← Back to home

LESLEY UNIVERSITYHigher Education

EIN: 042103589

UEI: UJSLXBGQB4B9

Audited by: CBIZ CPAS P.C.

Oversight agency: 84 [Department of Education]

View federal awards & risk assessment →

Data as of August 31, 2026

LESLEY UNIVERSITY10 audit years4 findings
10
Audit Years
4
Total Findings
0
Repeat Findings
$24.4M
Federal Awards Expended (FY 2025)

FY 2025-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$24,427,057 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

Management decision deadline — for entities that funded this organization

The FAC accepted this audit on March 30, 2026. Under 2 CFR 200.521(d), a pass-through entity that provided federal funds to this organization for this audit period must issue a management decision on these findings by September 30, 2026 (28 days from today).

What is a management decision? →

FY 2024-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$29,528,173 federal awards expended

FAC accepted this audit on January 15, 2025 — management decision was due July 15, 2025.

2024-001
Special Tests & Provisions
OTHER MATTERS

Finding – Special Tests and Provisions: Enrollment Reporting – Federal Direct Student Loan Program, Assistance Listing Number 84.268; June 30, 2024 Award Year; U.S. Department of Education Criteria or Specific Requirement Enrollment information, including the effective date of separation from the institution, must be accurately reported within 30 days whenever attendance changes for a student, unless a roster will be submitted within 60 days. The changes include reductions or increases in attendance levels, withdrawals, graduations, and approved leaves-of absence. It is the institution’s responsibility, as a participant in the Title IV aid programs, to monitor and report these changes to the National Student Loan Data System (“NSLDS”). (NSLDS Enrollment Reporting Guide November 2022, and 34 CFR 685.309(b)) Condition Found Of the fifteen students selected for enrollment reporting testing, two students within the sample were reported to NSLDS outside the maximum 60-day window. Questioned Costs None noted. Cause For two students, the correct date of separation was reported by the University timely, within the 60-day window, to the National Student Clearinghouse (“NSC”). The end of the 60-day window lapsed between the date NSC received the information and the date NSC communicated the information to NSLDS. Effect A student’s enrollment status determines eligibility for in-school status, deferment, grace periods, and repayments, as well as the government’s payment of interest subsidies. The notification of student status changes to NSLDS will cause a student to enter into a grace period and determine a repayment date and, therefore, accurate and timely notification of student status to NSLDS is important. Identification as a Repeat Finding Not a repeating finding. Recommendation The University should remain vigilant in its oversight over timely communication of enrollment reporting detail to NSC and from NSC to NSLDS as it is the University’s responsibility to ensure this information is received timely by NSLDS, regardless of whether an intermediate party is used. Views of Responsible Officials and Correct Actions See Corrective Action Plan

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

Finding – Special Tests and Provisions: Enrollment Reporting – Federal Direct Student Loan Program, Assistance Listing Number 84.268; June 30, 2024 Award Year; U.S. Department of Education Criteria or Specific Requirement Enrollment information, including the effective date of separation from the institution, must be accurately reported within 30 days whenever attendance changes for a student, unless a roster will be submitted within 60 days. The changes include reductions or increases in attendance levels, withdrawals, graduations, and approved leaves-of absence. It is the institution’s responsibility, as a participant in the Title IV aid programs, to monitor and report these changes to the National Student Loan Data System (“NSLDS”). (NSLDS Enrollment Reporting Guide November 2022, and 34 CFR 685.309(b)) Condition Found Of the fifteen students selected for enrollment reporting testing, two students within the sample were reported to NSLDS outside the maximum 60-day window. Questioned Costs None noted. Cause For two students, the correct date of separation was reported by the University timely, within the 60-day window, to the National Student Clearinghouse (“NSC”). The end of the 60-day window lapsed between the date NSC received the information and the date NSC communicated the information to NSLDS. Effect A student’s enrollment status determines eligibility for in-school status, deferment, grace periods, and repayments, as well as the government’s payment of interest subsidies. The notification of student status changes to NSLDS will cause a student to enter into a grace period and determine a repayment date and, therefore, accurate and timely notification of student status to NSLDS is important. Identification as a Repeat Finding Not a repeating finding. Recommendation The University should remain vigilant in its oversight over timely communication of enrollment reporting detail to NSC and from NSC to NSLDS as it is the University’s responsibility to ensure this information is received timely by NSLDS, regardless of whether an intermediate party is used. Views of Responsible Officials and Correct Actions See Corrective Action Plan

