← Back to home

Franklin & Marshall CollegeHigher Education

EIN: 231352635

UEI: P4NXVGAJNQK3

Audited by: Baker Tilly US, LLP

Oversight agency: 84 [Department of Education]

View federal awards & risk assessment →

Data as of September 2, 2026

Franklin & Marshall College10 audit years2 findings
10
Audit Years
2
Total Findings
0
Repeat Findings
$12.6M
Federal Awards Expended (FY 2025)

FY 2025-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$12,593,492 federal awards expended

Management decision deadline — for entities that funded this organization

The FAC accepted this audit on March 13, 2026. Under 2 CFR 200.521(d), a pass-through entity that provided federal funds to this organization for this audit period must issue a management decision on these findings by September 13, 2026 (8 days from today).

What is a management decision? →
2025-001
Special Tests & Provisions
OTHER MATTERS

Federal Program Title: Federal Direct Student Loans Federal Agency: U.S. Department of Education Pass-Through Entity: Not Applicable Program Assistance Listing No: 84.268 Federal Award Year: June 30, 2025 Award Number: N/A Criteria: Title IV regulations (34 CFR 685.309(b)) require that upon receipt of an enrollment report from the Secretary, institutions must update all information included in the report and return the report to the Secretary: (i) in the manner and format prescribed by the Secretary; and (ii) within the timeframe prescribed by the Secretary. Unless it expects to submit its next updated enrollment report to the Secretary within the next 60 days, an institution must notify the Secretary within 30 days after the date the institution discovers that: (i) a loan under Title IV of the Act was made to or on behalf of a student who was enrolled or accepted for enrollment at the institution, and the student has ceased to be enrolled on at least a half-time basis or failed to enroll on at least a half-time basis for the period for which the loan was intended; or (ii) a student who is enrolled at the institution and who received a loan under Title IV of the Act has changed his or her permanent address. Condition and Context: The change in student status for 1 of the 25 students tested was not reported to the National Student Loan Data Systems (NSLDS) within 30 days or included in a response to a roster file within 60 days. Our sample was not a statistically valid sample. Cause: The exception resulted from delays in processing the student’s leave of absence (LOA) documentation and in issuing the required student notification letter, which led to misalignment between the College’s internal records and the effective date reported to NSLDS. Effect: Failure to report accurate enrollment status changes on a timely basis may result in inaccurate information within NSLDS, which could impact the proper administration of Title IV aid, including loan repayment status, deferment eligibility, and federal oversight monitoring. Recommendation: The College should refine processes regarding the timely processing of LOA requests and related student notifications to ensure enrollment status changes are reported accurately and promptly to NSLDS in accordance with federal requirements. Questioned Costs: None noted. Views of Responsible Officials and Planned Corrective Actions: The College will ensure the accuracy of reports sent to NSLDS by making changes to their staffing structure and roles surrounding student leave of absences and withdrawals. The College hired a single administrator who assists students through the process of requesting a leave of absence or a withdrawal and processes all leaves, making the system more efficient. The Office of Financial Aid will continue to process Return to Title IV calculations immediately when notified about a Title IV recipient’s leave of absence or withdrawal.

