 2020-08-31

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$46,468,232 federal awards expended

FAC accepted this audit on November 9, 2021 — management decision was due May 9, 2022.

2020-001
Other
OTHER MATTERS

Finding 2020-001 - Return of Title IV Funds Federal Program - Federal Direct Student Loans Federal Agency - U.S. Department of Education Pass-Through Entity - Not Applicable Assistance Listing Number - 84.268 Federal Award Year - August 31, 2020 Criteria: When a recipient of a Title IV grant or loan assistance withdraws from an institution during a payment period, Title IV regulations (34 CFR 668.22) require the institution to determine the amount of Title IV grant or loan assistance that the student earned as of the withdrawal date and return the unearned portion of the grant or loan to the Title IV programs as soon as possible but no later than 45 days after the withdrawal date. Condition/Context: The federal aid refund for 1 of 12 students tested was not correctly calculated or returned within 45 days from the date of withdrawal. The sample was not a statistically valid sample. Cause: There is a flaw in the Powerfaids software that the University uses to calculate the return of Title IV funds, which was not identified. Effect: The University did not properly calculate the student?s refund and The University did not return the student?s refund within the 45 day time frame. Questioned Costs: Not applicable. Recommendation: The University should reevaluate the process around Return of Title IV calculations and the related return of funds. The processing of refund transactions should be tracked and monitored to ensure timely return of funds. Views of Responsible Officials and Planned Corrective Actions: Upon careful analysis of the record of the student in question, it was discovered that the Complete Withdrawal workflow process was not properly initiated on the student because of a flaw in the Powerfaids software. In recognition of that issue and to prevent its occurrence in the future, a step has been added to the procedure to refresh the Powerfaids screen once the withdrawal date is entered in order to ensure the correct amount of days attended are calculated.

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

Finding 2020-001 - Return of Title IV Funds Federal Program - Federal Direct Student Loans Federal Agency - U.S. Department of Education Pass-Through Entity - Not Applicable Assistance Listing Number - 84.268 Federal Award Year - August 31, 2020 Criteria: When a recipient of a Title IV grant or loan assistance withdraws from an institution during a payment period, Title IV regulations (34 CFR 668.22) require the institution to determine the amount of Title IV grant or loan assistance that the student earned as of the withdrawal date and return the unearned portion of the grant or loan to the Title IV programs as soon as possible but no later than 45 days after the withdrawal date. Condition/Context: The federal aid refund for 1 of 12 students tested was not correctly calculated or returned within 45 days from the date of withdrawal. The sample was not a statistically valid sample. Cause: There is a flaw in the Powerfaids software that the University uses to calculate the return of Title IV funds, which was not identified. Effect: The University did not properly calculate the student?s refund and The University did not return the student?s refund within the 45 day time frame. Questioned Costs: Not applicable. Recommendation: The University should reevaluate the process around Return of Title IV calculations and the related return of funds. The processing of refund transactions should be tracked and monitored to ensure timely return of funds. Views of Responsible Officials and Planned Corrective Actions: Upon careful analysis of the record of the student in question, it was discovered that the Complete Withdrawal workflow process was not properly initiated on the student because of a flaw in the Powerfaids software. In recognition of that issue and to prevent its occurrence in the future, a step has been added to the procedure to refresh the Powerfaids screen once the withdrawal date is entered in order to ensure the correct amount of days attended are calculated.

Corrective Action Plan

CURRENT YEAR FEDERAL AWARD FINDINGS AND QUESTIONED COSTS FINDING 2020-001-Return of Title IV Funds Management Response: We Concur. Views of Responsible Officials and Corrective Action: Point Park uses Powerfaids software to complete the Federal Return of Title IV calculation. We reviewed the R2T4 process within Powerfaids and found that the days completed did not update accurately for the student. Point Park will be implementing an additional step during the calculation process that will ensure that the proper number of days are used for the R2T4 calculations. The University is in the process of returning the underpayment of $3,140 for the 2019-2020 academic year. Anticipated Completion Date: August 10,2021 Name of Responsible Person: George Santucci, Director Financial Aid (412) 392-3913 gsantucci@pointpark.edu

About Other →

FY 2019-08-31

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$45,969,772 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on March 11, 2020 — management decision was due September 11, 2020.

FY 2018-08-31

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$47,338,018 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on March 6, 2019 — management decision was due September 6, 2019.

FY 2017-08-31

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$45,385,810 federal awards expended

FAC accepted this audit on February 12, 2018 — management decision was due August 12, 2018.

2017-001
Special Tests & Provisions
REPEAT OF 2016-002OTHER MATTERS

GSA_MIGRATION

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

GSA_MIGRATION

Corrective Action Plan

GSA_MIGRATION

Prior Finding References

2016-002

About Special Tests and Provisions →

FY 2016-08-31

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$44,475,712 federal awards expended

FAC accepted this audit on February 28, 2017 — management decision was due August 28, 2017.

2016-001
Special Tests & Provisions
OTHER MATTERS

GSA_MIGRATION

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

GSA_MIGRATION

Corrective Action Plan

GSA_MIGRATION

About Special Tests and Provisions →
2016-002
Special Tests & Provisions
REPEAT OF 2015-001OTHER MATTERS

GSA_MIGRATION

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

GSA_MIGRATION

Corrective Action Plan

GSA_MIGRATION

Prior Finding References

2015-001

About Special Tests and Provisions →

Data source: This information comes from the Federal Audit Clearinghouse, the official repository of Single Audit data. All data is public domain. Verify this organization's audit history at fac.gov.

Browse other Single Audit organizations in Pennsylvania

Are you this organization?

Track your findings and corrective action plans across audit cycles.

Start tracking findings →

Do you fund this organization?

Monitor subrecipient audit findings and filing records.

Start monitoring →

Product

Resources

Legal

Single Audit Intelligence is an independent tool powered by Federal Audit Clearinghouse data. Not affiliated with GSA, OMB, or any federal agency.

© 2026 Single Audit Intelligence. All data is public domain.