Corrective Action Plan

Finding – Special Tests and Provisions: Enrollment Reporting – Federal Direct Student Loan Program, Assistance Listing Number 84.268; June 30, 2024 Award Year; U.S. Department of Education Criteria or Specific Requirement Enrollment information, including the effective date of separation from the institution, must be accurately reported within 30 days whenever attendance changes for a student, unless a roster will be submitted within 60 days. The changes include reductions or increases in attendance levels, withdrawals, graduations, and approved leaves-of absence. It is the institution’s responsibility, as a participant in the Title IV aid programs, to monitor and report these changes to the National Student Loan Data System (“NSLDS”). (NSLDS Enrollment Reporting Guide November 2022, and 34 CFR 685.309(b)) Condition Of the fifteen students selected for enrollment reporting testing, two students within the sample were reported to NSLDS outside the maximum 60-day window. This was not a statistically valid sample. Views of Responsible Officials and Planned Corrective Actions The University concurs with the finding. The University will continue to remain vigilant in its oversight over timely communication of enrollment reporting detail to NSLDS. In both instances, the data we had sent to the National Student Clearinghouse (NSC) was not received by NSLDS in a timely fashion. We will review our reporting schedule and make the appropriate changes to our reporting timeline to ensure the data we report to the NSC is subsequently received by NSLDS within regulations. Names of Contact Person Responsible for Correction Action: Frank Mullen, Associate Vice President of Financial Aid Anticipated Completion Date: November 14, 2024

About Special Tests and Provisions →

FY 2023-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$29,067,783 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on March 19, 2024 — management decision was due September 19, 2024.

FY 2022-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$35,160,279 federal awards expended

FAC accepted this audit on December 5, 2022 — management decision was due June 5, 2023.

2022-001
Eligibility
SIGNIFICANT DEFICIENCYQUESTIONED COSTSOTHER MATTERS

Finding ? Eligibility: Cost of Attendance ? Student Financial Assistance Cluster, Listing #84.063; June 30, 2022 Award year; U.S. Department of Education Criteria or Specific Requirement Eligible students are entitled to receive Pell grants at the rates determined at the beginning of each academic year by the Department of Education. Condition Found Out of forty students selected for testing, nine students were under awarded Pell grants based on their EFC and COA. Pell grants were issued using the rates for the prior academic year. This is not a statistically valid sample. Questioned Costs Known questioned costs $1,312; likely questioned costs of approximately $40,000. Management has estimated based on their own further analysis that the effects of this were under $25,000. Cause The University?s internal systems were not updated for the new Pell award amounts for the 2021-2022 academic year. Identification as a Repeat Finding Not a repeat finding. Recommendation Management should update Pell amounts annually and put controls in place to ensure this update happens annually as required. Management should also perform a full review of prior year Pell awards and provide institutional grants for any students who did not receive their full Pell award. Views of Responsible Officials and Corrective Actions See Corrective Action Plan.

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

Finding ? Eligibility: Cost of Attendance ? Student Financial Assistance Cluster, Listing #84.063; June 30, 2022 Award year; U.S. Department of Education Criteria or Specific Requirement Eligible students are entitled to receive Pell grants at the rates determined at the beginning of each academic year by the Department of Education. Condition Found Out of forty students selected for testing, nine students were under awarded Pell grants based on their EFC and COA. Pell grants were issued using the rates for the prior academic year. This is not a statistically valid sample. Questioned Costs Known questioned costs $1,312; likely questioned costs of approximately $40,000. Management has estimated based on their own further analysis that the effects of this were under $25,000. Cause The University?s internal systems were not updated for the new Pell award amounts for the 2021-2022 academic year. Identification as a Repeat Finding Not a repeat finding. Recommendation Management should update Pell amounts annually and put controls in place to ensure this update happens annually as required. Management should also perform a full review of prior year Pell awards and provide institutional grants for any students who did not receive their full Pell award. Views of Responsible Officials and Corrective Actions See Corrective Action Plan.

