← Back to home

Mount Saint Mary CollegeNon-Profit

EIN: 141468399

UEI: JACLBNXLSF44

Audited by: Crowe LLP

Oversight agency: 84 [Department of Education]

View federal awards & risk assessment →

Data as of September 7, 2026

Mount Saint Mary College10 audit years6 findings
10
Audit Years
6
Total Findings
0
Repeat Findings
$14.8M
Federal Awards Expended (FY 2025)

FY 2025-06-30

$14,817,073 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

Management decision deadline — for entities that funded this organization

The FAC accepted this audit on February 6, 2026. Under 2 CFR 200.521(d), a pass-through entity that provided federal funds to this organization for this audit period must issue a management decision on these findings by August 6, 2026 (35 days ago).

What is a management decision? →
Funder? Track this deadline →

FY 2024-06-30

$15,211,803 federal awards expended

FAC accepted this audit on November 1, 2024 — management decision was due May 1, 2025.

2024-001
Cash Management
SIGNIFICANT DEFICIENCY

The College has a monthly reconciliation process in place between its system, Jenzabar Financial Aid (JFA), and COD on a monthly basis but not with the G5 system. Further, the G5 reconciliation is done only on a quarterly basis.

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

The College has a monthly reconciliation process in place between its system, Jenzabar Financial Aid (JFA), and COD on a monthly basis but not with the G5 system. Further, the G5 reconciliation is done only on a quarterly basis.

Corrective Action Plan

Reconciliation was performed on a monthly basis through our office but files were loaded in through the JFA “reconciliation” feature. When you load files into the system it overwrites the previous file. In the 2024-2025 year we have taken screen shots of our current funding level (CFL) on the COD system for each month we are reconciling. We have downloaded the reconciliation files out of the JFA system so that we can provide a paper-trail that auditing of student records were completed through the three systems.

About Cash Management →
2024-002
Reporting
SIGNIFICANT DEFICIENCY

For twenty eight out of sixty sample students tested, disbursement details were submitted to COD more than 15 days from the actual disbursement date. This was due to a system error that the College encountered with its system, JFA; For forty eight out of sixty sample students tested, the disbursement date per student account statement and COD did not match; and For one out of sixty sample students tested, there was a disbursement date of February 28, 2024 but it was not reported to COD until October 4, 2024.

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

For twenty eight out of sixty sample students tested, disbursement details were submitted to COD more than 15 days from the actual disbursement date. This was due to a system error that the College encountered with its system, JFA; For forty eight out of sixty sample students tested, the disbursement date per student account statement and COD did not match; and For one out of sixty sample students tested, there was a disbursement date of February 28, 2024 but it was not reported to COD until October 4, 2024.

Corrective Action Plan

In the JFA system you have to manually input the disbursement date of the loans prior to sending out the disbursement request file. We have ensured that in the 2024-2025 processing year we inputted that disbursement date so it reflects the day you are sending out files, not the automatically generated disbursement date through JFA. This will ensure timely reporting of disbursement dates/processing dates on COD and on the student account statements

About Reporting →

FY 2023-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$16,911,050 federal awards expended

FAC accepted this audit on March 11, 2024 — management decision was due September 11, 2024.

2023-001
Reporting
SIGNIFICANT DEFICIENCY

The information included in FISAP should agree with the College’s records. For Section 24 of Part II, a variance of $1,462,109 was noted related to state grant and scholarship made. FISAP reported $0 for the state grant and scholarship made

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

The information included in FISAP should agree with the College’s records. For Section 24 of Part II, a variance of $1,462,109 was noted related to state grant and scholarship made. FISAP reported $0 for the state grant and scholarship made

Corrective Action Plan

The College recognizes the importance of reporting FISAP information accurately and will incorporate additional review processes to ensure its completeness and accuracy in the future.

About Reporting →
2023-002
Special Tests & Provisions
MATERIAL WEAKNESS

For thirty-seven out of forty samples tested, the College was unable to provide support that the notifications were sent to students/parents indicating (1) the date and amount of the disbursement; (2) the student/parent’s right to cancel; and (3) the procedure and time by which the student or parent must notify the institution that he or she wishes to cancel. These was due to the documents lost during the cyber breach. For four out of forty samples tested, the student’s status was either, not accurately reflected in NSLDS or not reported to NSLDS in a timely manner. This was due to losing the script detail which produced the NSC transmittal file from the student information system during the cyber breach.

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

For thirty-seven out of forty samples tested, the College was unable to provide support that the notifications were sent to students/parents indicating (1) the date and amount of the disbursement; (2) the student/parent’s right to cancel; and (3) the procedure and time by which the student or parent must notify the institution that he or she wishes to cancel. These was due to the documents lost during the cyber breach. For four out of forty samples tested, the student’s status was either, not accurately reflected in NSLDS or not reported to NSLDS in a timely manner. This was due to losing the script detail which produced the NSC transmittal file from the student information system during the cyber breach.

