← Back to home

Ursinus CollegeHigher Education

EIN: 231177930

UEI: V5D6CC6CVHJ7

Audited by: Baker Tilly US, LLP

Oversight agency: 84 [Department of Education]

View federal awards & risk assessment →

Data as of August 31, 2026

Ursinus College10 audit years3 findings
10
Audit Years
3
Total Findings
0
Repeat Findings
$14.1M
Federal Awards Expended (FY 2025)

FY 2025-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$14,127,394 federal awards expended

Management decision deadline — for entities that funded this organization

The FAC accepted this audit on March 26, 2026. Under 2 CFR 200.521(d), a pass-through entity that provided federal funds to this organization for this audit period must issue a management decision on these findings by September 26, 2026 (25 days from today).

What is a management decision? →
2025-001
Special Tests & Provisions
OTHER MATTERS

The change in student status for 1 of the 25 students tested was not reported to the National Student Loan Data Systems (NSLDS) within 30 days or included in a response to a roster file within 60 days. However, the student was ultimately reported to the NSLDS. The sample was not a statistically valid sample but was determined using Chapter 21 - Audit Sampling Considerations of Uniform Guidance Compliance Audits of the Government Auditing Standards and Single Audit Guide. Cause: The College's procedures for reporting all student status changes were not appropriately followed to allow for timely and accurate reporting to NSLDS. Effect: The accuracy of Title IV student loan records depends heavily on the accuracy of the enrollment information reported by the College. If an institution does not review, update and verify student enrollment statuses, effective dates of the enrollment status and the anticipated completion dates, then the Title IV student loan records will be inaccurate and could affect student loan repayments. Questioned Costs: None. Recommendation: The College should review their policy on enrollment reporting to NSLDS to ensure all status changes during the year are reported in a timely and accurate manner.   Views of Responsible Officials and Planned Corrective Actions: To prevent this situation from arising in the future, the College has changed the way students are tracked when degree conferrals are entered into the student information system after the date on which the graduates upload has been sent to National Student Clearinghouse (NSC). This process change will highlight those students whose conferrals must be manually reported to NSC because they were not included in the initial upload of graduates sent to NSC. In addition, students taking credits off campus are now required to have transcripts submitted to the office within 30 days of the conferral date. If transcripts containing credits necessary for graduation are received more than 30 days after the conferral date, the student’s degree conferral will be pushed back to the next available degree conferral date.

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

Finding 2025-001: Enrollment Reporting Federal Program: Federal Direct Student Loan Program Federal Agency: U.S. Department of Education Pass-Through Entity: Not applicable Assistance Listing Number: 84.268 Federal Award Year: June 30, 2025 Criteria: Title IV regulations (34 CFR 685.309(b)) require that upon receipt of an enrollment report from the Department of Education Office of the Secretary (Secretary), institutions must update all information included in the report and return the report to the Secretary: (i) in the manner and format prescribed by the Secretary; and (ii) within the timeframe prescribed by the Secretary. Unless it expects to submit its next updated enrollment report to the Secretary within the next 60 days, an institution must notify the Secretary within 30 days after the date the institution discovers that: (i) a loan under Title IV of the Act was made to or on behalf of a student who was enrolled or accepted for enrollment at the institution, and the student has ceased to be enrolled on at least a half-time basis or failed to enroll on at least a half-time basis for the period for which the loan was intended; or (ii) a student who is enrolled at the institution and who received a loan under Title IV of the Act has changed his or her permanent address. Condition: The change in student status for 1 of the 25 students tested was not reported to the National Student Loan Data Systems (NSLDS) within 30 days or included in a response to a roster file within 60 days. However, the student was ultimately reported to the NSLDS. The sample was not a statistically valid sample but was determined using Chapter 21 - Audit Sampling Considerations of Uniform Guidance Compliance Audits of the Government Auditing Standards and Single Audit Guide. Cause: The College's procedures for reporting all student status changes were not appropriately followed to allow for timely and accurate reporting to NSLDS. Effect: The accuracy of Title IV student loan records depends heavily on the accuracy of the enrollment information reported by the College. If an institution does not review, update and verify student enrollment statuses, effective dates of the enrollment status and the anticipated completion dates, then the Title IV student loan records will be inaccurate and could affect student loan repayments. Questioned Costs: None. Recommendation: The College should review their policy on enrollment reporting to NSLDS to ensure all status changes during the year are reported in a timely and accurate manner.   Views of Responsible Officials and Planned Corrective Actions: To prevent this situation from arising in the future, the College has changed the way students are tracked when degree conferrals are entered into the student information system after the date on which the graduates upload has been sent to National Student Clearinghouse (NSC). This process change will highlight those students whose conferrals must be manually reported to NSC because they were not included in the initial upload of graduates sent to NSC. In addition, students taking credits off campus are now required to have transcripts submitted to the office within 30 days of the conferral date. If transcripts containing credits necessary for graduation are received more than 30 days after the conferral date, the student’s degree conferral will be pushed back to the next available degree conferral date.

