← Back to home

INSTITUTE FOR HUMAN CENTERED DESIGN INC.Non-Profit

EIN: 042785256

UEI: E5JAZQN1Z4J3

Audited by: Stone & Company LLC

Oversight agency: 93 [Department of Health and Human Services]

View federal awards & risk assessment →

Data as of September 7, 2026

INSTITUTE FOR HUMAN CENTERED DESIGN INC.10 audit years1 findings
10
Audit Years
1
Total Findings
0
Repeat Findings
$997.6K
Federal Awards Expended (FY 2025)

FY 2025-06-30

$997,605 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FY 2024-06-30

$995,317 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on July 14, 2026 — management decision was due January 14, 2027.

FY 2023-06-30

$989,448 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on February 20, 2025 — management decision was due August 20, 2025.

FY 2022-06-30

$1,052,026 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on February 12, 2024 — management decision was due August 12, 2024.

FY 2021-06-30

$1,023,911 federal awards expended

FAC accepted this audit on October 10, 2022 — management decision was due April 10, 2023.

2021-002
Reporting
SIGNIFICANT DEFICIENCYOTHER MATTERS

The Organization did not report sub recipient awards greater than $25,000 on the FSRS. The award that was not reported was $25,500. Cause: The Organization was not aware of FSRS reporting requirements. Effect: The Organization did not report required sub recipient awards into the FSRS. Questioned Costs: None noted. Context: The discovery of the condition was made during non-sampling procedures. Repeat Finding: N/A - Not a repeat finding. Recommendation: The Organization should develop internal control procedures to ensure applicable sub recipient awards are identified and reported on the FSRS. Views of Responsible Officials and Planned Corrective Actions: Management is working on adding internal controls to track and identify sub awards requiring reporting under FFATA into the FSRS. Subsequent to year end management reported the one sub recipient meeting these criteria's. Management understands that for those awards issued prior to November 2020 the threshold for reporting is $25,000, the threshold going forward is $30,000.

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

Significant deficiency Item 2021-002 - Federal Funding Accountability and Transparency Act (FFATA) Reporting Identification of the federal program: Assistance listing number 93.433 - ACL National Institute On Disability, Independent Living, And Rehabilitation Research from the, The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Award number: 90DP0087-05-00. Compliance Requirements: Reporting, FFATA. Type of finding: Significant deficiency. Criteria: Internal controls should be in place to identify and disclose all sub recipients that require FFATA reporting in the Federal Funding Accountability and Transparency Act Subaward Reporting System (FSRS). Condition: The Organization did not report sub recipient awards greater than $25,000 on the FSRS. The award that was not reported was $25,500. Cause: The Organization was not aware of FSRS reporting requirements. Effect: The Organization did not report required sub recipient awards into the FSRS. Questioned Costs: None noted. Context: The discovery of the condition was made during non-sampling procedures. Repeat Finding: N/A - Not a repeat finding. Recommendation: The Organization should develop internal control procedures to ensure applicable sub recipient awards are identified and reported on the FSRS. Views of Responsible Officials and Planned Corrective Actions: Management is working on adding internal controls to track and identify sub awards requiring reporting under FFATA into the FSRS. Subsequent to year end management reported the one sub recipient meeting these criteria's. Management understands that for those awards issued prior to November 2020 the threshold for reporting is $25,000, the threshold going forward is $30,000.

Corrective Action Plan

Management is working on adding internal controls to track and identify sub awards requiring reporting under FFATA into the FSRS. Subsequent to year end management reported the one sub recipient meeting these criteria's. Management understands that for those awards issued prior to November 2020 the threshold for reporting is $25,000, the threshold going forward is $30,000.

About Reporting →

FY 2020-06-30

$961,488 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on May 10, 2021 — management decision was due November 10, 2021.

FY 2019-06-30

$1,010,015 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on March 15, 2021 — management decision was due September 15, 2021.

FY 2018-06-30

$1,033,695 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on April 2, 2019 — management decision was due October 2, 2019.

FY 2017-06-30

$1,035,868 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on May 16, 2018 — management decision was due November 16, 2018.

FY 2016-06-30

$1,015,460 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on May 16, 2017 — management decision was due November 16, 2017.

Browse other Single Audit organizations in Massachusetts

Start tracking findings →

Do you fund this organization?

Add it to a monitored group and get alerted when a new audit, finding, repeat finding, or management-decision deadline shows up — instead of checking back.

Checking several at once? Portfolio view →

Product

Resources

Legal

Single Audit Intelligence is an independent tool powered by Federal Audit Clearinghouse data. Not affiliated with GSA, OMB, or any federal agency.

© 2026 Single Audit Intelligence. All data is public domain.