Corrective Action Plan

Finding ? Return of Funds Condition Out of forty students selected for testing, nine students were under awarded Pell grants based on their EFC and COA. This is not a statistically valid sample. Views of Responsible Officials and Planned Corrective Actions The University begins to award students prior to the new Pell Grant schedule release in late March. In April our software provider, Ellucian, releases an update for us to upload with the new Pell Grant schedule. This update was completed but some of the Pell Grants that had been packaged prior to the update were not reprocessed and repackaged with the new Pell Grant amounts. This error was due to a loss of personnel that had previously managed the reprocessing of the Pell Grants. Management has already reprocessed any students for 2022-23 to ensure correctness of Pell awards for the current year. Additionally, management has adopted new step by step procedures in writing to assist with the reprocessing/repackaging of Pell Grant awards to ensure that proper practices will be followed on a forward basis. Management is also in the process of reviewing 21-22 Pell awards and will disburse any shortfalls by December 31, 2022 to impacted students. Responsible Official: Frank Mullen Completion Date: 10/26/2022

About Eligibility →

FY 2021-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$39,258,566 federal awards expended

FAC accepted this audit on November 23, 2021 — management decision was due May 23, 2022.

2021-001
Special Tests & Provisions
SIGNIFICANT DEFICIENCYQUESTIONED COSTSOTHER MATTERS

Finding ? Special Tests and Provisions: Return of Title IV Funds - Student Financial Assistance Cluster, all Assistance Listing #?s included on Schedule of Expenditures of Federal Awards, June 30, 2021 Award Year, U.S. Department of Education Criteria or Specific Requirement To determine the amount of Title IV funds to be returned related to a student withdrawal in the case of a program that is measured in credit hours, the percentage of the period of enrollment completed is determined by dividing the total number of calendar days in the period of enrollment into the number of calendar days completed in that period of the student's withdrawal date. The total number of calendar days in a period of enrollment includes all days within the period that the student was scheduled to complete, except that scheduled breaks of at least five consecutive days are excluded from the total number of calendar days in a period of enrollment and the number of days completed in that period. (34 CFR 668.22). Condition Found For two students tested requiring Title IV refunds related to the spring 2021 semester, the University?s return calculation incorrectly included a scheduled break of 9 days. In addition, for one student tested related to the fall 2020 semester, the University?s return calculation incorrectly excluded a scheduled break of 5 days. This is not a statistically valid sample. Questioned Costs Known questioned costs $281; likely questioned costs determined to be under the $25,000 threshold for reporting as a reportable compliance finding. Cause The scheduled break of 9 days was related to the initially planned spring break. Prior to start of the spring 2021 semester, the spring break was cancelled. This cancellation was not considered in calculating return of funds for mid-term withdrawals beginning after March 1, 2021 of the spring 2021 semester, which resulted in a return calculation based on 103 days instead of 110 days. The scheduled break of 5 days for Thanksgiving recess was not considered in the calculation resulting in an incorrect number of days. Identification as a Repeat Finding Not a repeat finding. Recommendation Management should add controls over oversight of return of funds to ensure accuracy which should include review by a separate individual to mitigate the risks inherent in self-review. Views of Responsible Officials and Corrective Actions See Corrective Action Plan.