Corrective Action Plan

The College believes that the documents were completed and sent to the thirty-seven individuals concerned, however due to the cyber breach were unable to provide the requested documents. The College recognizes the importance of substantiating the information and has always been able to substantiate it in prior year audits. The College uses the National Student Clearinghouse (NSC) to report student information to the NSLDS and is working with their student information system to ensure accurate student detail is submitted to the NSC on a timely manner. The College has addressed the cyber breach by enhancing security and access for all users (students and employees), upgrading software such as improved firewalls and multi-factor authentication, upgrading equipment where needed and moved most applications to cloud-based providers for better security.

About Special Tests and Provisions →
2023-003
Special Tests & Provisions
SIGNIFICANT DEFICIENCY

The following items are noted related to disbursements to and behalf of certain students: (1) For one out of forty samples tested, the student did not receive the maximum subsidized loan amount prior to disbursing unsubsidized loans; (2) For one out of forty samples tested, the student had more than $200 from current year's Title IV funds applied to pay off a prior year balance; (3) For the forty samples selected, three students were first time borrowers. For two out of six first time borrowers, the direct loans were disbursed less than 30 days from when the classes started; and (4) For one of the forty samples tested, the student had a credit balance of more than $200 at the end of the academic year that was refunded more than 14 days of when the Title IV funds were posted on student's account statement.

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

The following items are noted related to disbursements to and behalf of certain students: (1) For one out of forty samples tested, the student did not receive the maximum subsidized loan amount prior to disbursing unsubsidized loans; (2) For one out of forty samples tested, the student had more than $200 from current year's Title IV funds applied to pay off a prior year balance; (3) For the forty samples selected, three students were first time borrowers. For two out of six first time borrowers, the direct loans were disbursed less than 30 days from when the classes started; and (4) For one of the forty samples tested, the student had a credit balance of more than $200 at the end of the academic year that was refunded more than 14 days of when the Title IV funds were posted on student's account statement.

Corrective Action Plan

The current administration recognizes that the control environment over disbursements and refunds must be strengthened. The College will establish controls to ensure that the 30-day wait period for federal direct loans to first-time full-time borrowers will be adhered to. To this effect, we have worked with our software provider and their consultant to ensure that the new system of record, JFA, is picking up the correct students and placing holds on FTFT student records to prevent early disbursement. Also, to ensure students are receiving the maximum subsidized loan amount prior to disbursing unsubsidized loans, a review of subsequent ISIR records has been set in place, and additional staff in have been hired so that they can assist in complying with federal law. Finally, the College will review and evaluate all policies and procedures related to the timely processing of refunds. We have proper audits and trained staff members in place to be sure that we are running refund reports once per week ensuring the timely processing of credit balances and verifying that past due balances aren’t being funded with Title IV aid.

About Special Tests and Provisions →

FY 2022-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$19,008,559 federal awards expended

FAC accepted this audit on October 20, 2022 — management decision was due April 20, 2023.

2022-001
Special Tests & Provisions
SIGNIFICANT DEFICIENCY

For one out of 40 samples tested, the student?s status was not accurately reflected to the NSLDS. The College utilizes a third party service company to administer reporting to the NSLDS. Although the College reported the accurate status to the third party, NSLDS was inaccurately updated. The student was in a 5-year program where both the undergraduate and graduate degree are issued concurrently once all requirements are met. The student completed all credit bearing courses in the Fall of 2021 and was required to take an exam during his spring semester to graduate. The most recent NSLDS reporting indicated a withdrawal status effective December 2021 instead of half-time per the College?s records. Further, the student?s school records indicated graduated effective May 2022.

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

For one out of 40 samples tested, the student?s status was not accurately reflected to the NSLDS. The College utilizes a third party service company to administer reporting to the NSLDS. Although the College reported the accurate status to the third party, NSLDS was inaccurately updated. The student was in a 5-year program where both the undergraduate and graduate degree are issued concurrently once all requirements are met. The student completed all credit bearing courses in the Fall of 2021 and was required to take an exam during his spring semester to graduate. The most recent NSLDS reporting indicated a withdrawal status effective December 2021 instead of half-time per the College?s records. Further, the student?s school records indicated graduated effective May 2022.

Corrective Action Plan

The College will put additional processes in place to ensure that student information is reviewed and reconciled between the NSC and NSLDS systems.

About Special Tests and Provisions →

FY 2021-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$29,289,596 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on November 16, 2021 — management decision was due May 16, 2022.

FY 2020-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$26,861,201 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on April 18, 2021 — management decision was due October 18, 2021.

FY 2019-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$26,402,910 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on November 10, 2019 — management decision was due May 10, 2020.

FY 2018-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$27,547,351 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on November 14, 2018 — management decision was due May 14, 2019.

FY 2017-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$27,495,565 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on November 26, 2017 — management decision was due May 26, 2018.

FY 2016-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$27,586,901 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on November 22, 2016 — management decision was due May 22, 2017.

Browse other Single Audit organizations in New York

Start tracking findings →

Do you fund this organization?

Add it to a monitored group and get alerted when a new audit, finding, repeat finding, or management-decision deadline shows up — instead of checking back.

Checking several at once? Portfolio view →

Product

Resources

Legal

Single Audit Intelligence is an independent tool powered by Federal Audit Clearinghouse data. Not affiliated with GSA, OMB, or any federal agency.

© 2026 Single Audit Intelligence. All data is public domain.