Corrective Action Plan

Finding 2025-001 Condition During our audit, for 1 out of 25 students selected for testing, the College did not report to the National Student Clearninghouse (NSC) and the National Student Loan Data System (NSLDS) within 30 days or included in a response to a roster file within 60 days. However, the student was ultimately reported to the NSC and NSLDS. Corrective Action Plan The graduation status of the student was not reported to NSC and NSLDS in a timely manner. The student qualified as a May 2025 graduate. However, at the point in time at which May graduates were reported to NSC, the final transcripts for the off-campus credits the student used to complete his degree had not yet been received. As a result, his degree was not conferred in the student information system until after the degree upload was sent to NSC. Then, by human error, once the student’s transcripts were received, his graduation status was not manually reported to NSC until after the 60-day reporting period had passed. To prevent this situation from arising in the future, we have changed the way we track students whose degree conferrals are entered into the SIS after the date on which the graduates upload has been sent to NSC. This process change will highlight those students whose conferrals must be manually reported to NSC because they were not included in the initial upload of graduates sent to NSC. We will also require students sending transcripts for credits taken off campus to have those transcripts received by our office within 30 days of the conferral date. If transcripts containing credits necessary for graduation are received more than 30 days after the conferral date, the student’s degree conferral will be pushed back to the next available degree conferral data. Name of Contact Person Responsible for Corrective Action: Michael Reig, Registrar Completion Date: December 1, 2025

About Special Tests and Provisions →

FY 2024-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$13,340,265 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on December 18, 2024 — management decision was due June 18, 2025.

FY 2023-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$14,063,925 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on February 28, 2024 — management decision was due August 28, 2024.

FY 2022-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$16,520,729 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on March 27, 2023 — management decision was due September 27, 2023.

FY 2021-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$16,111,310 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on June 28, 2022 — management decision was due December 28, 2022.

FY 2020-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$15,553,359 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on March 29, 2021 — management decision was due September 29, 2021.

FY 2019-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$14,360,297 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on February 10, 2020 — management decision was due August 10, 2020.

FY 2018-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$14,146,358 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on February 24, 2019 — management decision was due August 24, 2019.

FY 2017-06-30

$14,373,029 federal awards expended

FAC accepted this audit on November 19, 2017 — management decision was due May 19, 2018.

2017-002
Special Tests & Provisions
OTHER MATTERS

GSA_MIGRATION

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

GSA_MIGRATION

Corrective Action Plan

GSA_MIGRATION

About Special Tests and Provisions →

FY 2016-06-30

$14,828,990 federal awards expended

FAC accepted this audit on November 10, 2016 — management decision was due May 10, 2017.

2016-001
Reporting
OTHER MATTERS

GSA_MIGRATION

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

GSA_MIGRATION

Corrective Action Plan

GSA_MIGRATION

About Reporting →

Data source: This information comes from the Federal Audit Clearinghouse, the official repository of Single Audit data. All data is public domain. Verify this organization's audit history at fac.gov.

Browse other Single Audit organizations in Pennsylvania

Are you this organization?

Track your findings and corrective action plans across audit cycles.

Start tracking findings →

Do you fund this organization?

Monitor subrecipient audit findings and filing records.

Start monitoring →

Product

Resources

Legal

Single Audit Intelligence is an independent tool powered by Federal Audit Clearinghouse data. Not affiliated with GSA, OMB, or any federal agency.

© 2026 Single Audit Intelligence. All data is public domain.