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

Finding ? Special Tests and Provisions: Return of Title IV Funds - Student Financial Assistance Cluster, all Assistance Listing #?s included on Schedule of Expenditures of Federal Awards, June 30, 2021 Award Year, U.S. Department of Education Criteria or Specific Requirement To determine the amount of Title IV funds to be returned related to a student withdrawal in the case of a program that is measured in credit hours, the percentage of the period of enrollment completed is determined by dividing the total number of calendar days in the period of enrollment into the number of calendar days completed in that period of the student's withdrawal date. The total number of calendar days in a period of enrollment includes all days within the period that the student was scheduled to complete, except that scheduled breaks of at least five consecutive days are excluded from the total number of calendar days in a period of enrollment and the number of days completed in that period. (34 CFR 668.22). Condition Found For two students tested requiring Title IV refunds related to the spring 2021 semester, the University?s return calculation incorrectly included a scheduled break of 9 days. In addition, for one student tested related to the fall 2020 semester, the University?s return calculation incorrectly excluded a scheduled break of 5 days. This is not a statistically valid sample. Questioned Costs Known questioned costs $281; likely questioned costs determined to be under the $25,000 threshold for reporting as a reportable compliance finding. Cause The scheduled break of 9 days was related to the initially planned spring break. Prior to start of the spring 2021 semester, the spring break was cancelled. This cancellation was not considered in calculating return of funds for mid-term withdrawals beginning after March 1, 2021 of the spring 2021 semester, which resulted in a return calculation based on 103 days instead of 110 days. The scheduled break of 5 days for Thanksgiving recess was not considered in the calculation resulting in an incorrect number of days. Identification as a Repeat Finding Not a repeat finding. Recommendation Management should add controls over oversight of return of funds to ensure accuracy which should include review by a separate individual to mitigate the risks inherent in self-review. Views of Responsible Officials and Corrective Actions See Corrective Action Plan.

Corrective Action Plan

Finding - Return of Funds Condition For two students tested requiring Title IV refunds related to the spring 2021 semester, the School's return calculation incorrectly included a scheduled break of 9 days. In addition, for one student tests related to the fall 2020 semester, the School's return calculation incorrectly excluded a scheduled break of 5 days. This is not a statistically valid sample. Views of Responsible Officials and Planned Corrective Actions Lesley University for the 20/21 academic year in response to the pandemic altered the spring break pattern from the traditional 5 week day pattern to a multi month mini breaks. This change led to two students having a miscalculation of return of funds. We are currently implementing a two-step review process for all R2T4 calculations. All R2T4 calculations will be reviewed by two members of the Financial Aid team prior to processing. Responsible Official: Regina Clinton Completion Date: September 13,2021

About Special Tests and Provisions →
2021-002
Special Tests & Provisions
SIGNIFICANT DEFICIENCY

Finding ? Special Tests and Provisions: Enrollment Reporting ? Federal Direct Student Loans, Assistance Listing #84.268; June 30, 2021 Award Year; U.S. Department of Education Criteria or Specific Requirement Enrollment information, including the effective date of separation from the University, must be accurately reported within 30 days whenever attendance changes for a student, unless a roster will be submitted within 60 days. The changes include reductions or increases in attendance levels, withdrawals, graduations, and approved leaves-of-absence. It is the University?s responsibility, as a participant in the Title IV aid programs, to monitor and report these changes to the National Student Loan Data System (?NSLDS?). For withdrawn students, the effective date for reporting is the student?s last date of attendance. (NSLDS Enrollment Reporting Guide November 2019, and 34 CFR 685.309(b)). Condition Found Two students tested out of forty had status changes reported outside the 60 day requirement. One student completed graduation requirements in March 2021, however due to administrative oversight, the University did not report the status change until June 2021. A second student was anticipated to meet the requirements for graduation in December, however did not meet all the requirements for the degree until March 2021. This student?s status change was not reported until July 2021. This is not a statistically valid sample. Questioned Costs None. Cause One student completed course work to be considered graduated in mid-March and the University incorrectly calculated 120 days from the conferral date, rather than 60 days from course completion. Second student was due to administrative oversight. Identification as a Repeat Finding Not a repeat finding. Recommendation Management should add controls over timely reporting to NSLDS to ensure compliance. All status changes should be reported within 60 days of the change or the University being notified of the student?s status changing to ensure enrollment status are reported to NSLDS within a timely manner in accordance with Federal regulation. Views of Responsible Officials and Corrective Actions See Corrective Action Plan.