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

Federal Program Title: Federal Direct Student Loans Federal Agency: U.S. Department of Education Pass-Through Entity: Not Applicable Program Assistance Listing No: 84.268 Federal Award Year: June 30, 2025 Award Number: N/A Criteria: Title IV regulations (34 CFR 685.309(b)) require that upon receipt of an enrollment report from the Secretary, institutions must update all information included in the report and return the report to the Secretary: (i) in the manner and format prescribed by the Secretary; and (ii) within the timeframe prescribed by the Secretary. Unless it expects to submit its next updated enrollment report to the Secretary within the next 60 days, an institution must notify the Secretary within 30 days after the date the institution discovers that: (i) a loan under Title IV of the Act was made to or on behalf of a student who was enrolled or accepted for enrollment at the institution, and the student has ceased to be enrolled on at least a half-time basis or failed to enroll on at least a half-time basis for the period for which the loan was intended; or (ii) a student who is enrolled at the institution and who received a loan under Title IV of the Act has changed his or her permanent address. Condition and Context: The change in student status for 1 of the 25 students tested was not reported to the National Student Loan Data Systems (NSLDS) within 30 days or included in a response to a roster file within 60 days. Our sample was not a statistically valid sample. Cause: The exception resulted from delays in processing the student’s leave of absence (LOA) documentation and in issuing the required student notification letter, which led to misalignment between the College’s internal records and the effective date reported to NSLDS. Effect: Failure to report accurate enrollment status changes on a timely basis may result in inaccurate information within NSLDS, which could impact the proper administration of Title IV aid, including loan repayment status, deferment eligibility, and federal oversight monitoring. Recommendation: The College should refine processes regarding the timely processing of LOA requests and related student notifications to ensure enrollment status changes are reported accurately and promptly to NSLDS in accordance with federal requirements. Questioned Costs: None noted. Views of Responsible Officials and Planned Corrective Actions: The College will ensure the accuracy of reports sent to NSLDS by making changes to their staffing structure and roles surrounding student leave of absences and withdrawals. The College hired a single administrator who assists students through the process of requesting a leave of absence or a withdrawal and processes all leaves, making the system more efficient. The Office of Financial Aid will continue to process Return to Title IV calculations immediately when notified about a Title IV recipient’s leave of absence or withdrawal.

Corrective Action Plan

The College will ensure the accuracy of reports sent to NSLDS by making changes to their staffing structure and roles surrounding student leave of absences and withdrawals. The College hired a single administrator who assists students through the process of requesting a leave of absence or a withdrawal and processes all leaves, making the system more efficient. The Office of Financial Aid will continue to process Return to Title IV calculations immediately when notified about a Title IV recipient’s leave of absence or withdrawal.

About Special Tests and Provisions →

FY 2024-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$14,208,483 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on March 12, 2025 — management decision was due September 12, 2025.

FY 2023-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$13,418,885 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on March 26, 2024 — management decision was due September 26, 2024.

FY 2022-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$18,471,809 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on March 6, 2023 — management decision was due September 6, 2023.

FY 2021-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$17,222,405 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on March 1, 2022 — management decision was due September 1, 2022.

FY 2020-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$16,445,186 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on May 16, 2021 — management decision was due November 16, 2021.

FY 2019-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$15,351,389 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on March 8, 2020 — management decision was due September 8, 2020.

FY 2018-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$16,345,622 federal awards expended

FAC accepted this audit on March 17, 2019 — management decision was due September 17, 2019.

2018-001
Special Tests & Provisions
SIGNIFICANT DEFICIENCYQUESTIONED COSTSOTHER MATTERS

GSA_MIGRATION

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

GSA_MIGRATION

Corrective Action Plan

GSA_MIGRATION

About Special Tests and Provisions →

FY 2017-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$16,551,808 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on March 19, 2018 — management decision was due September 19, 2018.

FY 2016-06-30

$13,551,131 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on March 26, 2017 — management decision was due September 26, 2017.

Data source: This information comes from the Federal Audit Clearinghouse, the official repository of Single Audit data. All data is public domain. Verify this organization's audit history at fac.gov.

Browse other Single Audit organizations in Pennsylvania

Are you this organization?

Track your findings and corrective action plans across audit cycles.

Start tracking findings →

Do you fund this organization?

Add it to a monitored group and get alerted when a new audit, finding, repeat finding, or management-decision deadline shows up — instead of checking back.

Checking several at once? Portfolio view →

Product

Resources

Legal

Single Audit Intelligence is an independent tool powered by Federal Audit Clearinghouse data. Not affiliated with GSA, OMB, or any federal agency.

© 2026 Single Audit Intelligence. All data is public domain.