Show full finding ▾
Full finding narrative

Finding ? Special Tests and Provisions: Enrollment Reporting ? Federal Direct Student Loans, Assistance Listing #84.268; June 30, 2021 Award Year; U.S. Department of Education Criteria or Specific Requirement Enrollment information, including the effective date of separation from the University, must be accurately reported within 30 days whenever attendance changes for a student, unless a roster will be submitted within 60 days. The changes include reductions or increases in attendance levels, withdrawals, graduations, and approved leaves-of-absence. It is the University?s responsibility, as a participant in the Title IV aid programs, to monitor and report these changes to the National Student Loan Data System (?NSLDS?). For withdrawn students, the effective date for reporting is the student?s last date of attendance. (NSLDS Enrollment Reporting Guide November 2019, and 34 CFR 685.309(b)). Condition Found Two students tested out of forty had status changes reported outside the 60 day requirement. One student completed graduation requirements in March 2021, however due to administrative oversight, the University did not report the status change until June 2021. A second student was anticipated to meet the requirements for graduation in December, however did not meet all the requirements for the degree until March 2021. This student?s status change was not reported until July 2021. This is not a statistically valid sample. Questioned Costs None. Cause One student completed course work to be considered graduated in mid-March and the University incorrectly calculated 120 days from the conferral date, rather than 60 days from course completion. Second student was due to administrative oversight. Identification as a Repeat Finding Not a repeat finding. Recommendation Management should add controls over timely reporting to NSLDS to ensure compliance. All status changes should be reported within 60 days of the change or the University being notified of the student?s status changing to ensure enrollment status are reported to NSLDS within a timely manner in accordance with Federal regulation. Views of Responsible Officials and Corrective Actions See Corrective Action Plan.

Corrective Action Plan

Finding - Enrollment reporting Condition Two students tested out of forty, had status changes reported outside the 60 day requirement. One student completed graduation requirements in March 2021, however due to administrative oversight, the School did not report the status change until June 2021. A second student was anticipated to meet the requirements for graduation in December, however did not meet all the requirements for the degree until March 2021. This student's status change was not reported until July 2021. This is not a statistically valid sample. Views of Responsible Officials and Planned Corrective Actions This process is in review with the Registrar Office as the reporting to NSLDS for Lesley University is handled through the National Student Clearing House as an extension of our enrollment reporting. In discussion is an additional reporting at the end of each term to report those students who complete their academic work more than 60 days prior to the conferral of their degree. Responsible Official: Regina Clinton Completion Date: September 13,2021

About Special Tests and Provisions →

FY 2020-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$41,987,143 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on April 15, 2021 — management decision was due October 15, 2021.

FY 2019-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$42,437,627 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on October 9, 2019 — management decision was due April 9, 2020.

FY 2018-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$48,417,624 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on October 1, 2018 — management decision was due April 1, 2019.

FY 2017-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$50,700,976 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on October 10, 2017 — management decision was due April 10, 2018.

FY 2016-06-30

LOW-RISK AUDITEE$52,509,850 federal awards expendedNo findings recorded this year

FAC accepted this audit on October 10, 2016 — management decision was due April 10, 2017.

Data source: This information comes from the Federal Audit Clearinghouse, the official repository of Single Audit data. All data is public domain. Verify this organization's audit history at fac.gov.

Browse other Single Audit organizations in Massachusetts

Are you this organization?

Track your findings and corrective action plans across audit cycles.

Start tracking findings →

Do you fund this organization?

Monitor subrecipient audit findings and filing records.

Start monitoring →

Product

Resources

Legal

Single Audit Intelligence is an independent tool powered by Federal Audit Clearinghouse data. Not affiliated with GSA, OMB, or any federal agency.

© 2026 Single Audit Intelligence. All data is public domain.